We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Love Coming Back To The Mountain!”

Mount Diablo State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers vast views from its summit.
San Ramon, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Always Love Coming Back To The Mountain!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Mt. Diablo is always great and always interesting. I wouldn't travel from any place too far to see it - it's not that great - but for anyone within an hour, it's a terrific place. For me, the best part is the scenic views on the way up the mountain. Check out my pics to see my point.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day for a walk”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Kate December , colder weather, and a great day for a walk up the mountain.
We lucked out on maybe the clearest day around Christmas so we got good views of the bay and the valley.
The dry conditions, prevented a cookout, but otherwise, well worth the day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scoutmaster_T1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent cycling - but challenging”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Cycled to the top of Mt Diablo starting in Walnut Creek, about 15 miles one way. Free entry to the State Park if you're on a bike. A friend and I took about 2 hours to get to the top and wander around the visitor center (bathrooms and drinks available). This is a highlight cycling segment for anyone in the Bay Area. As you ride uphill, the changing views are spectacular. Coming down, you MUST focus on the road and be prepared to stop, despite the temptation to fly down.

I would kindly ask the car drivers to stay in their lanes and to not pass slower traffic going uphill, especially in a blind curve. Likewise, cyclists must stay on the right and take it easy coming downhill. The ranger said nearly all cycling accidents involve cars straddling the center lane coming uphill. Yikes.

The road is single lane in each direction, and the shoulder is very narrow, so cyclists will need to be aware of traffic coming up behind them. There are no barriers or railings. On a mid-week day in the Winter, the traffic was very, very light. I would not do this ride on a Spring or Summer weekend day!

That said, if you are careful, this is an HC ride which will burn fantastic impressions into your memory.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sadly we did not have time to hike as it was the last day of our trip and we had a flight to catch. We drove all the way to the top, and we were glad we did! The views were gorgeous! It was very windy up there and the drive was long and winding, but it was all worth it. I hope I can make it back there someday to explore more of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mt Diablo State Park”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Always a great place to visit. The views from the top are phenomenal. On a really clear day (and with binoculars) you can see Half Dome in Yosemite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cumbria_lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Diablo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Diablo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing