We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience,nice rooms with beautiful decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience,nice rooms with beautiful decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Great service, nice rooms if you choose your room other side of the freeway otherwise it will be noisy. Morning breakfast was superb; location is just O.K.The guy at the front desk named Rene was so humble and cooperative. Free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crest92501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Rene will also be happy to hear that you liked his service. Thank you so much for writing about your experience. We hope you visit us again.

Regards.

Victor M Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
66
33
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are relatively nice for the price. We paid $79.20usd; a night, for a king bed. The bathroom are small and I don't mean hotel small. The neighborhood a 3 on the 1-5 sketchy meter. (5 being a seedy prostitution motel in a run down part of town) It isn't well lit in the parking areas. They haven't the slightest concept of security. I asked for a key to my room, I explained that my husband checked in the night before and the front desk agent merely made the key. He didn't ask for my I.d., credit card or even my name. They do have a fitness center but 4 of 7 machines don't work properly. Will most likely spend my a porrion of my meal allotment to get a better hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Akilah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make everyone's stay memorable. We hope you can give us another oportunity so we can change your perception. If some of our lighting did not work during your stay we can asure you it has been fixed. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chula Vista hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I was kind of worried at first when I actually decided to stay here based on the lower reasonable price. Most of the time you get not such a clean room or not so great location but surprisingly it was quite the opposite.
It is also in a pretty good location. It's not that far from the city of your driving in and only a few feet from the E Street trolley stop.
There are quite a few business and good places within walking distance.
The only real negative comment would be it's got the typical Best Western basic breakfast (cereal, boiled eggs, make your own waffle, etc) but can't complain too much based on the price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DestinyStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was great to have you as our guest. We truly appreciate the comments and our staff is grateful to have the opportunity to serve you. We have recently added more items to our breakfast. We now introduced chilaquiles and beans plus our regular items that include scrambled eggs, sausage, rice & miso soup, pastries, beagles, yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, toast, etc. We hope you give us another opportunity and come enjoy our breakfast, hopefully you will have a better experience in the breakfast room. Thank you for your praises. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Best Western in Chula Vista and found the room very nice with a bar fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We asked for a room away from the freeway and we could not hear it. They provide a nice complimentary breakfast each morning. The exercise room kept us on our routine.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nazsnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. thank you for your comments. We hope you visit us again soon. I am glad you enjoyed our fitness room.

on behalf of all of us here at Best Western Plus
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichiganUSA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff here were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to ensure guests were comfortable. The room was nicely arranged (king), clean and very comfortable. I especially liked the comfortable bed which was firm enough for me but soft enough for my husband. The pool and pool area were very nice and clean and right off the breakfast room so guests could have breakfast at a table by the pool. The full breakfast was delicious with waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, along with the usual continental items. There was cooked rice available for breakfast at least one day. Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway. The exercise room had good equipment in good repair and was open early to late. There was an elliptical, two treadmills and a bike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonerAug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay. Everyone in our staff will be happy to learn about your comments. We hope you visit us soon and we are looking forward to providing the same excellent service that you experienced during your stay.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Came here to get away from Los Angeles . It is 3 stories with stairs and an elevator . Room was quite large , and modern . Just west of interstate 805 . And a few minutes north of Tijuana . Noticed a fitness room , next to a gas station , which worked for me . And also if you need snacks or something to drink . Grounds were decent , rooms clean and parking was average . Cannot comment on anything that would set this apart from any other hotel . Continental breakfast was average . I would go back again .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunky-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again at our hotel. Spring is a great time to visit San Diego and Chula Vista has a lot to offer. Again, Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Victor M Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Everything was very much ok, except for the housekeeping. The ladies like to skip your room if they see the do not disturb on the door at any time, like in the morning. Then they never come back and claim the sign was on the door all day. Hopefully just one bad employee and not all. I would stay again and did I notify the manager, although he seemed to question if I had removed the do not disturb sign or not (100% I did!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from freeway (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberthil88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments and for remaining a loyal customer even when you experience deficiencies in our service. Every day we strive to provide exceptional service and it is only through your eyes that we can see where we can improve and for that we thank you. We hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity.

Thank you,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#112 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Address: 4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing