We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place, but overpriced.”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Nothing wrong with the Doubletree. It's a nice place, quality rooms, and a good breakfast. Lovely grounds too. The thing is, there are not many hotels near the Claremont colleges, so there is not much competition. As a result, the Doubletree can charge an above average amount and get away with it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyGoingTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    333
    91
    60
    30
See reviews for
366
137
66
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

The hotel rooms were large and had small balconies. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean. This was a great hotel for business and close to many restaraunts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelweeklyforwork2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

the doubletree claremont is becoming more and more shabby all the time. the hotel benefits from its near-monopoly position as the only hotel of any size near the claremont colleges. it is only a matter of time before another hotel chain discovers the gold mine that hilton has and puts up something decent. the day a competitor enters this market the business at the claremont doubletree will collapse and rightfully so. the motto of the claremont doubletree is "we don't care, we don't have to". obviously, hilton intends to milk their position for all it is worth and never put a dime into maintenance or amenities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattlePackerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I didn't expect much from a Doubletree -- just a place to crash on college visits. But this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at -- seriously. Not four star formal nice, but comfortable, tasteful, lovely, and with just about every convenience covered. Had a really nice room with a patio out on the wooded pool area. Breakfast buffet was very good. Free water in rooms (not $5!). Excellent service. Comfortable bed and pillow, bath, desk, and recliner. Beautiful and not overdone common areas. Love the rock wall fountain. Location in a kind of development with restaurants and a Trader Joes, so I was able to walk over and get some nice snacks. Easty drive up to Mt Baldy, and just blocks from campus. And the price was excellent in an offseason offnight. Only nick is that internet in rooms is by ethernet rather than wifi, but I bring along a long cord for that purpose, and at least there were convenient places to plug in a laptop. I wish all my stays were like this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We were more than satisfied with our stay while looking at the Claremont Colleges. We are light sleepers, so I was worried about the noise mentioned by other reviewers, as well as the condition of the some of the rooms. My recommendation, if budget allows, is to book a "top floor" category room and request one overlooking the inner courtyard. We had connecting King and Double Double rooms, and they were comfortable and quiet. It was very hot during our visit, but the air conditioning worked well and we've had louder ones at other hotels we've stayed in. The Trader Joe's within walking distance was very convenient for snacks and drinks. For the price, the Doubletree fit the bill for our trip.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sunandfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have stayed at this Doubletree four times in the last three years. We visit family in the area. The staff is always helpful, rooms clean and roomy, nice pool area, good restaurant, so-so parking (if there is an event going on at the hotel, it's first come first serve to find a parking spot, nothing set aside for hotel residents), complimentary paper delivered to room on weekdays. The bathrooms never seem to have enough lighting or, because of sliding doors, hooks conveniently located to hang robes or clothes. Although the beds have always been comfortable in the past, and still felt comfortable this stay, my husband and I both woke up each day with an achy back. There is a Trader Joe's about a 5 minute walk away. The rooms have a frig, no microwave. Exercise room is available. If flying in, the Ontario airport is about a 20 minute drive away. It is a smaller, easier to access airport then LAX.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLHbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

stayed one night for a college visit. Spoke with several staff members as i needed a great deal of help with directions for airport, schools, rental car etc. The front desk was fantastic, extremely friendly and helpful. I had stayed in about 6 different hotels during college visits on east and west coast and this hotel had the most pleasant front desk overall. Everyone I spoke to seemed cheerful and happy. I greatly appreciated the pleasant responses after my travels with teenagers.The hotel was pleasant and rate was reasonable. Great location with Trader Joe's within walking distance, just across parking lot. Hotel staff suggested a very good Mexican restaurant in the village area, inexpensive. large portions and tasty (name? elvia?)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western San Dimas Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Address: 555 W Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-3478 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing