We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel room without place to hang clothes or put the soap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed March 7, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PARESH P, Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 552 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Robert, was very friendly and most importantly great to work with on a budget. first, this hotel could seem a bit sketchy. I just spent 9 nights here and can truly say it is a great deal. Clean rooms, and amazing house keeping. Breakfast and free wi-fi made this a very worth while place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandagonzalez_910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARESH P, Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We would like to genuinely thank you for your kind words. We’re delighted to know that you enjoyed our amenities and cleanness.Our staff will definitely always go above and beyond to make your experience with us, magnificent! As you mentioned, our prices are very reasonable, best quality for best price. Can’t beat that! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

For $70/ Night in peak season I don't think you will get better than this.

The rooms are clean, cozy and quiet. Location is bad I admit, its too far from popular beaches and downtown. Staff is very friendly, and free donuts and coffee every morning in the lobby. However get up before 8:00 am or you'll miss out. But if you like to sleep in, no worries there is a Taco Bell and Denny's across the street.

Rooms where a little on the small side, but it was expected. Pool and Spa are nice, however spa was full of sand, it had perhaps a 2" layer of sand at the bottom. I'm not sure if its best for a family, as the area seems a little rough, and the roads are busy.

All in all a great place to stay if your bargain hunting wasn't very fortunate that season.

Room Tip: Choose rooms opposite of the pool/ freeway, they are quieter. However rooms towards the pool are bri...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArteomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARESH P, Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased to hear about your experience at our hotel. Our friendly staff always makes sure to provide exceptional customer service, with hopes to make you feel right at home, and we’re glad you did!
I am sorry that you experienced different setbacks. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention to further correct this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PARESH P, Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

i actually work at a days inn in hawaii & i came to san diego for vacation with my dad & sister, we only stayed for 2 nights & i chose this location because it was only a few minutes away from san diego zoo, which is why we were in san diego (drove from las vegas) & the rooms were big, the beds were comfy, the tv wasnt fuzzy at all, continental breakfast was so good!!! loved the waffles! but everyone wanted the waffles so the line was pretty long :P the area its in was a little scary to me just because being from hawaii, where its very relaxed dont have to worry about any violence really, & this place looked a little on the ghetto side. but it wasnt too bad :) i loved how we were close to alot of restaurants, STARBUCKS :) & a mall wasnt too far away. so overall, i enjoyed my 2 nights, with a rate of $40 a night(being a days inn employee) i cant complain at all!

Room Tip: i think my room was 141? was a good room, im usually a upstairs person, but we had no complaints. ba...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARESH P, General Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so pleased to hear about your experience at our hotel. Our friendly staff always makes sure to provide exceptional customer service, with hopes to make you feel right at home, and we’re glad you did!
Glad to know you enjoyed our breakfast, as you mentioned we offer good varieties to choose from, so that each guest is pleased, including OUR WAFFLE MACHINES!!!!
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Pluses: hard to beat the price at $50/night. More than that, I'd reconsider. Personally, I won't return for reasons mentioned below. Nicely decorated (just don't look too closely at colors and patterns). Friendly staff.

I stayed in the handicap accessible room (#141), which I'd guess has recently been renovated, based on other reviews. A queen sized bed nearly filled the room with barely sufficient room to move around in a wheel chair. It has NO where to put clothing .. no closet, no drawers. There's a large (empty: no draws, no shelves, no hooks) cabinet holding the non-flatscreen TV (hint to management: change this to a narrow cabinet, get a flatscreen and a wheelchair would much more easily navigate the room); one hook on the back of the bathroom door. I resorted to hanging my sweater and coat on the ironing board, next to the TV (no iron, though), and pulling things as I needed/wanted them from my bag .. and then stashing the bag somewhere, since the only real surface was the bed. (Second tip: get some advice from a good decorator for ADA rooms... this one is abominable.)

I work as a live-in caregiver and often take 2 or 3 days at a hotel, just to get away and play on my computer, read and watch some TV/movies. The hotel advertises free wireless internet. They should specify that it's really only available in the pool area or lobby, as reception in the room was worse than any dial-up I've ever used. After a number of phone calls to the front desk and attempts by them to restart routers, I finally gave up. I mean, really .. most of the time the connection was so bad, I couldn't even get authenticated on their server and access email. I promise I'm not being prissy and demanding, and expecting to play 3D combat games or watch streaming movies.

Their marquee advertises 80+ channels and 5 HBO stations. Really? Channel numbers ranged from 4 to 80 .. at least 10 of those were blocked, either because they don't have a digital receiver or they're not subscribed. And I found no HBO channels, whatsoever.

Cleanliness ...Bathroom: I'm not a germaphobe, but the tiling had me seriously concerned: the floor was not sealed, at all (and while this may have provided a relatively safer surface on which to walk, there is no way they could clean that floor with any certainty), and the wall tiles weren't caulked. Can we say lots of hiding places for all that mold and bacteria? Handprints on the insides of the doors, and a stain on the seat of the one chair (looked very much like a menstrual stains... yuck).

I mentioned all my complaints, throughout my stay and at check out. The standard response was: I'll tell the manager. Hmmm .. we'll see.

Room Tip: East side rooms were pretty quiet; but no internet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARESH P, General Manager at Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time off your busy schedule to write this review. It is with deep regret to hear that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one. Our staff is dedicated in keeping up our quality standards of each room to ensure satisfaction is being met by all guests.Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention to further correct this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

At first I was unhappy with our room which faced E St. There was some traffic noise but not as bad as I feared. Ask for a room along the sides. The hotel is old and the furniture was banged and nicked but we found it clean. The tub was in dire need of replacing...porcelain chipped. It looked like the room had recently been painted. Found the bed comfortable and to our liking. We liked the continental breakfast which included the freshest sweet rolls. However if you want anything go early..they run out quickly. And slow to refill anything or to clean the tables. The breakfast room was the dirtiest place I saw. If the rate was good I would probably stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gramma-of-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#12 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay

Address: 699 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range: $53 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Location off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center,San Diego Airport,San diego Zoo,Sea World,Beaches and Downtown San Diego Room with free continental breakfast, -free Wi-Fi, --refrigerator and microwave In Room Bathroom -Bath Tub -Bathroom - Private -Oversized Bath Tub -Local Telephone Calls (Free) -Adjoining Rooms -Air Conditioning -Alarm Clock -Connecting Room -Desk -Ergonomic Chair -Heating/Cooling - Self-Controlled -Newspaper - Complimentary -Non-Smoking Room -Pillows - Foam-Coffee/Tea Maker -Cups-Free High Speed Internet Access -TV - Cable/Satellite -TV - HDTV -Pool-Hot Spa-Meeting Room-Fitnesh Center-Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego/South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Days Inn
Days Inn Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing