We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“claremont base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
306 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“claremont base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Short stay in May to visit Claremont Colleges. Excellent staff at front desk and in Orchard restaurant. Older property but recently renovated rooms. We had spacious room with small balcony and pool view. Beautifully landscaped grounds.

Quick check-in with the trademark DoubleTree warm chocolate chip cookies. Convenient, free parking and fast, free WiFi. Clean room with comfortable beds, decent bathroom with very good shower, coffee in-room, TV w/ movies, safe, nothing missing here. Didn't use pool (rainy weather on our visit), but looked nice.

Didn't use fitness room or conference facilities. Excellent restaurant with huge portions of surprisingly innovative food at dinner and way above average breakfast buffet with cooked to order omelets and plenty of choices. Quaint restaurants and shopping in the nearby Claremont Village.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in Claremont and for quick access to the Claremont Colleges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Scott,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting the Claremont Colleges. I will pass on your kind words of how you found the staff at front desk and in Orchard restaurant to be excellent.

The trademark DoubleTree warm chocolate chip cookies are always a nice treat.

Yes the free parking and fast, free Wi-Fi is a plus when staying at any hotel, and glad to hear that you found the room was clean with comfortable beds.

Our food in Orchard is excellent with huge portions and plenty of choices to choose from.

Thank you for recommending the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont, yes it is quick access to the Claremont Colleges.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    331
    90
    60
    29
See reviews for
363
136
64
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Oops, excuse the misspelling of notch, but the Doubletree just misses perfection. Seven seconds for the elevator door to open after it stops on the ground floor? Hmm. Tired gerbil, I guess. Anyway, this is a terrific stop. Stayed 3 nites for a Pomona College 50th Reunion. My wife's, not mine, but a great event and the Doubletree is the hotel to come back to each nite. (Other reunion attendees complained of, uh, dirty tricks played on them at other hotels such as unwanted room service calls, probably done by unruly guests at those hotels.) Not like that at the Doubletree. Convenient pocket door on the bathroom in our "suite." Comfortable beds but too many pillows (what a waste). Auto parking can be distant. Wife said the room wasn't spacious, but it was okay. Staff was most obliging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aWriter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear aWriter2011,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write such a nice review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel how we were top notch.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here for your wife's 50th class reunion it is very close to the Claremont Colleges which makes it extremely convenient.
Sorry to hear that your friends did not have the same experience as you maybe next time.
We look forward to having you back with us if ever in the Claremont area, hopefully for your wife’s 60th class reunion.

Warm regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you have a kid studying at the Claremont Colleges then this is the best hotel for you to stay at. A newly introduced shuttle service by the hotel will take you around a two mile radius, perfect for visiting the campus, downtown Claremont and the nearby stores. The warm and helpful staff is a big bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank roadtripper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Roadtripper9,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting your child at the Claremont Colleges.

We are very excited about now having the DoubleTree Shuttle van that actually we will shuttle within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, our guest love it!

Thank you for the kind words in regards to our staff we are very proud of them all.

Look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I couldn't step up into a bath tub, so I was given a room with a roll in shower. Big mistake, the water from the shower ended up going all over the bathroom floor creating a LAKE in the bathroom. This was very dangerous and I almost fell several times and my husband as well. There has got to be a better way Double Tree, please find it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller33166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear worldtraveller33166,

Thank you very much for your feedback on the room that you stayed in and you felt that this was unsafe. We have directed this concern to our engineering department and we will insure that this situation is corrected.
We value your feedback and concerns of the safety as we here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont focus on our customer service and attention to details. This will be corrected.
Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance if ever visiting the Claremont area again.
Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My recent stay at the Doubletree in Claremont was a pleasure and so convenient to the colleges. My daughter and I were tired when we arrived and our check-in was efficient and speedy. The beds were so comfortable contributing to a great nights sleep. I would certainly stay at this hotel again should I have reason to visit Claremont.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Sherry W,
Very nice to hear that your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont was a pleasure and you found it very convenient for you to get to the Claremont Colleges.
Always nice to hear when you are and just want to get to your rooms that the check-in was efficient and speedy. Our beds are heavenly so great to hear that you had a good night’s sleep.
We look forward to having you stay with us again while visiting Claremont.
Warm regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have always had a great experience when staying at the Claremont Double Tree..would recommend to everyone. The beds are comfortable, the restaurant is clean and the food is great...The poolside is clean and the pool is warm. Check in desk in organized and staffed by extremely friendly people, always there to help...and you can't forget how great that cookie is!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Michelle T,
So nice to hear that you have always had a great experience when staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont hotel and would recommend to everyone.
Great to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and the restaurant is clean with great food!
We do love our pool so great to hear that you enjoyed it!
I will pass on your kind comment to the front desk staff of how they were extremely friendly, and always there to help!
Yes we cannot forget how great that cookie is, it’s all about the cookie!
Warm regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean. Helpful staff. Night club in parking lot a little noisy at night. I have taken school groups to conferences all over the world for years. We usually are allowed to keep one room past check out to store luggage until we depart. This is the first hotel that did not allow that. As a result, my group and two or three other groups had to store all of our luggage behind the front desk in a room that was not built to handle that amount of luggage. Was very stressful when we all left. A very small number of eating places close to hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the parking lot and the night club on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear munalan,

Thank you for your response of your most recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay until the very end with it being stressful with storing your luggage.

As for not being able to keep your luggage in the room sounds like the hotel was probably sold out and they needed to get the rooms cleaned.

We do value your business and your feedback! Hope to see you again next time you are visiting the Claremont area.

Kind regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Dimas Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Address: 555 W Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-3478 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing