We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Collection of California Native Plants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden

Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Collection of California Native Plants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This garden was much bigger than I expected. It covers 86 acres and includes thousands of native plants. There are three areas to explore: California Plant Communities; Indian Hill Mesa, and the Alluvial Gardens. I suggest you bring a lot of water and sunscreen if you plan to stay more than an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertPC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    52
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We attended the Folk Music Festival held at the Botanic Garden so got to enjoy the gardens as well as the music. The gardens have a lot of signage so you know what kind of plant you are looking at.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Quiet Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This garden is a gem in an otherwise busy area. Once you turn off Foothills Blvd, park and walk into the gardens, you're a world away. I visited here in February, when there was very little, if anything, in bloom. I needed a place to think, reflect and just walk. There were benches along the way to sit in the shade. It was the antidote I needed. Just walking along the paths with views of the snow-capped mountains did wonders. I saw very few people. It was just me and the California landscape. I look forward to returning someday in the late spring when more is in bloom.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Collection of Native California Plants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This garden, tucked behind the Claremont School of Theology, has the best collection of California natives. It's great to see what California had before all of the imported plants took the place over. The plants are well kept and the grounds are uncrowded. Walking the garden is easy and peaceful.

The gardens also offer information/classes on drought tolerant landscaping. We have used some of that information to make our landscape beautiful and save water.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank acscf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
552 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“No bikes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you want to get a sense of the diversity and beauty of California plants and trees, this is a great place.

Quiet, essentially unpatrolled, you can walk a mile and not see another face.

Sadly, no bicycles permitted. This would be a perfect spot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing