We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Lodge at Whitehawk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge at Whitehawk
Ranked #1 of 1 Clio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you are looking for a fabulous mountain retreat look no further. The cabins (one and two bedroom) are wonderful with great views across a mountain meadow. The nearby Whitehawk golf course is a delight for golfers of all skill levels. Nearby hiking, mountain biking, or just relaxing are perfect ways to spend a day. The lodge is super dog friendly and well mannered dogs of all sizes are welcome. Don't miss this great stop.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkdgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Whitehawk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

My hub and I stayed a couple nights in the "thoroughbred" cabin to get away from it all. This is our 3rd stay at this lodge, so we must like. Previously stays were in the "mustang” cabin….liked the décor a bit better in that cabin, but the view from the "thoroughbred” being situated up higher we preferred. The cabins are very clean, never felt l like I needed to sanitize, quaint 1776 décor in the "thoroughbred , has mini frig, good sized tub, nice crisp bedding, just enough pine, long wooden sittin porch, and restaurant and bar at lodge a walk able distance. We are into the pine, not too rustic lodge, feels secluded, cabins for our lodging, so this fits us. If you want to decompress from the city, to hear the owls who whoing, and soak up the tall trees and starry skies then stay here. Spend the day at Gold Lake then in the evening sit back on the cabin’s porch with a tall bev and chill out. P.S. and we don’t even golf.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShunpikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Lodge at Whitehawk was an amazing little piece of serenity from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The cabins were huge compared to other cabins in the area and they were well spaced out so we weren't sitting right on top of our neighbors. Although we were in the middle of nowhere I had perfect cell phone reception with AT&T which is not true for most of the Blairsden/Clio/Graeagle area.

We were here to attend a wedding. They reserved all the cabins for the guests of the special event making it feel extra homey. The boys went golfing on Whitehawk's amazing course the first day and loved it! Nearby we were able to go fishing, hiking, and swimming. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast prepared for us that was included with the room.

The ceremony and reception were held outdoors with the mounains as the backdrop. They had a full staff on duty, a fully stocked bar, and opened the lodge to serve as our dance floor.

If you are planning a family reunion or wedding and would like a beautiful mountain setting this is the only place I would consider! If I am ever staying in this area again I will definitely be staying here :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowdawg120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The cabin, which was really a gorgeous "home", was more than we expected. We stayed in the cabin named Buckskin. Not only was the room beautiful and so clean, but the view from your private deck and your comfortable adirondack chairs was gorgeous. A wonderful breakfast was yours to enjoy each morning at the Lodge. We had dinner there two nights; one night was the bbq night where local homeowners and guest of the lodge could bring their dogs to enjoy dinner on the patio! We loved it. The owners, Jerry and Mary Ann, treated you as if you'd been friends for years. Highly recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a gem in the mountains. The cabin we stayed in was #9. It was clean, spacious and quiet. The view of the meadow and the mountains beyond from our covered porch was beautiful. The owners were helpful and seemed to care very much about the property and their guests. The restaurant was just perfect. Breakfast and dinner are served. The dinner menu offered enough choices without being fussy. The food was excellent and well-prepared. We didn't use the pool because it was still a little cool for us, but it did look inviting. Any time we want a mountain vacation, we will return to this property. We would have liked to keep this place a secret ...it is that good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Though we are frequent visitors to this area, we have never stayed at Whitehawk, and are soooooo glad we did! What a perfect way to spend a couple of nights to celebrate our anniversary! The spacious, darling, comfy cabin with a luxurious bathroom and expansive deck overlooking a beautiful meadow and golf course prompted us to "hang out" there. The restaurant was lovely-- serving delish, healthy, creative cuisine with efficient, friendly service! We have already recommended The Lodge to friends. The owners are visible, helpful, and friendly as well. Even if you are non-golfers like us, activities abound. We enjoyed a beautiful hike and picnic in the surrounding mountains.
Golfing would even be an added incentive for coming. Our pooch loved it as much as we did! ' We would happily return!

Room Tip: Mid-week rates before or after high season.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Whitehawk Ranch Lodge Cabins are an ideal vacation spot. Within a short distance, the Sierra Buttes and Lakes Basin Recreation Area are studded with miles of hiking trails, clear mountain lakes, and quaint towns offering various recreation opportunities, museums, quality restaurants, upscale shopping, community events, friendly locals, several golf courses, and overnight accommodations from luxury to quaint to National Forest camping. We like White Hawk Ranch so much that we spend almost a month there each year--spring and autumn. The cabins offer a quiet retreat, are very commodious, are kept sparkling clean, have a lovely porch to sit on to view the meadows. Both children and adults and pets find all their needs met. Breakfasts are included with the room fee and are always delicious. The staff is wonderful. A Special Events Co-ordinator is available to arrange catering for weddings, parties, etc. Our oldest son was married on the lawn in front of the Lodge last summer. We rented the cabins for three wonderful days--all our guests had a beautiful time. Would I recommend Whitehawk Ranch to anyone wishing to relax and enjoy a true vacation--without any hesitation, yes! The Reno Airport provides great air arrivals--just one hour away. Amtrak makes a stop in Truckee--just 40 minutes away. Kudos to Jerry and Mary Crowe who serve their guests excellently.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLRA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clio
5.4 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
293 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
53 reviews
7.2 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
19 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
8 reviews
11.3 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitehawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitehawk

Address: 985 Whitehawk Drive, P.O. Box 175, Clio, Graeagle, CA 96106
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle > Clio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clio
Price Range: $180 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One hour from Tahoe or Reno. Enjoy golfing, hiking, biking, kayaking or fishing; relax in your own private cabin, each with a deck overlooking spectacular mountain surroundings. Adjacent to award-winning Whitehawk Golf Course with charming Graeagle nearby. Unwind in our main lodge with sprawling decks, bar and dining. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, pond & tennis courts to enjoy. Pets welcome (we even have a swimming pond for dogs). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing