We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be Spoiled at the Claremont DoubleTree Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ames
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Prepare to be Spoiled at the Claremont DoubleTree Hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Overall: loved it, highly recommend and want to come back again.

Exterior: Your first impression is wow, this is nice, and it has lived up to that first impression. Others mentioned it feels more like a resort, and that is the feeling I get. There are multiple buildings that are separated by very attractive and well maintained gardens, bushes and trees. The buildings are close to each other so it is just a pleasant walk.

Parking: Plenty. Others mentioned there isn't enough parking, but they didn't drive around. There is parking on all sides, so they must not have looked hard enough. There is plenty of parking. Piano Piano, http://duelingpianopiano.com/ a fun entertaining dueling piano bar next door shares one parking lot with the Claremont DoubleTree, so that lot does get used more, but when we arrived at 5pm there was ample parking. If one lot is full, there will be another one just as close to your room on the other side.

Staff: The staff at the front desk are outgoing, attentive and fun and very willing to accommodate. Just ask and they will help. All the staff we met were happy and helpful.

Halls: I have to mention the halls. I love the detail, thought and the maintenance that went into just the hallways. No one really notices hallways, but I did and I really appreciate how much effort went into making this look so nice. There is a fancy light above every door, the walls have wall coverings, not just painted, the carpet has neat patterns that were installed by people that knew what they were doing. Someone else mentioned the elevator was small, yes the elevator was small to medium size, we had 5 people in it so it wasn't that small.

Room: We stayed in building 4 on the 3rd floor. We just happened to meet Earl who was happily doing preventative maintenance on the rooms near ours and probably ours too. Just another behind the scenes thing that will spoil you. A hotel that looks for and fixes issues before you find them. Our room was perfect, I could find nothing wrong with it. The bed and the pillows were very comfy, we watched the Olympics for a bit on the big flat screen TV. We had a balcony overlooking the tops of well maintained trees palm fronds and red tile roofs. One other small touch there is a refrigerator in the room it isn't sitting out in the open, but it is designed to fit inside the furniture.

Bath: Contemporary beautiful design. The pocket sliding door to the bathroom was such a cool touch and unexpected, plus granite counter tops in the bathroom.

Recycling: Every wastebasket is dividing into recycle and other. This shows they take the time and effort to help our environment.

Coffee: In the room we found a Wolfgang Puck coffee maker that will brew two different kinds of coffee or tea at the same time, it has room for two cups and two brewing sources plus real half and half. Just another small touch to spoil you.

Pool: We had a quick dip on the wonderful pool. It was 103 today in Claremont, so this was great. The pool is in the center of the buildings so easy access. There were a dozen newer cabana chairs in the pool area all matching. A hot tub next to the pool, and even beach towels in the pool area, so you don't have to take your room towel. The beach towels were big and nice and fluffy with green stripes to match the green chairs. The pool closes at 10pm and we would have used it after 10 but I can see why they have to close it by then because it is in the center of the property, so you want to have some quiet time.

Wireless: It was free! Quick and easy to connect, and worked well. Yayoo! I am writing this review from the room on the wireless right now.

Village: We met some friends in the Claremont Village downtown area for dinner which we walked to. The walk was no more than 15 minutes tops. It is all level walking and easy access. If you decide to drive there is lots of parking downtown in the new parking ramp next to the Packing house.

Yummy Cookies: You can't stay here without having at least one of the famous double-tree cookies. We got two from the front desk. They are amazing and warm and delicious. Plus we were able to buy large cups of milk from the restaurant to go with our cookies.

Restaurant: we are going there now for breakfast so I can't review it just yet, but it is located on the property.

Essentials Day Spa and Salon: There is a day spa on the property. Call ahead and get an appointment for a facial massage or a hair style and get even more spoiled. http://essentialsdayspa.com/

Nearby: 21 Choices Yogurt http://www.21choices.com/ is a 6 minute walk and you have to go there at least once in your life, this would go great with your DoubleTree cookie. Trader Joes is 1 minute walk. Buca Di Beppo http://www.bucadibeppo.com/ Italian Family style restaurant is a 1 minute walk. Route 66 is right out the front door, also called Foothill Blvd.

Summary: What a great place to stay. I hope I wasn't too glowing that you don't beleive me, but really it was just a very nice experience, and sometimes you just want to be spoiled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    335
    93
    60
    30
See reviews for
371
138
68
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree in Claremont this summer for two nights. Super clean, comfortable bedding. Staff helpful and polite. Great price with auto club rate. Would stay again. Perfect for gatherings like reunions. Family friendly. There was a wedding in the courtyard and it looked lovely- there is a "stage" or platform for the ceremony or a band.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dera bonniegw,

Bonnie thank you for your gracious comments in regards to the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. We do appreciate the feedback we get from our guest as this is the only way we can insure our guest are having an excellent experience.

I will pass on your kind comments in regards to the helpfulness and politeness of the staff this is what we do pride ourselves on.

We look forward to having you stay back with us.

Warm regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A great hotel for a great price. Unlike other Doubletrees, there are multiple building and three floors on each. It made it a little more like a resort feeling. There is parking that goes all of the ways around, so don't worry about hauling all of your luggage.

The rooms were decent sized and as far as I could see each one had a balcony with chairs. Flat screen TVs and mini fridges that were empty and you could put your own items in there and not worry about the minibar portion.

The bathrooms were decent sized and had plenty of countertop space. The one thing that I noticed as well as friends also noticed who were staying there at the same time is that the bathrooms smell like poo. We think it's the water and that it has a strong sulfur smell. But it happened in two separate buildings so it was omnipresent.

The elevators were super slow, so I started taking the stairs. Just make sure you bring your room card with you to get back in the door. Ice is on the bottom floor. You can hear all of the door slams from the close by rooms. But besides that I didn't hear any other noises.

The breakfast buffet in the morning is OK but not sure if it's worth it for $20 a person. Omlettes/eggs made to order, muffins, fruit, potatoes, breakfast meats. The buffet is situated in the bar, so you can also get your bloody mary with your breakfast.

The pool and hot tub area was big. There are plenty of lunge chairs and tables with umbrellas. There are also restrooms. Toward the back there are shelves that have clean green and whited striped pool towels for your use if you do not see any clean ones on the chairs.

The front desk was friendly. I did noticed that there was a lot of wedding activity for multiple weddings the weekend I was there including a rehersal dinner and a set up for an outdoors ceremony in the courtyard.

Right next store to a Trader Joes and a local coffee/tea/smoothie shop.
Short drive to downtown Claremont with the upscale shops and restaurants are.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room so it overlooks the common areas or pool. An outside room will face the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyshoredeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear jerseyshoredeb,

Thank you and we do appreciate your feedback on the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. The way the hotel is situated it does look like a little mini resort and we love that. Yes all of the rooms do come with a little mini refrigerator which is great for stocking up with food and drinks from Trader Joes. Microwaves are also available upon request.

Sorry to hear of the mishap with the smell in the rooms, this is something that will be discussed and addressed with our engineering team to insure this does not happen again.

As for the breakfast buffet this is something that we change up daily to have a great variety. Yes the bar is located right there in the breakfast area for those wanting anything to drink.

The courtyard does make for a beautiful area to host a wedding or any social gathering thank you for noticing.

Our pool area is one of my favorites, and it does make it nice that there are showers and bathrooms outside for easy convenience.

We do look forward to having you back with us, please let us know if there is anything you may need.

Kindest regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are a family of 4 with two children ages: 4&5. We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights and loved it!
The front desk staff could not be nay more polite and helpful. The rooms are fairly standard with super comfortable beds.

We loved the breakfast buffet and the staff were excellent. The pool is great for kids.

The hotel is close to shops and Claremont village.

We loved this place so much we have already booked another stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Armand A,

Thank you for taking the time to give a review on the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the breakfast buffet as well as our staff. I will share your kind comments to all staff involved. Yes our beds are fabulous you do not want to get out of them. We do love our pool also it is very inviting with beautiful surrounding grounds, glad you and the kids enjoyed it. We look forward to you staying with us again please let us know if there is anything you may need while making your next reservation.

Kind regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights to visit relatives in the area. The hotel is close to the Claremont Colleges and the village of Claremont. Rooms are nice but our bathroom was right next to the bed (i.e., a foot away) and not very large. Staff is excellent and breakfasts are OK (especially the fresh made muffins).

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the pool area during summer as it can be very noisy. The upper floor balconies ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear efp54,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to hear that you really enjoyed the property. I will pass on your kind words to the staff in regards to the excellent service that you received. We do try and pride ourselves with our outstanding customer service and attention to details. As for the rooms they all are configured a little differently as to where they are placed in the buildings. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I really liked this place. Used the swimming pool and it was fantastic. Nice room with a balcony. Quiet and clean. Comfortable bed. Very good service which you expect from a 3+ star hotel. I stay in many different hotels and INNs due to my job and lifestyle so I know a good hotel when I see one. This one is is a good one.

Room Tip: Try to park your car close to your room or otherwise you will need to walk a long way to get to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farzin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Farzin R,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback on the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. We are excited to hear that you loved the property and the great swimming pool that we have. Our housekeeping staff does works extremely hard in insuring our rooms are to perfection and to Hilton standards. We look forward to having you back as our guest, and please let us know if there is anything the sales office can assist you with.

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the Claremont Colleges, and it was a perfect place to spend the night: about 5 minutes from Claremont Village and less than 10 from the Claremont Colleges. There are several buildings laid out around a pool, and they serve a nice breakfast in the central building. Our room was clean, beds comfortable, and the A/C worked well! In all, exactly what we would expect from the Doubletree chain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear casaros,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. We have a lot of guest stay with us that do visit the Claremont colleges so it is nice to hear that you found the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel to be the perfect fit. We do value our guest experience to insure our guest satisfaction. Glad to hear you enjoyed the cook to order omelet, clean rooms and most important our comfortable beds. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance for your next visit into the Claremont area.

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
239 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western San Dimas Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Ontario Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Address: 555 W Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-3478 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing