We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“GREAT SERVICE & AMBIANCE”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Yellow Cabin

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
26 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gingerland, Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eva P
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE & AMBIANCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was searching online for a car rental company of which I came across strikers car rental in Nevis. After contacting the owners; the lovely lady asked if we had accommodations set already? She then suggested " The Yellow Cabin". The best answer I gave her was YES book it!! We were greeted at the airport on time, a clean rental and a cabin of pure relaxation and all amenities needed. We will surely be back again. Great Service, Quiet Area, High Speed Internet, Hot water and a lovely cabin for your vacation needs. A definite must stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julene H
Howard Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay, Just What We Wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place to spend the week, The Little Yellow Cabin is a wonderful get away after a busy day on the island. Tazel is a sweetheart and had a lot of great hints, contacts, and directions, she really took the time to fill us in on places to visit. Wish I could keep this a secret so no one books it again on my week next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arne H
Newfane, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“100% satisfied with my 12 day stay at Yellow Cabin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

• Yellow Cabin was spotless when I arrived, the rental car was in the driveway and I certainly appreciated the fruit and cold Carib beer in the refrigerator.
• Everything was as advertised with no surprises – quiet, clean, excellent condition and a fantastic bed.
• The cabin is located in the “real Nevis”, not an artificial resort. I found this to be a true asset – the Nevisians are the friendliest of the West Indies. From the surprise delivery of mangos from a neighbor, to a fun spirited debate over who has the best barbecue on the island, to the locals smiling at the white guy trying to get in the hot spring bath (ouch but oh so good) and to the kid on a bike escorting me to the Mt. Lilly Road, I immediately felt at home.
• Tazel, Striker, and Priscilla where EXCELLENT! They were always available when I had a question or needed assistance. From the initial booking to being dropped off at the ferry at the end of my stay, they were the perfect hosts! I left Nevis 100% satisfied with my choice to spend 12 days at the Yellow Cabin!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Staying in the real Nevis and the owners
Liked least: While the kitchen sink is very small, it is usable
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegan F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately we were unable to stay in the Yellow cabin due to a double booking. However the owners were very helpful and arranged alternative accommodation for us to stay in. They also arranged car rental for us and were generally very helpful throughout the whole process.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Tegan,

We appreciate your review. Thank you for being so understanding about the double booking. We are disappointed that you did not get to experience our lovely accommodation but we extend an invitation to come back and do so in the future. We wanted to ensure that you were well taken care of on your stay so I am happy that you appreciated the effort we made. I hope you had a wonderful vacation and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul r
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just as good as we hoped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Yellow Cabin with my wife in February 2014. The photos looked great and I can honestly say that the cabin is as good as it looks. You should be aware that it is not in walking distance from the sea, indeed it is out in the bush on the slopes of mount Nevis and you definitely need a hire car. Good hire car deal from Striker's who also own the yellow cabin. The nearest house is three or four hundred yards away. Semi wild donkeys roam about, along with humming birds, green vevert monkeys, and a very friendly Caribbean Robin who spent most of the day pecking his image in the wing mirror of our hire car!
Tezel looked after us really well - for example I asked about a barbecue and a few hours later a new one magically appeared. The internet connection was quicker than we encountered in any hotel in the Caribbean.
Very positive report on the Botanical Gardens and the Horatio Nelson museum which I will review separately.
If you are looking for somewhere special which is clean and remote you cannot improve on the yellow cabin!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Secluded paradise
Liked least: no real problems. The access track was very rough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Paul,

Thank you for such a beautiful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we loved having both of you. As with all guests we try to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable and go the extra mile to ensure we make it a memorable one.

Thank you for the lovely drawing of the Yellow Cabin. It is absolutely beautiful! We are delighted that you were inspired to do draw it and we have gladly framed and displayed it there for everyone to see.

Looking forward to you visiting us again. All the Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvanique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were a bit reserved booking a cabin away from the beach (as the beach is top of the list on a Caribbean holiday). However this was the best decision of our holiday. The little yellow cabin is just what it says on the tin. It is nestled in a quiet village in the tranquil island of Nevis and is the perfect place for a relaxing and refreshing holiday.

The cabin in fully furnished with all the amenities you would expect in an top hotel. Fresh fruits greeted us on our arrival along with a fridge stocked with Carib the local beer and water.

Although located away from the beach, in Nevis beaches are never more than a short drive. And with the discount on a vehicle with the cabin rental we were ready to explore the rest of the island.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The service, The authentic carribbean feeling of the cabin
Liked least: that we evntually had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great place for a very good price. I highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Yellow Cabin is comfortable, clean accommodation and modestly priced. We would definitely stay there again!!

The owners were very attentive to our needs. We got in late had to take the last ferry over from St. Kitts, we were met by Tazel at the port taken to the cabin (I don't think we would have found it in the dark). Our rental car was at the cabin. They had stocked fridge with bottled water, fruits and coffee/tea (which was great; need my coffee in the mornings). Thank you Tazel. :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Mary,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Yellow Cabin. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing