We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Improvement over Griswold's, But...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Big Improvement over Griswold's, But...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked the Doubletree for two nights while visiting Pomona College with the 17yo daughter. Full disclosure: my husband grew up in Claremont so we have a soft spot for the town, Baldy Mountain behind it, and College Avenue (eat breakfast outside at the Grill: nice). Five hotels in 12 nights and we concluded that the Doubletree was the best value. The only downside is that the walls (this is the converted Griswold's, an overpriced disgrace to the hotel business); it seems as though each successive owner cannot bring himself to invest in injecting some insulation into the walls. We still heard the guy next door, the toilet flushing, and drunken tourists in the hallway at 2 am.

Walls aside, the Doubletree is great bang for the buck: free warm cookies at check-in; nice, big rooms, unstocked refrigerator (no angst over $10 water bottles); lots of towels; good desk space; free functioning WiFi, and nice little balconies. Our 2nd floor room overlooked a garden with the pool and whirlpool steps away. There is also a small but functional fitness center. Free coffee but no free breakfast. No matter: there is a Trader Joe’s on the same lot where you can stock up on pre-prepared food, grab a lager or wine, and watch the sun go down from your balcony. If you’re lazy like us, you can also order room service. For $100, everything included, the three of us ate very, very well. Try the salmon salad appetizer: it’s entrée sized and, at $14, you can’t beat the price.

One more thing: I had to print out something, but the Doubletree’s “business center” (two terminals and notepads) printer was out of order. The receptionist welcomed me to print out the pages behind the reception desk, free of charge. We’ll be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    330
    90
    60
    29
See reviews for
363
136
63
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We needed a place to stay for few nights to take care of some personal business in the area. Check-in was friendly and efficient. Everytime I needed something from the front desk, from picking up paperwork which was delivered, to borrowing white-out, to faxing documents they were happy to oblige.

The room was clean and spacious and the beds were super comfortable with a variety of pillows which differed in firmness. Something for everyone!

The pool area was beautiful. The lanscaping is very lush. Upon entry at one end, there is a big ledge about two feet deep. It's great for liitle kids or for sunning yourself if you don't want to go all the way in. There is also a jacuzzi which was clean and kept at the perfect temperature.

The only complaint I had is the internet in the business center is incredibly slow. We needed to use it quite a bit. It will definitely try your patience.

We'll be moving to the area soon and would not hesitate to put up visiting guests at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I enjoyed my stay here very much. Both houskeeping, engineering and the front desk were very helpful and extremely friendly. The two girls at the front desk, Kathy and Tami, were delightful and had a great sense of humor. The only problem I had with this hotel is their restaurant. Everytime I went in there I usually had to wait for about 10 minutes just to get service. I would understand if it was maybe busy but it was only me and maybe 2 other people at the bar. The hotels great but I wouldnt waste my time at the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjames12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

The room was pleasantly decorated and very clean, but small. There was a safe, a quiet mini-fridge, a flatscreen TV, and good but somewhat noisy air conditioning. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the pillows were mushy. The bathroom was so small that the toilet almost got in the way of my being able to stand at the sink. However, there is plenty of counter space and the bathroom is well lit. I appreciated the makeup mirror. There was plenty of hot water from a good shower head and thick towels for drying off. My room was at the back of the hotel, and it was very quiet. There was no ice machine on my floor. The grounds are beautiful with plants and flowers, and the pool area is very attractive. I had the grossly overpriced ($17) but excellent hot breakfast buffet in the restaurant. By the way, the free chocolate chip cookie at check-in is to die for.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I had a business function at nearby Ontario. Most of my colleagues was staying by the Doubletree at the Airport location, but I always have this thing about staying too clo0se to the airport. My assistant helped me friend this Claremont location. Great Hotel, friendly service, clean room. I had an amazing room, was upgraded(life is great when your part of Hilton Honors!) and nice little balcony to over look the garden area. Excellent Hilton amenities as I arrived, with warm cookies. It was late when I arrived, and the bed felt amazing. Nice little village close by with many restaurants and activities after my business function made it a plus! Next time I am in the Ontario area, I would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank togoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here during a visit to a family function in Claremont. In twenty plus years of visits to the area, I never stayed at the old Griswold's Hotel, or the predecessors of the Doubletree. My wife and I both slept great in the quiet room, which was a short walk to my sister's house nearby, so really convenient. We went in and out through Ontario (ONT) Airport, so the whole trip was really convenient. My spouse had a haircut at the spa, and was really pleased with their services. Our package included the optional buffet breakfast, which was complete and The Orchard Restaurant had great service. Would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Nice job with the transformation Doubletree!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The hotel is set in groupings of buildings, so you have to walk up the stairs or take the elevator outside, but the rooms are off interior hallways. The pool was fabulous, a nice sized shallow area (2 feet or less) for kiddies that was attached and part of the larger pool. So kind of a kiddie pool within the larger one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Dimas Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Address: 555 W Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-3478 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing