We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a diamond in a rough restaurant town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Parolaccia Osteria Italiana - CLOSED

La Parolaccia Osteria Italiana
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Il Mattone Trattoria Italiana is a neighborhood restaurant in the town of Claremont that takes pride in serving delicious thin crust pizzas, freshly made pastas, seasonal salads, meat and fish with a great variety of homemade desserts. First established in October 2008 and formerly named La Parolaccia Osteria Italiana, Il Mattone has a reputation of being a friendly place to experience the most authentic Italian food in the Inland Empire. Buon Appetito e Salute
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a diamond in a rough restaurant town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am a real picky Italian foodie. This was excellent. The fried artichokes, the gorgonzola salad, the vegan pasta dish they whipped up for my daughter, and a happy wife. Also lovely staff with great sense of humor. the place to go in Claremont

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drewhughru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant atmosphere, great tasting food, amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ok, this place is a little expensive. But (!) everything is definitely worth it. We tried two different soups - both just amazing and fresh, chicken with vegetables was good, and delicious creme brulee! I think it is more French than Italian, but it was very well made.

The restaurant itself is very pleasant, nicely paced, and with very prompt and courteous service. In fact, I think it was the best service we had experienced in several months.

It also offers a great value for money if you order from a menu with lunch specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
340 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“We loved this Italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The owners are really from Italy, and they take their pastas seriously.
It's cooked Italian style "al dente", which means "stick to the teeth", so it's not soft and mushy like others make it. It's actually Italian. The sauces are amazing and the salads are good too. Freshly grated cheese on top. Bread is freshly made and the tapanade that comes with it is outstanding. It's pricey but we think it's worth it. They also own another sister restaurant in Long Beach, which has the same quality food (maybe same menu?) and it's just as good. I think we did a review on that one a few years ago when we were in Long Beach for a conference. The only thing was the trouble finding a parking space. Claremont has more parking, but it's still hard on Friday/Sat. nights on the street. There is a tiny parking lot in the back, but it's really hard to find parking there. That's just Claremont. They have a new parking structure and you walk a small block north; totally worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I were out deciding where to eat one night when we came across this restaurant. We walked in at about nine at night and they seated us immediately. Since there is no exact closing time it's a hit-or-miss on whether or not the place will be open. We went on a Wednesday night and it must have been slow because he closed the place ten minutes after we were seated.
My sister and I weren't that hungry so we decided to split the Gnocchetti and it was delicious! When they brought it to the table they had already split the dish into two bowls for my sister and I which was very nice. It had so much taste and the artichokes that were in it were so soft! I would so back just for this dish. My mother got the Capricciosa pizza which came with whole slices of prosciutto layered on top.
The service was nice and they were always there asking what we needed and making small talk. I would definitely advise anyone going to Claremont to go here. They are just delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowerneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good food, even better service. Reasonable prices, including wine. A little noisy, but it was very full.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hrgii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parolaccia Osteria Italiana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing