We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfered over Napa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Sugar Mill

Old Sugar Mill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in scenic & historic Clarksburg, Old Sugar Mill (circa1934) is a unique community of twelve California wineries proudly hosting weddings & events The Old Sugar Mill is home to a unique community of twelve California wineries and their unique award winning signature wines terrors across the region: Todd Taylor Wines, Three Wine Company, Rendez-Vous Winery, Perry Creek Wines, Merlo Family Vineyards, Heringer Family Estates & Vineyards, Elevation Ten, Due Vigne di Famiglia, Draconis Vineyards, Clarksburg Wine Company, Carvalho Family Wines, Bump City Wines. Tasting fees vary up to $5/Tasting - Wine bottle purchase varies by individual winery. The majority of the vineyards are located in the Clarksburg AVA (American Viticulture Area), where vineyards share the same morning fog and cool breezes from the San Francisco Bay region. The wineries of the Old Sugar Mill in Clarksburg, California, are a bridge to the rich agricultural heritage of the region, whose vineyards are staking their claim alongside the great wine growing regions of the world. **No tailgating, outside ice chests, OR alcohol is permitted at Old Sugar Mill Wineries** Food items can be purchased from Deli areas in Elevation Ten or Rendez-Vous Winery OR at on-site weekend foodtruck(s). All pets & children must be supervised at all times.
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfered over Napa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This winery has everything Napa does not. There is no entry fee (unless they're holding a special event). There are 11 different wineries in one location without the hassle of driving and parking at each different tasting site. The average tasting cost was $5 for up to 8 (about half glass full) samples opposed to $15 of stingy samples. I went on Friday and 3 wineries were closed when during their regular business hours. The scenery is lovely and they offer a conference area for weddings and meetings.
This experience is was not as pretentious as my Napa/Sonoma tasting, it's very laid back and personal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lydia_dlT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, many wineries, lovely scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

11 different wineries with tasting rooms in a remodeled old sugar factory. Lots of character & scenery. We didn't get to try nearly as many wineries as we'd like, so we'll be back. The only thing needed there is food--maybe a restaurant of some sort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amastelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If I lived in Napa...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

...I might not drive to Clarksburg once a month, but I live in Sacramento, so it's a short hop over the bridge at Freeport, and the quality has zoomed over the last three years with Due Vigne joining Todd Taylor and the keeps-getting-better-Heringer offerings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well conceived and located wine center for Clarksburg appellation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We have lived here for 45 years and visited the major wine areas in Northern Cal many times. Never had we gone to Clarksburg so near to Sacramento. What a treat! About twelve wineries located for tasting and sales in a lovely renovated building. Over Memorial Day there was a jazz combo with BBQ sandwiches to prepare one for tasting. Each winery has friendly staff and promotions including barrel tasting, blending your own wine, and matching wines to various dips. We came away with twelve bottles. The wines will not match Napas , nor should you expect them. Very drinkable at decent prices. After all how many can afford the upper levels. Someone is leading this marketing and doing it well. We shall return with guests in three weeks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient spot for wine tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been here for a couple of weddings in the evening. Beautiful! One was in the fireplace room, another was in the larger room. As a guest, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Annnnywayy....came here recently during the daytime on the weekend to check out the wineries! Very different during the daytime.

There are roughly six wineries operating out of here. The ones that do not have a tasting fee are: Solomon Wines - very good, really enjoyed their whites, 3 Wine Company - can taste up to three.

The others have a $5 tasting fee which are refundable with a wine purchase: Carvalho &Heringer.

I don't remember the situation at Todd Taylor or Clarksburg Wines.

The building itself is amazing! Lots of history. It does indeed seem like a sugar mill in the sense of how cavernous and functional it must have been at some point. If you do plan on spending time here, be sure to bring a light cardigan. It is freezing in here!

On another note, besides being freezing, the place does have an eerie, historical feel to it. I can imagine Huell Howser quizzing the workers: "And you guys make WINE here? And people come and taste it?!?".

While we were there, the lights suddenly went out. Bit odd. One of the employees mentioned how the other side of the mill apparently has a "spirit" living there and then she looked at her watch. Her watch had suddenly stopped working. Cue goosebumps.

Eventually we did get electricity again. I walked away with a good story and an even better bottle of wine from Solomon Wines.

Helpful?
1 Thank imatifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Sugar Mill also viewed

 

Been to Old Sugar Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing