We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, nothing too fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Decent, nothing too fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Location close to the trolley station and food stores nearby was great, but if you want to get around downtown San Diego you're probably better off staying closer to town, even if it costs a little more. Hotel is in decent condition, neighbourhood isn't the best but I never felt threatened.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeandstirfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    82
    98
    91
    88
See reviews for
158
101
50
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Days Inn Chula Vista-nastiest place to stay. I'll start off with the bathtub, while taking a shower I didn't know where to shower or sit down to take a bath because the tub filled up when we told the front desk they had the audacity to ask if had the stopper was close, uh no. secondly the toilet bowl wouldn't refill so the toilet ran most of the night we finally had to take the top off and hold the stopper so it would fill. thirdly this is by far the worst My husband and I are very clean people and we clean up our mess wherever we stay so we stripped the beds to give housekeeping less work to do. However I think we did too much because when we pulled the top sheet off of the bed we were surprised by large stains on the bottom sheet instantly got upset so we stripped the bed my grandfather was sleeping in and the same thing totally disgusted. I went to front desk and demanded to speak to the manager and I was told that he wouldnt be in until after 3 and there was nothing they could do about it and they would have the manager call me(still waiting on that call). Pictures will be added for proof. We were only provided 1 bath towel for a room with people in it so we called the front desk to ask for more and we were told they didnt have anymore. REALLY!!!??. and the second room smelled like there was mold in it. Lastly went to go sit in the jacuzzi to find dirt and sand at the bottom. this place is so unsanitary. I would never recommend this place for anyone, i would suggest pay the extra cash to stay elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed here many many times and I have to say it is our favorite place as a family. The waffles are great too. Anytime I have had a problem the staff was quick and caring making it right. Will definitely go back in the future. The décor is great (we were going before renovation and have returned many times since).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilIndianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My room had a leaky bathroom ceiling. When I complained to the front desk, I was told that room on the top floor was occupied, and most probably they might be using their bathroom. What a nice justification for the leak. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the room before you check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senthil Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay

Property: Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Address: 699 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Location off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center,San Diego Airport,San diego Zoo,Sea World,Beaches and Downtown San Diego Room with free continental breakfast, -free Wi-Fi, --refrigerator and microwave In Room Bathroom -Bath Tub -Bathroom - Private -Oversized Bath Tub -Local Telephone Calls (Free) -Adjoining Rooms -Air Conditioning -Alarm Clock -Connecting Room -Desk -Ergonomic Chair -Heating/Cooling - Self-Controlled -Newspaper - Complimentary -Non-Smoking Room -Pillows - Foam-Coffee/Tea Maker -Cups-Free High Speed Internet Access -TV - Cable/Satellite -TV - HDTV -Pool-Hot Spa-Meeting Room-Fitnesh Center-Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego/South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Days Inn
Days Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing