We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

We traveled to Clearlake to spend some holiday time with my mother inlaw. We stayed one night at this hotel. I did not want to go to sleep for fear of cock roches crawling on me. The floor was filthy. There were cob webs through out the room. The bath tub was dirty. There were no complimetary soaps, lotions, etc. The sheets had worn spots on them. The walls had plaster patch marks. Why did I stay? This is the only hotel to my knowlege in Clearlake and we had traveled four hours already. Would not do it again. I will camp on the side of the road first.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watersms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    37
    22
    20
See reviews for
51
41
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed here on a Sat. night. The hotel was pretty full. The room was clean, wireless worked, coffee pot worked. More coffee in the lobby with real cream. Very important to me! Although there was a noisy party going on we weren't bothered if our door was shut. The parking lot was pretty full, but I think it was from the party folks, cause it was empty in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

A friend and I stayed at the El Grande while doing a weekend motorcycle trip.

We found the hotel to be comfortable, perfectly located for our weekend plans, and reasonably priced.

Room amenities were all fine -- the beds were comfortable, the shower had good water pressure, the carpets were clean, etc.

We had a fun conversation with the woman who runs the lounge; we were the only customers and she chitchatted with us for a little bit. She's very funny and nice!

The restaurant has a decent dinner (the potato skins were unexpectedly fantastic and the beer selection is good) but breakfast was only so-so. Serving better coffee would go a long way!

I would stay here again (and probably will on future motorcycle trips in the area).

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank bluepoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

The property itself is a nice property. The rooms are tastefully decorated and it has a nice atmosphere. The location is okay. However, the manager was so incredibly rude, not only to me but to the Best Western customer care person who spoke with her on my behalf as well. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if it was the last one available. As well, during this experience, it was brought to my attention by their customer care center that Best Western has no control and will not do anything about poor service or quality given by their "Independently Owned" properties. You might make a reservation on their company website, you might think you are reserving a Best Western property, but that isn't the case. They are basically independent properties using the Best Western name and it is at the discretion of that individual property or "Independent Owner" as to how you will be treated or what you will receive and Best Western will do nothing if it isn't right. There are a lot of hotels out there that uphold a standard throughout their system, I would rather stay with one of them. Not only will I not stay at this property, but I will never use Best Western again. To me service is #1, and that is a rarity in this day.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — customer service is terrible
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearlake hotels

Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Clearlake is a challenging town to find a place to stay in the summer and this place came as a recommendation. All I can say is this is a place to avoid. Making the reservation seemed to be an inconvenience for the hotel staff. Everything about the experience was difficult. As with another review here, I was incorrectly charged on my credit card and am finding it very difficult to get a correction. The hotel staff have a different story each time I speak with them and the "owner" is nowhere to be found. I would say pass this place by. It's like a black hole.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2007

The hotel is ok. Room was ok, staff great. However, they billed me for 2 nights when I only stayed one (reservation was screwed up as well). It's been over 10 days, and despite repeated promises from the hotel, my cc has still not been credited for the second night's stay.

Stay here again? Not a chance. BTW, other reviews on this website re the hotel itself are accurate.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rache70196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa paula
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to clearlake, for what was suppoosed to be relaxing. We usually trust BW so we decided to stay here. The only good experience we had was that the front desk personnel was very friendly. Parking was an issue, especially at check-in, where we couldn't get a spot due to employees and the bar patrons. When we asked about the safety of our car in the back parking lot- the long hesitation and the response of "probably" didn't sit well with us. The room was clean and spacious (perfect forthe price), the problems were the result of everything else surrounding the room. We arrived at 5 to find the bar and lobby packed with drunk people. If you stay here, check to see if any events are going on in the banquet rooms at night. The banquet rooms are left open, so all of the noise fills the interior atrium. The banquet rooms were set up with a dj which played until about midnight. The party filled the hotel- people were running around all night yelling, screaming, fighting, puking in the elevator, etc. When they finally left- the party continued out into the hot tub area and the parking lot. We finally fell asleep around 3am when we heard the last beer bottle being thrown. Next time I would drive further on to Middletown or Lakeport for a hotel.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Noise, parking, location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank algaegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
1.7 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
1.2 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
5.5 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#1 of 7 in Lakeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Address: 15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422-8106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Grande Hotel Clearlake
Best Western Clearlake
Clearlake Best Western
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing