We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“TASTY!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana

Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana
Ranked #3 of 423 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TASTY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Tacos El Gordo prepares tacos that taste EXACTLY like TJ tacos! They are juicy, flavorful and DELICIOUS! This location offers a drive-thru and I have never seen the restaurant empty. The tacos are small, so one or two might not do. My ONLY complaint is the price. Tacos El Gordo has steadily raised their prices and that's why I don't eat here as often. Any more than $1 per taco is overpriced in my book, particularly because of the size. Two people dining here can EASILY run $20 or more. Other than that, the taste and quality of the food is great!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesOfJuneBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best tacos in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

By far the best tacos I' ve enjoyed during 62 years of living in California! Besure and try the the adobada tacos. The carne asada is tasty as well. Tacos El Gordo has a shop in Tiujana, but this north of the border resturant is reason enough to stay home in the USA.

Helpful?
Thank Nadorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Street Tacos this side of the border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

obviously the tacos won't be as perfect and delish as they are in TJ, but then we aren't in TJ. The tacos are yummy and my husband and I always order four (at least) each. He likes the carne asade with chorizo and i get two tacos de suadero and two tostada's de suadero, plus i get 4 plain tostadas (or burnt tortillas as I like to call them) to use with the meat that falls out of the tacos. You can have real guacamole, or the americanized kind made with sour cream. It's always under $20 including two drinks. We go at least once a week.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veronica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Don't go here expecting a platter of rice and beans with your tacos. Think of street tacos in Mexico. Being our first time here, we tried several different kinds but our favorites were the Cabeza ( beef head ), tongue and the pork adovada. They are so good, and at $2 each, it's hard to say no to another and another and another. This will be a regular stop for us while we are here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyWesternStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Zomg *drool*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The tacos are to die for!! Pork adobada = Tasty bits of heaven. Order from the counter, staff is friendly. Watching your taco made is fun. And FOUNTAIN PINIA COLADA!!
This place is a great treat.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jellybeanninjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana also viewed

 

Been to Tacos El Gordo De Tijuana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing