We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, very up to date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
coarsegold, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, very up to date”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A nice clean place to stay that has been updated and is modernized inside. Decent complimentary breakfast. Maid cleaned well, but didn't restock supplies much. Wouldn't stop me from staying there again. One of the better Best Western's I have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure housekeeping hears your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    87
    42
    27
    20
See reviews for
85
47
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The bed was comfortable and everything was in working order. Price was reasonable for the season and even though it is located next to a freeway, you couldn't hear the traffic. Good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. Your words are encuraging to our staff. We are glad to learn that you had a great stay. We hope to see you again at the hotel in your next visit to Chula Vista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the closest location to the Sleep Train Ampitheatre, but not worth the hassle. I had called and asked to check in early, and was told a specific time to be there. Once I arrived, I was told that no rooms were available until check in time, but I named the employee that had told me I could check in early. I had driven 2 1/2 hours, but had to wait an additional hour plus to get a room.
The room was ok, but we did have to wait for towels, and then call because they were not delivered. We were on the freeway side and it was very loud. I had booked this hotel because I had two teenagers going to a concert at the Ampitheatre. I checked them in early and found that I could not get back to the hotel, because the police had blocked access from the main road. I was directed onto the freeway, going away from the hotel and had to get off at the next exit and figure out how to get back via streets. It took an additional 20 minutes. I could have done better by using my points at a hotel a little farther away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments.
We apologize for not being able to check you in earlier than the check in time. We normally don't have a problem doing so but this was the most important concert of the season and with so many people trying to check in it was hard to achieve everyone's requests.
We normally have all rooms ready by check in time and we make sure the rooms are to your expectations. As you say, even getting back to the hotel was a struggle. We hope you can give us another opportunity and you will not be disappointed. For us customer service is a priority.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First we arrived on schedule and rooms weren't ready. Then we got to our rooms and there weren't towels. Then we woke up to the fire alarm going off at 5 A.M. When we called the front desk to see if e needed to leave or what to do, there was no answer. We left for the day, came back at 4 P.M. and our room wasn't clean. I called the front desk and they let me know that I had to request a cleaning. I guess at this hotel they won't clean it without a request. Very Strange! I think it would have been nice for them to at least let us know. The event that has really made me upset is that our toilet clogged and the front desk alerted me after three calls and over two hours that they didn't have a plunger. Then an employee showed up to our room with a bag over her hand and a large cup. This is not a joke, this really happened. After two tries and toilet water all over our floor, she managed to unclog the toilet.

The gentleman at the front desk offered us a small discount off of our room. Just doesn't make up for our stay. Very disappointing.

The rooms have been updated and are somewhat clean, just hope you don't have any issues. I bet the owner has no idea what goes on at this hotel. As a business owner myself, I would be mortified.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jami,

We are extremely sorry for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide every guest with superior service, but very rarely we have issues like yours. We sincerely apologize for causing so many inconveniences. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chula Vista hotels

Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a nice hotel with real value for money especially in a touristy place. The hotel was overall neat and clean with nice rooms. The continental breakfast was sufficient enough to refuel us before a busy day around the beaches....

Room Tip: I think the second floor rooms could be a little less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tina,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Please consider staying with us again on your next trip to San Diego. We look forward to your visit.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When "every" hotel and resort in La Jolla and San Diego was either sold out or demanding $350-550 per night (not much of an exaggeration)--to find a nice, well-run place for $109 a night was amazing. We are very thankful. The surroundings are not great--just a gas station and convenience store off the highway--but the place was clean, well-run, pleasant enough--and a lot cheaper than$550! It gave us what we needed. Furthermore, the route to Coronado via Rte 75 was pleasanter ,and perhaps as fast, as to go by the highway through the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Herb559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are excited to learn that we exceeded your expectations. We hope that on your next trip to San Diego you give us an opportunity to provide you with excellent service.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Best Western in Chula Vista was easily accessible to all freeways, it was only 12 minutes from downtown San Diego and the room was very nice for the price and location. I was impressed with the quality. Cable tv cuts in and out so don't plan on trying to watch any TV. The lobby staff were excellent, absolutely superb! The maid service was inconsistent, I imagine this is probably the busiest weekend of the year for the staff though so don't entirely blame them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
3.1 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
326 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
2.8 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#117 of 278 in San Diego
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel

Property: Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel
Address: 4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chula Vista/Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing