We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Charlie's Cafe

Charlie's Cafe
Ranked #68 of 168 Restaurants in Citrus Heights
Cuisines: Cafe, Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Citrus Heights, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very good food and large portions. Excellent service. Very family oriented, a cute diner with a medium sized menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blramsdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you want a good, hearty breakfast...try Charlie's!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

OK, it's not the buffet at The Fairmont, but it's a great breakfast. Yes, the staff is overly friendly (is that such a bad thing these days?); but the food is everything you want in a "hearty" breakfast place. Don't be afraid to share that omelet...there's easily enough for two! We liked this little neighborhood joint so much on our recent visit to the area that we returned to eat there a few more times. It's that satisfying and consistent! Be warned, though, if you like to eat at a diner counter, they do not have one. Plenty of parking to go with those friendly staff members!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Breakfast”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you are in Citrus Heights area there is no better place to get breakfast. I have visited here over 20 times in the last year and every time I had great food. I love their omellets Charlies Special is my fav. French toast is also great. Get the country potatoes yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonfly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sorry Charlie”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We tried Charlie’s based on reviews we’ve read and the parking lot which is usually over half full when we drive by. Unfortunately the reviews usually reference the large portions and not the quality or taste of the food.

We had breakfast there on a Sunday and we left very disappointed. Service is good but their coffee was bad, the scrambled eggs were rubbery and tasted like they had been cooked in rancid oil. The hash browns that came with the scrambled eggs did not get cooked enough to develop the crispy exterior that good hash browns have. This meal also came with a biscuit that was undercooked. Another disappointment was the home made sausage patty. Their sausage seasoning mix is very good but the patty was so salty I couldn’t eat it. We should have brought these issues to the attention of our waitress but we both started feeling ill and just wanted to get out of there. We will never return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offandupout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood joint.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The usual breakfast choices on the heavy side, with typical coffee shop service, "Hi Hon, what can I get you?" I think all the waitresses could be called Madge.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing