We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Burgers fun outdoor dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Abbey

Back Abbey
Ranked #4 of 135 Restaurants in Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
san diego
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Burgers fun outdoor dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Really tasty burgers ,no reservations so be prepared to wait. We sat outside and had a nice time. Everyone enjoyed their selection, -6 of us some had steak and chicken which they enjoyed. The duck oil fried french frys which we said to be "so good" were good but not such a giant hit for us. They have a large selection of micro beers that seems to be a big hit. Not many good places to eat in this area. This was a nice find.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonitadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    68
    19
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
729 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“If I could give them 6 stars I would!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

There is not a single restaurant even remotely within the same stratosphere with Back Abbey in Claremont. (Actually there is one, Hayato. But that is it!)

Anyone that has been here knows the menu is small and excellent. They make a few things and they make them superbly. It is a gastropub that can rival any in LA. Make sure you get the fries. While I am not a big potato person, these are every bit as good as pomme frites in Belgian and they come with great dipping sauces.

They also have a superb Belgian beer selection, both on tap and bottled. The atmosphere is perfect as well. Very inviting and friendly. They are not trying to be anything they aren't. Finally, the staff is always top notch. You will also notice that they have a lot of the same people working here for long periods of time. If you want the best server at the restaurant, make sure to ask for STEPHANIE. If she is not there, you are guaranteed to get someone else great!

p.s. Outside area is really great as well.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Good food, well-prepared and served fresh and hot, plus great beer -- what's not to like about the Back Abbey? The fries were crispy and the accompanying sauces delicious. We split a backyard burger, cooked to a perfect medium rare, and an order of mussels with bread for dipping in the garlic-y sauce. Awesome! We enjoyed sitting at the bar and looking at all the cool tap-handles for their huge beer selection. A great meal in a fun place made our date-night outing perfect.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FontanaBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great place to hang out with friends / family or just to enjoy a nice meal with your sweet one. Friendly staff, great food, wonderful place!!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kitty-hello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“burgers, fries & beer - all great...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

A friend who lives in the area took us to the Back Abbey. She raved about the burgers, the fries & the beer - & she was right! We sat outside on the patio in some real comfortable chairs & we didn't see the inside of the restaurant. Service was ok.

I had the Back Abbey burger - aged Gouda, mustard aioli, caramelized onion, Niman Ranch bacon, & micro greens served on a Brioche bun. I guess the restaurant usually serves the burgers medium rare but I got mine cooked medium well without the aioli & it was delicious! My partner had the Veggie Burger - grilled portabello mushroom, zucchini, red bell peppers & eggplant layered with feta cheese & herbed verde, served on a brioche bun - he thought it was great. We had green salads with our burgers & the salad was very good. We were skeptical about the fries , which are fried in duck fat, then in soybean oil but they were delicious. (I've since found out that frying potatoes in duck fat is a bit of a trend & that duck fat isn't a really bad kind of fat.) The beer list is extensive & we had no idea what to order. The waitress asked us what kind of beer we like & made suggestions - all of the beer we had was excellent.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Abbey also viewed

 
Claremont, CA
 

Been to Back Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing