We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Certificate of Excellence
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This plce is exactly as described. It is recently renovated, very clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ralawren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
36
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This little 'diamond in the rough" is a fabulous place to relax by the lake with your dogs. I spent 3 days/nights here with my 2 dogs and we had a wonderful time. From the moment we checked in I knew this place was top notch. My dogs were welcomed with freshly laundered doggie beds and towels, treats, food dishes and a roll of poop bags!!!! My upscale decorated cottage was steps from a little beach and a large green area for the pups to run. From the spa like bathroom ammenities presented on a lovely glass tray to the regular and decaf coffee in glass canisters, the room was immaculate. The only thing missing was the massage therapist! I mentioned this to Heather, the lovely manager and she decided to look into having a therapist available for in room treatments. A visit to these cottages is highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I actually live witin 10mins of Clearlake Cottages-but it was sooooooo nice I wanted to bring my daughter for a special "vacation"! I highly suggest you stay here FIRST before anywhere else~ the staff and grounds are superb!!!! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBARRON42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The service is amazing! You are in a small town and feel it as soon as you walk into the check in area. There are cookies, and sun brewed tea, and movies you can check out. You are walked to your little cottage, given a quick run down of where things are and left on your own. The view from 16 is perfect. The patio/deck is great. There is shade and sun and a view of the water. The kitchen supplies for the non kitchen rooms, like 16 where just enough to function for one person. The frig kept everything beyond cold and I packed it full.
Although this was a business trip, I was able to enjoy lunch at the BBQ area, walk around the green area by the water and I was able to sip coffee on the patio. I had a corporate discount rate so I am not sure what the normal price is but it was great for the amount of space, service, and privacy I got. The room is huges with a large TV and a bed that is pretty comfortable. I would stay here again and have told everyone who has to come here for work to stay here. The service, the view, the quailty of the room, and the price can not be beat. Hopefully you will have as great of a time as I did.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the water, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TK0071234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

First off, the actual property. The outside could use a touch of paint, but was a million times nicer than the surrounding properties.

We first checked in to cabin 13. It was three away from the road, way too close to enjoy the cute little porch. Upon entry, it appeared clean, although had a little bit of an 'off' smell. They had placed a large clean dog bed, food/water bowls with place mat, a towel for drying paws, a frisbee, and three milkbone cookies (pretty stale). It was thoughtful to actually get something for the $20/night pet fee. So I said "appeared" clean. The toilet harbored a giant bowl of poo stew. Upon mentioning it to the front desk, the gal said that the two girls up front cleaned all the rooms and she definitely did not use the toilet afterwards, so must have been her cohort. Hmmn...

So we were moved to cabin 25. Further away from the road and partial lakeview. No porch though. Overall, seemed clean (same smell as 13), although when I wiped a spill of water from my dog's bowl off the floor, the towel came back very dirty. My guess is the floors are not mopped on a regular basis. The bathroom only had a single wide shower stall, the kind you bump your head on the walls if you drop the soap. The fridge was larger than your standard hotel mini fridge, and had a nice little freezer. The coffee grounds were kept in refillable glass containers. I'm first in line for conservation, but it doesn't seem sanitary to have food items not sealed in a hotel situation. The small TV was a good distance (maybe 20 feet) from where your head was in bed and had questionable reception - a bit grainy. Upon checkout we found out that they had a dvd player and movies you could check out from the front desk. We would have definitely done so had we known. The bed was a bit soft for my taste, but I generally like a firm mattress. The linens were above average, but not luxury. Comfortable bedding.

As for the rest of the property, the pool is pretty small. We didn't spend any time there. There is a large propane grill any guest can use. There were small picnic tables with charcoal grills lining the waterfront. The boat launch is nice, but single wide. I'm not sure how wide of a boat you would want to finagle. The marina slips were very nice, new, trex dec, on piers to adjust to water level. There was a large, flat lawn area with a big shade tree right at the water. And then the 'beach.' Maybe 30' wide to be generous? A mix of rock and sand ended up looking dirty. Which brings me to the water. I thought, hey, it just looks like a little bit of debris washed up on shore. I grew up with eutrophic lakes. It doesn't scare me to have murky water with a little bit of organic debris from waves at shore. Keep in mind that this was NOT during an algal bloom. So I took my dog for a swim. It's 90 some odd degrees, right? He came with a slime worked into his coat that was so firmly stuck it didn't fully come off with firm, repetitive toweling. Then he started itching. Ok, bath time. And note to self that there will be no swimming in the lake.

Since we didn't have a kitchen, we drove into town to eat. The surrounding area is a sea of meth heads, teen moms smoking while taking the baby out for a stroll, and the occasional person kicking their dog while out for a walk and senior citizen. We counted 3 rehab clinics on our way to Safeway. We saw 3 rummage sales. Not nice ones, but piles of stuff that looks like it should be burned. Most everything in the town seemed either run down or closed. The people (with the exception of a restaurant we went to, that had great service, but iffy food) seemed numb, like they were either waiting for their next fix, or waiting to die. It is not a question of affluence. I have had a great time in plenty of podunk towns. This place was just plain creepy. Most of the squad cars parked in front of the station said 'volunteer.' Maybe that's part of the problem?

I had booked this place, even after reading reviews, because we aren't very touristy people and I thought we would spend all of our time enjoying the lake and it wouldn't matter if the town was a little sketchy. The beach turned out to be unusable, and I had no interest in the pool. Being able to dock your boat is pretty nice, and if you are a fan of Clear Lake in the first place, and bring your boat, maybe this is a good option for you. The places are generally very clean and it is a great little oasis on the water. Problem is the desert of morality it is situated in. Only because the staff was so friendly and the level of cleanliness did this place earn two instead of one star.

And the price is highway robbery for this area. Should be half as much. Their cancellation fee is $40 if 15 days or more from your trip, and nonrefundable within two weeks of your stay. We left after one night and I was thankful they refunded the remainder of our stay, less the $40 cancellation fee.

I feel bad giving such a low rating, because the staff was so nice, and if there were anything else they could do to make your stay better, they would. But there is only so much lemonade you can make out of lemons.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank LunaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The setting is beautiful. Clealake is large, clear, clean and pristinely quiet. The cabins are immaculately clean, very spa-like for this rustic setting; a jetted tub, excellent products provided, beautiful pool and hot tub area overlooking the lake and a cute little kitchen. VERY pet friendly!!! We stayed along the coast from AZ to WA and this was our favorite spot, we will definitely return. The owner and innkeeper, Heather, was especially kind, welcoming, friendly, gracious and helpful! This is an excellent place for a quiet retreat, event, or to just play in the lake!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sctsdlmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Upon arriving I was very pleased to have had reserved my room at the nicest appearing cottages by the lake! Walking into my cottage was an awe inspiring moment, pergo flooring with great open space and smelled clean! The staff was friendly even after waking them late night to help me into my room after locking myself out! I have stayed at many hotels, and this place is better than an Embassy and the Best Western! If you are looking for a great place to stay in Clearlake, look no further, you will be so pleased! I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca-Cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
0.6 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
23.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tallman Hotel
Tallman Hotel
#1 of 3 in Upper Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clear Lake Cottages & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Lake Cottages & Marina

Property: Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
Address: 13885 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422-9512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clear Lake Cottages & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 18 brand-new cottages close to Clear Lake’s shore, plus a boat launch, ten slips, a pier, and our own grassy peninsula (with fantastic views of water and mountains), Lake Escape Resort is the place to stay if you want to fish, play, or just relax on California’s largest freshwater lake. We’re close to town and just minutes by boat to all the fun at Konocti Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clear Lake Cottages & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clear Lake Cottages And Marina
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Hotel Clearlake
Lake Escape Hotel
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing