We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
389
157
38
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
389
157
38
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower swim up bar beach front beautiful resort family villa fia fia night sua trench farewell song beachfront villa fish main restaurant pork belly hired a car ocean view paddle boarding wednesday night bbq night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 601 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We had lunch in here while we were sight seeing around the island. The service was friendly but very slow. The food was good though. The only hiccup was they brought extra veggies and mash which I never ordered. I think there was some confusion during the ordering. They never charged us for them so that was good. I would still recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stamrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gav-saletoga, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

talofa thanks for the review , lovely to hear you enjoyed your meal and your recommendation of the resort , very sorry about the slow service sounds like there was some confusion with the order , we have had 6 new trainee's in wait service training for our new resort and restaurant opening next to us "Saletoga Beach Bungalows and Hotel " and can only put this mishap to their inexperience with the menu but they certainly don't lack enthusiasm and they are all now up to scratch , thanks again for the recommendation , Gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

I have stayed in many resorts from Maldives, Fiji, Tahiti, Hawaii etc and this pretty resort takes the cake. From the moment we were met at the airport by Captain Pati who was professional, knowledgeable and super-fun (Olive loves you!) to the moment we left, we were treated as family. We stayed In the Matai Villa Suite with our own beach over-looking the sea and it was fabulous. Love the stone bath and outdoor shower area, and also the twin showers inside. The Villa has been set up so well and even though we had a friendly gecko sharing the room, we loved it so much. The resort has a gym, spa, fantastic pool, free watersports - canoe etc, free snorkeling equipment, beach volleyball, an amazing chapel and the list goes on. Loved hiring the little cars which we did the whole length of our stay because they were so handy and so much fun - we saw everything thanks to this convenient little beast. If you do hire one, once you get out of the resort, turn left and go to the lava tube/cave pool on left along highway. Ask for Yuri to take you down, it is a bit daunting, but great fun and you can swim inside the tube - so cool. The food during our stay was lovely and the breakfast was well thought out - if you wanted cooked, you could do this as an added extra which was fine with us. The band was awesome and a real plus for this resort. Special mention to staff member "TAKA". So helpful, so courteous and went out of his way to make our stay even more memorable. (He deserves "best staff-member" award)

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xanerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saletoga1, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Talofa and thanks (Fa'afetai) , to be compared to some of the most beautiful spots in the world you have visited is amazing , we are so pleased we able to make your stay an enjoyable memory , the review is very informative and will only help us with promoting Saletoga , thanks again and hope to see you back again , Gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

I got married at Saletoga about 2 weeks ago now. We had over 80 guests from all parts of the world. We had such a good time and the resort was so nice. Its location is unreal and you have no choice but to be relaxed. It was a little bit of risk as we had never been to Samoa and knew little about Saletoga besides photos and reviews, however it reached expectations. Some highlights/positives of the experience:
-The staff were so nice and very flexible and accommodating for the week and especially the wedding
-The owners Lou and Gav were very accommodating, professional and do their best to ensure that our stay and wedding went to plan
-The rooms are beautiful and attention to details at the resort is awesome
-The food was of good quality and service was always friendly/smiley and accommodating
- As there were a lot of us there was always something to do. People went snorkelling, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, swam in the pool and in the ocean, played volleyball, board games when it rained and basically chilled out when not doing the above.
-You can basically order food and drinks whenever you want. I'm sure they do shut down at certain times but it didn't seem like that. You were always able to get what you wanted
-The pool is sweet as. Really clean, relaxing and has a good vibe.
-A lot of people hired cars for the day to do day trips. Its easy as. Just go see them, get your license and then you are away.
Basically we were stocked with the week holiday and the wedding and wouldn't take anything back. One day we will definitely return to Samoa and Saletoga.

There are always things that can be improved on and I must make clear that by no means did it make the trip bad or take away from the experience we had. We really did love it but that is what reviews are about, so they can improve in some areas. So here are a couple of opportunities for improvement for Saletoga:
-When sorting the bills at the end of the stay, a lot of people had items on their list that they didn't purchase during the holiday. Saletoga were very accommodating with this and immediately took it off the bill, however there were a lot of discrepancies. Maybe it was just that we had such a big group and it was a little harder to keep track.
-I totally understand Island time and to tell you the truth we love island time. Overall the service was awesome and very fast. I think 1 improvement Saletoga could make it having the cocktail ingredients at the pool bar. When you ordered a cocktail it had to be made at the top bar and it took a bit of time to get to the person. I just think it would benefit the resort if they could make them at the pool.
Other than that it was an epic time.

Room tip: We had the honeymoon suite which was the best room at the resort. Was so nice. I didn't hear any complaints from other people. Only praise
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulfisher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saletoga1, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Talofa , what a great time we had as well with your wedding and stay , our staff were still talking about the wedding long after your departure and rated it as one our very best , Saletoga has had many weddings and now with the opening of our sister resort Saletoga Beach Bungalows and Hotel our option for the bigger weddings and events has improved an amazing venue for the perfect wedding , lusi and Lou along with great staff do an amazing job coordinating the special day and that all goes to plan , thanks for the tips for improvement which we know we need and improve in some area's , it's guests comments that can help us to see these area's were we need to fine tune , we really look forward to seeing you again maybe an anniversary , Manuia Gav&Lou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Staff were lovely, and very accommodating.
The beach is beautiful and I would definitely recommend snorkelling.
One thing is I was completely unprepared for the heat, so the air conditioning is a blessing.
My only complaint would be the food. Breakfast is generally wonderful although I was very surprised to see the orange juice was out of a packet. But I remember for dinner one night I had wedges which were crumbed. Kind of odd.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saletoga1, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Talofa Amelia , thanks for your review , we are pleased you enjoyed the resort facilities , in regards to the restaurant meals we are continually trying to improve our service and menu , breakfast has taken a few changes lately , less sweets and more savory options and in general more selection cooked also plenty of fresh tropical fruits , espresso coffee's and fresh juice and smooth's have always been on our menu and available at breakfast , manuia Gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

We took our 2 daughters (2.5 and 15) on a much need break to Saletoga sands
We arrived late in the evening and Parti was the perfect tour guide keeping us entertained on the long drive to the resort and we were pleasantly surprised to be given sandwiches being that the restaurant was closed at the late hour
Our room was comfortable and air conditioned, with a fantastic outdoor shower
Water bottles provided and replenished daily
Highly recommend at least one day trip while you are at the resort, Tina is a beautiful person and excellent tour guide and we just loved Sili and his caring kind nature especially when it came to assisting with our 2 year old
The pool is lovely and we really enjoyed snorkelling on the beach at the front of the resort, the kids boogie boards with "glass bottom" are a fantastic idea and it meant we all could get into it
I had never had a hot bamboo massage before but it was AMAZING I had a second one I loved it that much
The Fia Fia night was brilliant so wonderful to see all those smiling faces getting into their performances
All the staff at the restaurant and bar were wonderful always friendly and helpful
The restaurant menu is quite good except having to eat all meals there every day did become a little bit tiresome for my husband
He did enjoy his time having a drink in the afternoons with Gavin and the other men at the bar however!
The inclusive breakfast is great however one or 2 extra savoury pastries perhaps would better as there is a lot of overly sweet pastries
The resort is very isolated so don't expect to be able to duck next door to a neighbouring resort to mix things up
In that light it's perfect if your primary objective is complete rest and relaxation
Fa'afetai to everyone at the resort it was a perfect break, I was surprised to be so emotional when all our lovely new friends sang us the goodbye song

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank TheGypsyPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gav-saletoga, Owner at Saletoga Sands Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Talofa , thanks for the glowing review and some good points for improvement , firstly breakfast are back on track now with a few more savories and less sweets , our Samoan chefs surely have a sweet tooth , a way of life here . My wife has been spending a lot of time with our morning crew and have added many new items to the buffet and I have had plenty of sampling and can assure first hand . We have opened the restaurant next door now so guests from Saletoga Sands can enjoy two restaurants and two bars , Saturdays is Kiwi BBQ buffet and it has been very popular with some light entertainment and with many other evening idea's entertainment to come we will offer many choice's for guest's from both resorts and the bonus of just charging back to the room which ever resort you are staying within the Saletoga Group , we have just launched our curry night as well at the resort on Sundays , once the rest of the complex ( Saletoga Beach Bungalows and Hotel ) which opens fully in mid July , will open the restaurant 7 day's a week , presently we are just open the weekends ( fri-sun ) . We have so many extra activities now planed and are very excited looking forward , we will keep everyone posted on our facebook page as it unfolds , Manuia Gav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews