We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect get-away”
Review of Lodge at Whitehawk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge at Whitehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Clio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Lodge at Whitehawk many times. The surroundings are beautiful. It is peaceful and relaxing but there is lots to do in the area. There is a golf course on the property, tennis courts, a swimming pool and even a dog pond. Our dogs love it here. The cabins are clean and well maintained and the staff is accommodating. A fresh, home cooked breakfast is prepared daily during your stay. The restaurant serves dinner nightly and the food is great (also a full bar). Mary Ann and Jerry are take great pride in their business. We are looking forward to returning next month!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are immaculate, beautifully decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Lodge at Whitehawk was a pleasant surprise. This was my first time to the Graeagle area, and I really enjoyed it. We brought up our road bikes for the long weekend and had some of the best cycling, right from our cabin. We did a few loops - the first day up around Gold Lake and down the other side, and the next day a shorter loop through Portola. Absolutly stunning views and nice, long, gradual climbs - about 5-6% average grade throughout with minimal car traffic.

The Lodge was great - we initially planned on dinner one night here, but ended up having most of our meals here. The staff is helpful and charming and the food is great.

Room Tip: We staying in Thoroughbred and it was great - comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We usually stay at bed and breakfasts but didn't find one close to the Lakes Basin hiking we wanted. We decided to try the Lodge at Whitehawk, and were so happy we did. There is a golf course and restaurant, and cabins to rent. Cabin might sound rustic...but there is nothing rustic about the Whitehawk cabins! We got the two bedroom two bath Frisien cabin, as we were meeting another couple. The cabin was spotless, modern and tastefully decorated. One bedroom had a king or queen bed with an attached bathroom with a tub. We had the twin bedded room with an attached bathroom with shower only. Both rooms were very comfortable. The living area was large and had a flat screen TV if you wanted it. There was a coffee maker as well. We brought our own coffee (they also provided some) and had coffee each morning on the large porch facing a beautiful meadow with horses and mountains in the background. I loved this part of the stay. We walked to dinner at the Whitehawk restaurant and had nice meals each time. The scallops with lavender cream were particularly wonderful. Breakfast was included in the price of the cabin...and it was fantastic. Each time there was a scrumptious breakfast casserole with bacon or sausage and a cup of fruit or muffin on the side, plus juice and coffee. What a way to start the day. I had expected a hotel buffet type of breakfast, so this was a pleasant surprise. The hosts Jerry and Mary Ann were friendly and helpful, and great to chat with. The location is near the little town of Graeagle, but it's not in town. It's absolutely quiet and peaceful...and near a number of incredible hikes. Jerry helped us plan our hiking, which we really appreciated, All in all a wonderful three days, which I would love to repeat. You won't go wrong staying here...it has everything unless you want a lively night scene (but then why would you be staying in this rural area??).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tradgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just completed a stay with a large group. Hospitality was outstanding -- b'fast and dinner excellent value.
We played golf at the adjacent Whitehawk course which is challenging and enjoyable -- others hiked, rode bikes and simply enjoyed the vistas.
Rooms are spotless and nicely decorated and all have a balcony to enjoy the views.
If you want a spot to enjoy this part of the mountains you cannot go wrong.
1 hr 15 min from Reno airport or about 2.5 from Sacramento

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 505sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you are looking for a fabulous mountain retreat look no further. The cabins (one and two bedroom) are wonderful with great views across a mountain meadow. The nearby Whitehawk golf course is a delight for golfers of all skill levels. Nearby hiking, mountain biking, or just relaxing are perfect ways to spend a day. The lodge is super dog friendly and well mannered dogs of all sizes are welcome. Don't miss this great stop.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkdgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My hub and I stayed a couple nights in the "thoroughbred" cabin to get away from it all. This is our 3rd stay at this lodge, so we must like. Previously stays were in the "mustang” cabin….liked the décor a bit better in that cabin, but the view from the "thoroughbred” being situated up higher we preferred. The cabins are very clean, never felt l like I needed to sanitize, quaint 1776 décor in the "thoroughbred , has mini frig, good sized tub, nice crisp bedding, just enough pine, long wooden sittin porch, and restaurant and bar at lodge a walk able distance. We are into the pine, not too rustic lodge, feels secluded, cabins for our lodging, so this fits us. If you want to decompress from the city, to hear the owls who whoing, and soak up the tall trees and starry skies then stay here. Spend the day at Gold Lake then in the evening sit back on the cabin’s porch with a tall bev and chill out. P.S. and we don’t even golf.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShunpikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Lodge at Whitehawk was an amazing little piece of serenity from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The cabins were huge compared to other cabins in the area and they were well spaced out so we weren't sitting right on top of our neighbors. Although we were in the middle of nowhere I had perfect cell phone reception with AT&T which is not true for most of the Blairsden/Clio/Graeagle area.

We were here to attend a wedding. They reserved all the cabins for the guests of the special event making it feel extra homey. The boys went golfing on Whitehawk's amazing course the first day and loved it! Nearby we were able to go fishing, hiking, and swimming. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast prepared for us that was included with the room.

The ceremony and reception were held outdoors with the mounains as the backdrop. They had a full staff on duty, a fully stocked bar, and opened the lodge to serve as our dance floor.

If you are planning a family reunion or wedding and would like a beautiful mountain setting this is the only place I would consider! If I am ever staying in this area again I will definitely be staying here :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowdawg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clio
5.4 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
295 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
54 reviews
7.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
11.8 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitehawk

Address: 985 Whitehawk Drive, P.O. Box 175, Clio, Graeagle, CA 96106
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle > Clio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clio
Price Range: $180 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hour from Tahoe or Reno. Enjoy golfing, hiking, biking, kayaking or fishing; relax in your own private cabin, each with a deck overlooking spectacular mountain surroundings. Adjacent to award-winning Whitehawk Golf Course with charming Graeagle nearby. Unwind in our main lodge with sprawling decks, bar and dining. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, pond & tennis courts to enjoy. Pets welcome (we even have a swimming pond for dogs). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing