We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place was dirty, the carpet looked as though it had never been replaces. The mattress way extremely uncomfortable and the whole room was buzzing with mosquitos and other flying insects. Not worth the 80$.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write this review as it helps us and gives us guidance on what improvement and changes we need to maintain a good appearance and value for our property. In reference to the your claim that there were mosquitos and other flying insects in your room. Upon receiving your complaint of bugs in your room we did come over and cleared up the room of the bugs. We also explained to you that because our property is located on the lake there are gnats and rice flies not mosquitos on all lakefront properties in Lake County. We are deeply sorry your stay here so unpleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed from June 3rd and stayed until June 16th. We were there for our grand-daughters HS Graduation and Wedding. The room was large and we had a wonderful view of Clearlake. Yogi and his wife were terrific and we were able to have our Yorky with us. We spent a good deal of time with family members while we were there and would definitely stay again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Suzljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you very much for writing this response we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are very glad you had a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Clearlake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed one night in January.
I arrived late and check in was smooth. Temperature was in the 30's and the heater worked fine. Wifi worked fine which is a plus for me.
I did not notice a bad odor from the water as others mentioned, but I was there in the dead of winter.
There was no restaurant or fitness center. No negatives during my ultra brief stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixdude1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our establishment even though it was brief. We hope that you will come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I arrived with a bit of intrepidation after reading some negative reviews of this hotel. Quickly I soon realised that people that have complained about this hotel really should get out more. I could not fault the motel at all. From the very nice welcome at check-in through to the friendly check-out, I could not fault the level of service. The receptionist could not do more to help offering advice on the local area as well as local shops and restaurants.

The room was very clean and had everything you will need for a comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and I managed to get a good night’s sleep. The towels (something which I often complain about in USA motels) were brilliant white and fluffy. The Wi-Fi worked fine for me and was probably one of the best connections I had during my tour around California, Oregon and Nevada. At breakfast, there was no fruit, but the receptionist quickly went and got me some with no fuss. My tip to anyone is if you ask with a smile you are almost certain to get what you want.

Yes there was a smell in the air, but for anyone who lives close to the water or in the countryside will know you get smells. I did not find it unpleasant. I am not a fisherman but I enjoyed walking out on the jetty.

The pool area was clean but the water was not warm enough for me to take a dip.

All in all I felt comfortable and safe as well as being given the feeling that my custom was gratefully appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JmIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate the wonderful comments that you have given us (management and staff). We have made many changes in improving our property one being a better and faster WIFI connectivity and by you acknowledging that you had no problems connecting to internet means that the improvements have paid off. We once again appricate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, reception were pleasant and helpful Wi Fi was fast, well appointed rooms that were clean and Tidy. Reasonably priced and were very comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient and we would come again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate any and all feed back from our guests. Thank you for noticing the improvements we have made on our WIFI connectivity. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you once again.

Yogi Waland, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

There was a bad smell comming from the lake. More than likely related to the low water level. The Inn was comfortable, and the staff were relaxed and pleasant. The rooms were clean. The AC was old, but worked well. The soda vending machine was ice cold. I slept well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electronic567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for writing this review. We welcome any feedback from our guest so that we may be able to make changes on improving our property in the future as well as getting recognition on the improvements we have made. We apologize for the smell coming from the lake due to algae build up throughout the lake along the shores. The city and county along with the businesses around the lake have been attempting to treat the issue with chemicals and other methods. We hope to see you again in the future.

Yogi Waland, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Newly redone rooms are very clean and comfortable! Remember that just because someone stayed during the remodel and was unhappy doesnt mean it's still like that. it's great now! Our family is happy here!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments about our property. Thank you for noticing the improvements that we have taken in remodeling the property in order for our guest to enjoy their stay here. I hope to see you and your family in the future again. Once again thank you for taking time write this review we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearlake
0.1 mi away
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
0.7 mi away
Vista del Lago Lakehouse and Cottages
4.1 mi away
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
Lake Point Lodge ClearLake Oaks
#1 of 1 in Clearlake Oaks
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western El Grande Inn
23.7 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
262 reviews
15.1 mi away
Regency Inn
Regency Inn
#4 of 7 in Lakeport
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 13865 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422-9512
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range: $71 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best value Inn & Suites is located at the west end of the City of Clearlake. We are a lakefront location with a private fishing pier. We are close to dining, wineries, Casinos,Golf Courses, State Parks and we have lake recreation on site. We are about an hour and a half from Calistoga and Napa Valley, 2 1/2 hours from San Francisco and Sacramento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing