We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fond Bay Suites
Nearby Hotels
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$521
$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$800
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,035
$776
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tet Rouge Resort(La Pointe)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gekko Lodge(Micoud)
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
32
7
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
7
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 41 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at Fond Bay Suites. We chose Fond Bay because we wanted a quiet and relaxing inn and that is exactly what we got.

Fond Bay has a beautiful view of the nearby Banana plantation. We also loved the fresh fruit that we was provided to us at a nominal cost.

We had the opportunity to tour the island via rental car since our daughter had her wedding at the Sandals Grande across the island.

We had some truly fantastic meals at the Fox Grove Inn and Debbie's

I highly recommend Fond Bay Suites if you would like to stay at an Inn that is free from the maddening crowd, with beautiful views and a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fconnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

This place is a real gem, very happy that we chose to stay at the fond bay suites. We toured the whole island, we found that the north and west of the island are really crowded, and not our idea of a relaxing vacation, so we stayed in the south and east end.

Food- There are a number of places to eat in the area
The Fox Grove Inn has a continental breakfast for about $10US/pp including tax and tip you can have bacon cereal or eggs, fresh fruit, juice, and tea or coffee. They also serve dinner.
Janet's was a great place for lunch it was a kiosk with table and chairs. They serve roti for about $2.5US smoked chicken, fish and pork between $2.5 and $4US french fries for about $1.50 and for those of you who just want a hamburger yup they got that too. (try the smoked chicken it's awesome)
There are really a lot of places to list Ross will help you out

Beaches- well although there are not as many beaches as other Islandsin the Caribbean you can still find a tranquill place to lay your towel down. Across from the Hewanorra International Airport in Vieux Fort there is a long stretch of beach there, you can also get a beverage and food at the reef bar. Also if you are into kite boarding you will love this location.
The Fond Bay beach is about a 10min walk from the hotel to get to i'ts nice but not the turquoisewater from the caribbean side,
At Vigie Beach, across the small airport in the north, is nice because it too is empty.
Anse Cochon(Tikaye) has a restaurant there and is good for those of you who want to snorkel right off the beach, that's where Sandals brings there guests for snorkelling.
And of course there is the other "popular beaches, good luck with those i get anxiety when there are 6 people deep on the beach all huddled together like a sardine can, but hey they seemed to love it, who am I to judge?"
This location also has Mamiko gardens, ATV, hiking trails, Waterfall, Zip lining all very close by.
Please remember to rent a car in advance you want to make sure you get one it's very important. It ran us $60/day + $6 tax/day +$22 for a licence.
The exchange rate $1US=$2.7EC dollars.
Well last but not least Ross. As previously mentioned Ross is awesome he will go out of his way to make your stay enjoyable, he will show you where to eat and where to go for awesome tours. He's genuine and a great person. Love ya Mr.Ross,

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovedacaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We spent 2 weeks at Fond Bay and had the time of our life. We couldn't wait to explore the Island so we rented a jeep for 2 days. We knew right away we had picked the best spot. Lots of taxis and private cars were available so we used the taxi service for our rainforest and waterfall adventure.

This place is better than advertised. What an outstanding view! Not only did we get an extremely clean beautiful suite but, we also got an ocean view terrace with chairs and another terrace/grass area with sun loungers and a charcoal barbecue. Beautiful rich tropical flowers were used to section the area and the hummingbirds were constantly present. This was the best place. Everything faces the ocean with very nice cool atlantic breezes. We spent many days just tanning, barbecuing, enjoying the birds, just relaxing and falling asleep to the sound of the waves. We barbecued ripe plantains with chicken - delicious! We also had some delicious creole food (tuna with creole sauce and creamed dasheen) delivered to our suite. Never had dasheen before but it is very delicious! It has the same texture as yams just not as sweet. We also used the maid service to prepare a local "one pot" creole dish in our suite. It was so good - I got the recipe!

It was such a great relaxing time. We talked to the locals around Fond Bay when we go for our evening walk and everyone was just so friendly. They kept asking us if we knew about certain foods and when we said, "no". They would deliver some to Fond Bay for us to try. That's how we got into the ripe plantains. It was such a great experience - I urge everyone if you are looking for a quiet, friendly, affordable place to relax, try this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LornaRideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We spent a week in St. Lucia and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The south part of the island is very scenic and Fond Bay has great view overlooking the sea. Our ocean view room was a pleasant surprise. Neat, clean and larger than most rooms we have ever stayed in.
Nice suite, good value. While the wireless internet is a nice touch, especially for the Caribbean, the free cell phone provided to us came in very handy. We got lost on some a rainforest roads and a quick call back to our "personal attendant" at Fond Bay and we were on our way again! If you are at all adventurous you have to try some of the Creole restaurants. We tried three restaurants and had some remarkable meals at very affordable prices. A couple of them, including one right across the street, required advance notice but it is well worth it. While we don't often vacation at the same place twice we had a great time in St. Lucia and would certainly stay at Fond Bay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wilfyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

My husband and I just returned from St. Lucia after spending 6 nights at Fond Bay Suites. What a beautiful and relaxing atmosphere! Their tropical garden is truly a nature lover's paradise! After spending a week driving around the island, we KNEW there was no other place on the island as comfortable and inviting as Fond Bay Suites - in large part - because our host, Ross, was extremely helpful and hospitable with his informational tips on enjoying the island. He truly made the experience delightful, and we highly recommend this secluded, cozy place if you plan to visit St. Lucia!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LindaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews