We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and convenient hotel for seeing San Diego” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Affordable and convenient hotel for seeing San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting San DIego. At first I was disappointed to see how close to the motorway the hotel was located and thought the location looked un attractive. It would not entice you to spend a lot of time there and the pool is located right next to the motorway. However, we were there to see the city so spending time at the hotel wasn't an issue for us. Rosa very kindly got us a room that didn't face on to the noisy road and it proved to be quiet at night time. This is a motel type building and we had a room on the second floor. Our room was fine and had fairly new carpet. It had a walk-in shower that proved to be very good. The WIFI was painfully slow and I gave up n it at times. Breakfast was good and had sausage, bacon and eggs. The breakfast area was busy but civilised and there were good tables provided too. Chula Vista, though about 11 miles south of San Diego was a good location for seeing the city. The motorway took you to Oldtown, Navy Pier, Gaslamp Quarter and Corona in a few minutes. Bilbao Park and Mission Beach were not that much further. Of course the same motorway was hectic and just as manic as the ones in L.A.....good concentration required especially for us Europeans from two lane motorways!
This hotel suited our needs and with free parking was a lot cheaper than those that are nearer to the city. We had a good stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMRCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Rosa is great. I am glad you liked the hotel and that Rosa was able to accomodate you in a room away from the motorway. I apologize for the slow internet we'll make sure this does not happen again. But most of all, thank you for taking the time to speak about our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope you visit us again.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    39
    21
    15
See reviews for
75
39
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The room was good, service is nice, location is quite convenient if you're driving around. Bathroom had everything you need and a funny bonus - a manual on the door instructing you not to open the door (of the room) before looking who is there and "if someone claims to be room service, please contact reception to verify if we really sent anyone". This manual made me thinking about crime situation in the area, but we never faced with anything bad like that during our stay there. Everything was nice and smooth.

Room Tip: Corner room has windows looking not to the stairs/walking area, but just out from the wall that nobo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know we met your expectations, and yes, corner rooms have a better view. We hope we can provide great service again when you visit the area.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was in San Diego for a conference but could not afford to stay at the more expensive hotels in the city. I chose to stay in Chula Vista as I have stayed in the area before and always had a pleasant experience. After reading many reviews I chose to go with this hotel. I am so glad I did as the reviews are right! This hotel offers updated rooms which are very comfortable and have all the amenities needed (i.e. refrigerator, coffee maker, ironing board, microwave, etc.) It's also a quick drive to the city and all of the local tourist attractions. The staff are super helpful and very friendly. They made my stay very enjoyable. I will definitely choose this hotel for all future stays in San Diego!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_W_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment. Our staff is really happy to learn you enjoyed your stay and that you feel great about the customer service. Please come and stay with us again. We all hope to see you soon in Chula Vista.

Best Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was large, nicely decorated, with exceptionally comfortable pillow-topped beds,and super nice for the price you are paying
My family and I enjoyed the pool and spa as well the business center.
The refrigerator and microwave are ways an added bonus for extended stays
The staff is Great Specially Rosa, And the Hotel Manager Victor, Super !! Ready to help in any way with a smile.
Mauricio S

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed our services and that you had a great time with your family. Thank you for your comments about the staff and mentioning me. Althogh the conversation was short I enjoyed speaking with you. We hope to see you again in the future when traveling to Chula Vista.

Again, Thank you.

Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I wanted a hotel to collapse into and get a good night of sleep in the Chula Vista region. I was helping run a youth camp in Ensenada. I knew I would arrive extremely late. Using Hotwire I found this and booked. The room was large, nicely decorated, with exceptionally comfortable pillow-topped beds. This property has been nicely upgraded. In the morning I found the breakfast was well above average for this type of unit. All was hot, plentiful, and fresh.

I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gclat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for your comments. I will make sure that our staff reads this. They will be delighted to know that you had a great stay. Please stay with us again in your next trip to Ensenada, hopefully the border wait will not be as bad on your next trip.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The staff was fantastic; Rosa, Maria, Chaelsea, and the manager guy were great. We stayed for 2.5 Weeks. The rooms were surprisingly very nice with upgraded linens, lots of pillows and comfortable beds. The refrigerator and microwave are ways an added bonus for extended stays. My family and I enjoyed the pool and spa as well the business center. I had a lot of court documents to print off and they were ever so gracious in printing my numerous pages with a smile! Chaelsea was helpful in more ways than one.
Every request was answered promptly and accurately. Thank you staff for being so kind and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are all really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff remembers you well. I am glad our business center was so useful for you. We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

never made it up in time for breakfast ,, we were too hung over but the hotel is pretty cool, the rooms are huge and super nice for the price you are paying.. the pool was clean and comfortable nice little get away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are delighted to hear your comments. I which you would have had our breakfast, you would have loved it. We hope to see you again.

Thanks for your comments.
Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
3.1 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#10 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#126 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Address: 4450 Main St, Chula Vista, CA 91911-6508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing