We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice to Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Choice to Stay.”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this Doubletree hotel. We found the rooms to be average size. Very clean. Bathroom was a little small but ok. We got the breakfast included in our daily rate as a package. It was well worth it being a buffet (scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, omlet, etc). Good location to access where we needed to go. Price was about $108 total per night. Seemed like a little high but reasonable for the area. Pool and hot spa wre very clean and enjoyable. really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmike9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear bigmike9999,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel amenities and breakfast buffet were to your liking. We look forward to your return when traveling to the Claremont area in the future. Please let us know if there is anything we may be able to assist you with.

Warm Regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    338
    95
    61
    32
See reviews for
377
143
70
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This doubletree fell short of expectations. I have had some otherwise consistent experiences with DT hotels, and felt this location did not live into the standard of expectation.

Pros:
- Good, friendly, resort-style layout. The pool and outdoor dining areas seem very family-friendly.

Cons:
- Small rooms, dimly lit. If you are planning to stay with kids in the room this might be too small of a space.
- General feeling of uncleanliness
- No proper duvets on bed, so there is no clean barrier between yellowed comforters. They provide flat sheets to sandwich unclean down comforters. I ended up taking the dirty blanket off and sleeping with clean flat sheets
- Common areas of the buildings are not modern/clean.
- responsive, but resource-limited staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flippyfloppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear flippyfloppy1,

Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and outdoor dining areas to your liking. However, I apologize that we did not meet expectations with regards to cleanliness. I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. I understand the condition of bedding was of concern, I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Claremont.

Warm Regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed there for business last month for two nights with a less than memorable stay and not up to the usual Hilton nor Doubletree standards. Nothing was quite wrong nor quite right. Surly front desk both at check in in the evening and at checkout. The hotel had a tiny gift shop off the lobby but no-one in there except it was kind of watched by the front desk albeit not very attentively. Slow to get my bill and even slower to close out my account after checkout and charge my card, it took 5 days and 3 calls for them do that and thereby release the extra they had charged on top of my room rate for non-existent incidentals. There are not a lot of options in the area near Pomona and this place kind of takes advantage of that. Disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear finesilver,

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I'm very sorry that you were treated with an undesirable level of service and that there were issues with your bill. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope you will consider staying with us the next time you’re visiting the area.

Warm Regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We have stayed in suites at the Doubletree and in regular rooms and have not been let down in about 6 separate visits.The restaurant is very good for breakfast,the pool very nicely maintained and the location very handy for a 15 minute walk to the center of lovely Claremont-one of the nicest places in California that
we have visited!
We simply do not share some of the negative reviews of the hotel posted .

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Greetings OttawaRealtor:

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont. We always strive to provide our valued guests with warm and welcoming experiences and I am glad that we continually exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review about your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please contact us directly for any of your future reservation needs as we do greatly appreciate your loyalty to us.

Warm Regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband and I had a pleasant surprise when our plans changed and we needed to stay at the Doubletree in Claremont. It was in a very nice, easily accessible area of town, very close to a charming downtown area with great restaurants and shops. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly upon check-in. The grounds were well kept and the rooms comfortable. The best treat was the spa/salon associated with the hotel. Very clean and services were top notch. Also, the spacious dining room (Orchard) was perfect for breakfast with a large selection of choices including a chef for custom egg orders. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our hotel grounds and take great pride in keeping them looking there best. I will share your comments with our staff, as we like to acknowledge them on a job well done. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next stay in Claremont.
Kind regards,
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My wife and I were in Claremont attending the 50th Reunion of my college class. The college booked a block of rooms at a very reasonable rate. However, confirming the suspicions of another reviewer, our discounted room was in the infamous Building 2 whose guests must endure: (1) the threshold of pain sound pressure level of the Friday night rock band (until 10:00 p.m.), and (2) the subwoofer rumble from the PianoPiano lounge next door (until the wee hours of the morning).

Contributing to the sleep depriving noise was the air handler in the bathroom that could not be turned off. Also, if you dare to stay in Building 2, be prepared for: (1) a sink faucet that delivers a fire hose 100psi blast, and (2) a sliding bathroom pocket door that must have been designed as a fire door – it’s that heavy!

In addition, the college had arranged for a “hospitality suite.” Hospitality to me means an evening room temperature less than 90 degrees F and a bottle opener. It took two visits, one hour apart, to the front desk (the second one not as friendly as the first) to get: (1) a maintenance staff person who couldn’t find the A/C control, and (2) the night manager who could. We never did get the bottle opener.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contraclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We have a student at the nearby Claremont Colleges and went for an Easter weekend visit (3 nights). We requested two rooms at the AAA rate. Apparently, their "discounted" rooms face the VERY LOUD piano bar directly across the parking lot. You can hear the crowd noise, base sounds and traffic until early morning from the building number 2. I highly suggest asking for a room NOT in this building.
On our last night there, we returned to one of the rooms only to discover that some type of water leak had occurred, causing a very foul odor and which had caused some clothes to become sopping wet. We alerted management who did offer to provide another room, but offered no assistance in drying the clothes or reduction in rates for the inconvenience. In fact, the room change resulted in rooming next door a very loud party who refused to turn down their television. Again, management was alerted and did nothing.
Although, nice hotels are hard to find in this area, it may be worth staying a little further away next time.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in building 2 facing the piano bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
We are delighted to find out that you have a student attending one of the Claremont Colleges. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not so pleasant this past time at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont! We do value the comments and feedback of all of our guest to insure we can make The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont the best place to stay. We have noted your comments and these matters will be discussed and addressed with all of our management team! We take pride in our hotel, customer service, and attention to details to insure our guest have the best experience here, so again your comments will be addressed. We hope that you do give our hotel the opportunity to host you again while visiting your child at college. If you would like please make the reservation with the sales office so we can insure your stay to be a pleasant experience.
Warm regards,
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Fairplex Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Pomona
Comfort Inn Pomona
#2 of 14 in Pomona
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western San Dimas Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Dimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
Address: 555 W Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-3478 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing