We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked Out Great in a Pinch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Claremont
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I was recently stuck overnight in Claremont on business. I'd stayed at other facilities there that cost more and delivered poorly. I called Howard Johnson's late and found the person on duty to be very friendly and accomodating. When I explained that I was on a stingy per diem, she pleasantly offered a nice discount from the rack rate.

The rooms are good-sized standard-issue motel rooms with clean bathrooms plus mini-refrigerators and free high-speed wireless internet. One nice surprise was that, even though my room faced the 10 Freeway, with only a sliding glass door on that side, road noise was very muted and did not interfere with my sleep in any way.

Although this facility might not look all new and shiny on the outside, give it a shot if you need an inexpensive but very decent room in Claremont.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dierdre58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2006

I hadn't stayed at a HoJo's before, but with the limited options in Claremont and seemingly good ratings on websites, I went for it.

Positives: Cheapest stay in town. Clean bathroom; good water pressure and hot water in shower; free wireless internet (local free provider). Inside rooms (non-freeway side) are relatively quiet; else, you have the sound wall of the I-10 (constant roar) at your front door.

Negatives: Long dimly lit interior hallways. I'm a woman and I felt really uncomfortable walking down the hall alone. Don't recall having had that sensation in a hotel before. Strong musty smell was pervasive in hallways and rooms. I realized all my clothes smelled of this mustiness after I arrived home. Hallways and rooms needed paint or cleaning desperately! Carpets and curtains need cleaning. Rooms had dated, rickety laminate furniture. Mattresses worn, very uncomfortable. Also, with the 72 hour cancellation policy, you can't change hotels after seeing the place, because you potentially get charged for 2 or 3 nites anyway. At least that's what I figured after they charged my whole stay (multiple nites) on my Visa as soon as I arrived. Wouldn't recommend for stays longer than 1 nite or to anyone for whom atmosphere matters.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hot_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meruhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elly K, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elly K, Director of Sales at Knights Inn Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 24, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las mejores habitaciones son las del lado opuesto a la autopista I-10. Igual aconsejo evitar este ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gracigirasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinn721, General Manager at Knights Inn Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Andar superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guardabassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinn721, General Manager at Knights Inn Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lo bueno fue la habitación en la planta baja. Tenía un ventanal al estacionamiento, muy práctico par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinn721, General Manager at Knights Inn Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Claremont
6.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Dimas - Fairplex
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa 425
Hotel Casa 425
#2 of 5 in Claremont
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Azure Hotel & Suites Ontario Airport
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Claremont
Motel 6 Claremont
#3 of 5 in Claremont
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pine Tree Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Claremont

Address: 721 S Indian Hill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711-5446 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Claremont)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range: $71 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Claremont 1.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Claremont Hotel Claremont
Claremont Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Claremont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing