We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As soon as you pass the gate - AAAAAh, nature is so relaxing!”

Mount Diablo State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers vast views from its summit.
Concord, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As soon as you pass the gate - AAAAAh, nature is so relaxing!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We live very close to both gates/entrances. We like to hike different parts of the park, driving up to the top is nice too when we are short on time. Camping is great and picnics are wonderful especially in the spring!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“excellent day trip from anywhere in the Bay Area!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Again, I under estimate my own back yard. I've lived in the Bay Area my entire life, and only yesterday did I make time to visit Mt. Diablo. Wow! A beautiful, scenic drive up to the summit takes roughly 20 minutes. The park itself is huge! The day use was a great deal at $10! Along the way we stopped to climb around 'Rock City' the wind carved rocks and surrounding area. The views were amazing, although cold and windy at the top. Be prepared and wear warm gear. There was even a little respite at the summit, with a toasty warm visitor center, museum, small movie theater and gift shop! Sadly, the observation deck was closed and wont re-open until next month, so if you want to wait and go then, I'm sure it will be an amazing view, I'll have to go back! 5 stars for natural beauty!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank urban_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Family camping in your own backyard!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

For years we lived near the entrance to Mt. Diablo. Our family, my girl scout troop, and our friends would go up there to hike and/or have a picnic. Rock City was a favorite spot. When our daughter was younger, we would frequently camp there just for the night and take a telescope to look at the stars. The view of the valley down to Walnut Creek is great.

Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Windy Road to the Top, a Beautiful View”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Close to major urban clog-zones, this park is a gem. Beautiful, seductive hills, classic California landscape. View from the top best to the north featuring the Sacramento River delta. We enjoyed one of the numerous picnic areas along the way - there are lots of tables and we had the place to ourselves, very nice. (When we visited January 19, the restrooms AND the visitor center were under repair - watch for signage or ask at the gate so you can plan ahead.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaggedClaws49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAHU
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to get away from the city. The rock section of this park is fun for the kids to climb and explore. It's too bad that visitors feel the name to carve their names in these rocks. The view is beautiful from the top.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcake888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Diablo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mount Diablo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing