We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cottages right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute cottages right on the water”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

As we drove thru the run-down town of Clear Lake (and having passed several grungy, sad cottage places), we were wondering what we got ourselves into with a stay at the Clear Lake Cottages. Imagine our delight and surprise wehn we pulled into an immaculate and landscaped parking lot for the Clear Lake Cottages! The place is a jewel, the staff very accommodating and the water views soothing.

Our room (#16) was steps from the water. It was very spacious and clean, and the bed was comfy.

I took one star off because the pool has solar heating that didn't seem to do much (way too cold for ME), and there is no jacuzzi. Also, the tv in our room was miles away from the bed --- hard for us to watch in comfort. But those are minor details and I will definitely return when we want a relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tg94901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilaProperties, Manager at Clear Lake Cottages & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and your cottage! Cottage 16 is one of our most popular studio cottages because of it's great location.

During most years we wait until Memorial Day weekend to open the pool because the weather is warmer, however because of the overwhelming pleas from our guests to open the pool early, we obliged. The water is a comfortable 82 degrees today. Hopefully we can see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    27
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
37
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hey, if you are coming to Clearlake to find things to do, places to go and excitement, get over it. This is not the destination for you.

Why do my wife and I love this place? In part is because we love Cottage #27 right on the water. In part it is because this is a sleepy little town and that means it is more quiet than the some of the other more frequented area towns.

If you want peace and quiet and good accommodations at a fair price and a place to enjoy peace and quiet, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilaProperties, Manager at Clear Lake Cottages & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for Staying we us again! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay in 27!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place caught my attention on a Groupon deal, so we tried it out with our family. Our cottage was beautifully facing the lake view, was clean, and staff very friendly. This was intended to be a first-time fishing trip for our little ones. Unfortunately, the famous fishing lake produced no fish on our trip (due to our novice fishing). We stayed at the resort the entire two days as there is nothing to do or see in town. There was no foul smell of algae on our visit, but the lawn area was full of dog poop which no one seems to care about. Sad to say, but this will be our one & only trip to Clear Lake. Very disappointing.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doccao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilaProperties, Manager at Clear Lake Cottages & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting Clearlake and allowing us to be apart of your trip! I am happy you enjoyed your cottage and our staff. We have lovely views of Clearlake and the cottage you stayed in is a favorite. After reading your review I immediately went out to our lawns to inspect them. During the spring time we have 15-20 geese that love to enjoy our lawns and with their beauty and awe can come a mess for our staff to clean. I am sorry if we were not more attentive during your visit and want to assure you we care and have been and will continue to be diligent in the future in making sure all is perfect for our guests.

Clearlake has much to offer families and I am sorry that you felt there was not much to do. In addition to our resort where you can BBQ, kayak, swim in both the lake and pool, fish, play horseshoes, ladder ball and various lawn games, the community and surrounding areas also offer parks with playgrounds, hiking trails, guided fishing tours, wine tasting, boat rentals, miniature golf, and movie theaters. Lake county also has many activities for children and/or adults such as fairs, bird watching, horse back riding, plays and festivals. Also, in each cottage we provide a wonderful magazine which lists all activities, parks, restaurants and information about Lake County.

I do hope that you will visit us again! I would be happy to arrange a guided fishing tour for you or provide you with access to local fishing tips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I haven't lived in Clearlake since 1994 and I was dreading staying in the city. When visiting we had usually stayed in Santa Rosa. This time a family emergency brought me home and I needed to be close. I searched online and asked some local friends. This was the only place recommended and I was so pleased. The cottage (19) was very clean. VERY CLEAN! It was quiet and peaceful and safe. The bed was super comfy and the staff was great. I will definitely be staying there in the future!

Room Tip: On their website you can see photos of each room....entering my room, I thought the photo could have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynnBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Good: Clearlake Resorts and Marina is a charming place. The grounds are impeccable and the rooms are comfortable in a "less is more" kind of way. This facility appears fresh as it had a MAJOR restoration a few years ago. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating (For example, we had a mechanical problem with our Hertz rental car which they helped us in resolving).

As before mentioned, this facility was renovated and the owners obviously put a LOT of money and time into remaking the Clearlake Cottages and Marina. This property is pristine and the entire package is simply a pleasant lodging experience. The rooms are very clean (I'm a stickler) with a decor both relaxing and cheerful. Even though our "double-double" cabin (#22) was near the street, it was reasonably quiet with outside noise a minimum. Others have suggested requesting a cabin near the lake for the quiet, but for us it was not an issue. Besides, every cabin is somewhat "near the lake" and a morning walk around the grounds with the morning coffee proved a nice start to the day.

Overall, I have no complaints. But I will point out that these are cottages and thus you should not expect a luxurious and large bathroom. Our #22, and probably others, was equipped with the common arrangement of commode and the standard tub/shower combination enclosure in the bathroom. A little plain? Perhaps, but it was CLEAN and ADEQUATE. The modern double sinks (nice touch) and vanity were cornered in the main room not unlike many newer hotels. Quality toiletries and hair dryer provided.

Down the street is the "Main Street Bar and Grille" which has a 10% guest discount arrangement with the Clearlake Cottages and Marina. Great local place, more of a casual restaurant than a bar. The old time locals obviously like it and they serve an AWESOME breakfast which is available all day (try the "Hobo" special. I had it two days in a row and find myself craving it as I write this). And if you like an occasional donut (or two or three), do try "Castle Donuts" which is also nearby. They offer TASTY "local" donuts.

We road tripped out of Clearlake to the redwood forest areas to the north and found the location perfect, especially with Napa Valley as our south destination upon leaving. Less than an hour and a half drive from the Sacramento International Airport, Clearlake proved an ideal base location for exploring a beautiful and too often overlooked area of California.

Now, the bad: Clearlake, as a town, has obviously seen better days. The changing demographics now consist of many "residents" seemingly content to exist on the generous California public assistance (as reported by more than one local). Thus, a weak tax base appears evident by the of lack of adequate sidewalks, unkempt parks and many streets which need some attention.

However, EVERYONE we encountered in the community of Clearlake was friendly and courteous to us obvious visitors. There was no excessive litter and I saw very little graffiti. I was traveling with my elderly mother and neither of us ever felt uncomfortable or in danger. In my experience, although the town appears tired and and offers little entertainment, Clearlake proved a good destination due to location and the natural beauty of its' surroundings.

Overall, I rate the Clearlake Cottages and Marina highly as it provided a pleasant experience and I hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Lakesides are desirable if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Clear Lake Cottages & Marina were very nice but their is nothing to do in Clear Lake! If you plan on staying in the cottages during your entire stay than I would recommend this location but if you want to do something during the day or evening then go somewhere else....very disappointing. The surrounding area is high poverty not a place you would want to walk around. No good restuartants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving, we were warmly greeted by the staff and given a tour to show us where everything was. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Our dog was greeted with open arms and provided with treats, a bed and a set of dog dishes. The grounds were well kept and the lake views beautiful. Highly recommend this place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank curlytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
0.6 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
1.7 mi away
Best Western El Grande Inn
23.8 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
19.6 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clear Lake Cottages & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Lake Cottages & Marina

Property: Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Address: 13885 Lakeshore Drive, Clearlake, CA 95422
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clear Lake Cottages & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 18 brand-new cottages close to Clear Lake’s shore, plus a boat launch, ten slips, a pier, and our own grassy peninsula (with fantastic views of water and mountains), Lake Escape Resort is the place to stay if you want to fish, play, or just relax on California’s largest freshwater lake. We’re close to town and just minutes by boat to all the fun at Konocti Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Clear Lake Cottages & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Hotel Clearlake
Clear Lake Cottages And Marina
Lake Escape Hotel
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing