We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE STAY!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Chula Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE STAY!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place was so philthy and on top of that the hot water does not work!! They must have an electrical problem because the lights kept turning off. Also the ront desk lady "Melissa" was very rude. Do your self a favor and pass on this one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJazaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank your for bringing this to our attention, We are taking this info very seriously and will handle it accordingly. We are sorry your trip was not what you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    6
    3
    12
See reviews for
13
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Run away!! This hotel is super ghetto. The area is awful. Directly behind the hotel is a run down sketchy trailer park with barb wire fencing that run right up to the stairs of the hotel. There were police lights every night across the street. Homeless people and crackheads galore. The rooms are dirty and old. The furniture is chipped and stained. Bathroom grout is stained and nasty. Bathtub is chipped and dirty. The breakfast is a muffin and that's it! No cereal no fruit. This is one of Hotwire.com's 2 star hotels. If you see a 2 star hotel in Chula Vista on Hotwire.com DON"T BOOK!!!! This hotel makes The Roadway Inn or Motel 6 seem like 5 star hotels. I'm not just an upset customer I'm honestly trying to warn people from experience.

Room Tip: My tip for choosing a good room is run away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Since this review (almost a year and a half ago) we have new managers and the neighborhood is better and we have renovated our property and our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Found exposed electrical wire in the grass outside my room. Was part of the landscape lighting but was not covered. Exposed wires wet from the sprinklers were black and chard from electrical discharge.Notified the manger next mourning but he didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for the info. This was over a year ago and all issues were fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff is okay. The room has all your basic needs and they clean it every day. A big plus is they offer free WIFI. it's fairly close to the trolley station though there are several hotels in the area that are even closer. they only have one electrical outlet in the room though, and i kind of needed more. also, the fridge started making noise in the middle of the night, very distracting, but it's in the bathroom, so i closed the bathroom door and that helped a bit. they do have a nice air conditioner in there as well so that's also a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YEthanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your coments, we have renovated this hotel and have new employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stay here a lot because of many different reasons. The staff are very nice and the rooms are clean, heater and air con works and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: I like being on the 143 144 side. It's quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you, although this review is very old we have upgraded this hotel and appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel was one of our stops during a road trip. We really just needed a place to crash for a night so didn't need a palace.

It was cheap and looked OK on the website. Location was convenient - close to the highway- as we needed to hit the road early in the morning, but the area itself is not great. The swimming pool is in the middle of the parking lot.

Check in was fast, and everything looked OK from the outside, but then...
Room smelled terrible, and had clearly not been cleaned, the floors were filthy.
At night we walked out to get some dinner around; as we returned, we had a view over drunk people urinating in the parking lot; then a car entered the parking, with the driver offering drugs. Didn't feel safe at all.

The beds are OK, if you manage to forget about the smell in the room.

In the morning, we wanted to get some breakfast: no coffee left, the girl at front desk only gave us the "what am I gonna do about it" look. The few pastries looked terrible, so we didn't even try to have one.
Not even a "was everything OK" or a "thank you" as we checked out.

Will not be back, and can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
This hotel has been renovated and upgraded in many ways, everything from beds to linen and TV's etc. Please come and check us out again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

well we booked this due to free continental breakfast... upon arrival we were told there would be pastries between 7am-9:30am.. we were at reception at 9am nothing left.... no breaky for us on either day... bad bad service and poorly advertised....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjcontours68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for the review this hotel has been changed and renovated. and it is very different now. Please come back thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Chula Vista

Property: Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Address: 230 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Vagabond Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Vagabond Hotel Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing