We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western El Grande Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Placerville, United States
1 review
“Good stay but noisy at night”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I liked the hotel a lot, good facilities and clean. But there was a lot of outside noise at night that made sleep difficult, drag racing until 2 Am outside the hotel. Otherwise it was a good stay in a nice facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
57
45
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Not our best stay. Clearlake, despite the name doesn't much seem like a tourist destination. We got a room on the second floor, with a view of the spa pool, utility area full of junk and a car park.

We couldn't get dinner because they'd had a big Mother's Day event and couldn't be bothered opening the restaurant in the evening.

Wifi service in the room was intermittent at best - I had to go to the lobby to get reliable coverage. The bed was OK but we were kept awake by the antics of a couple in the spa.

Breakfast (not included in the room rate) was tasty enough but large. We were kept entertained listening to some elderly locals discussing the current price and state of the marijuana industry.

Room Tip: Get one on an upper level and away from the spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clearlake hotels

Hemet, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Becky is the manager of this hotel. She has a extremely snotty attitude and will not lift a finger to insure that you enjoy your stay. The hotels Direct TV service was TEMPORARLY INTERUPTED during our stay. Wonder Why. They off no breakfast or coffee in the morning, you can feel the springs in the mattress.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 521Richard_sr521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Best hotel in the area. Good value. Very relaxed atmosphere, which is appropriate for the area. Restaurant provides excellent value, but service is average. The whole hotel is dated, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

It is the only place to stay in clearlake. Locals eat at the restaurant because it is the nicest thing around. I wish they had coffee in the loby for guests. It was almost easier to walk across the street to the gas station for fresh coffee. Comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: 4th floor was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel was very nice it is one of the best ,Best westerns that I have seen. The only thing I did not like was the door on the rear elevator did not close by itself, I had to pull it closed to go up to my room. Later when I wanted to go down the elevator never came and I finally just walked down the stairs. I assume the door would not close by itself and stayed because of that. Other than that the hotel was very clean and the room was fine. Andrea was very helpful in finding me a room that was quite as I was very tiered after a long day. The lack of a full breakfast that is offered at most Best Westerns was a bit of a letdown as I normally take advantage of that. I did go down to eat in the onsite resterant but they did not open till 7: 00 , I needed to be moving before that a I had a job to do in Middletown in the morning. I wound up checking out and stopping at a local place there in Middletown for breakfast. Other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Clearlake, Ca does not have many great hotels, but this is one of the better ones....Clean, affordable, personable and conveniently located. We had business matters to attend to and needed to spend the weekend. We enjoyed our stay. Pros: clean rooms, nice staff, restaurant in hotel as well as funky, fun bar....swimming pool also. Cons: room was dated, bathtub paint was coming off, beds were super hard (better in other rooms which we have stayed) a remodel would be nice, but still clean and ok. Thank you for a nice weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ferrignodaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
1.7 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
5.5 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
238 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Lakeport
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Grande Inn

Property: Best Western El Grande Inn
Address: 15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422-8106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western El Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Grande Hotel Clearlake
Best Western Clearlake
Clearlake Best Western
Best Western El Grande Inn Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing