We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the bad hotel cliches you ever heard , they are all here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the bad hotel cliches you ever heard , they are all here!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in all sorts of hotels from high end five star to creepy, sketchy off the highway motels. Okay, so that's that. All of those past times, I accepted what I paid for and moved on. Now this place wow....trash on the stairwell, people just hanging out shirtless at 1130pm, just too much going on and nothing appealing ...so my friend and my mom and I try to hurry into the room...and the door didn't even open until my friend had to push and kick it open. We walk in not expecting much but when we turn out the lights , the reality was more disgusting than we could have imagined. We were staying for 2 nights but by the time we scoped the room out and got settled I wanted to ditch right then .
Oh the discoveries made....really dirty couch , a trash can with previous guest's garbage ( gross!!!!!!), comforter looked unwashed and it was sticky from spilled soda and there was a dark stain. The smell in the room is so musky and dusty, even the bedding reeks of it .i didn't even want to see the kitchen . Old , rusty appliances and the bed bugs and the smell in here is sticking to me. Then of course the tub is a safety hazard with no foot grip and is so slippery and toilet is stained and rusty ( and small!!?) and doesn't flush well.
So what did I do on the first hour here ? My friend and I quickly re did our weekend trip and booked a hotel in LA and decided to change the course of this trip completely.

And we decided for the Rip Off price of 168.00 for 2 nights, I will take the hit for 2nd night and go farrrrr away from
here...I will pretend this was a really bad gambling experience and ditch the second night.
Sorry San Diego !


*****- I have never written a review before for a hotel and I really had to for this ... Also, I have never ditched a hotel after paying for it- so just imagine how bad it really is here .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    52
    47
    33
    74
See reviews for
98
46
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading the many negative reviews, we were initially a bit nervous to stay at this hotel. However, our week long stay while visiting San Diego was very enjoyable. First off, it is important to keep in mind the low price of this hotel. Yes it is old and not in a very central neighbourhood, but it boast great value and is located near many good restaurants and within walking distance of the trolley station where you can be downtown in 20 minutes. The room was very clean and renovated. Also, it was equipped with a full kitchen, a separate bedroom, a living room and an office area. This came as a big surprise as the price was so reasonable. The hotel had 24 hour security and each staff member was both helpful and accommodating. There was also complimentary pastries and beverages supplied in the morning which was another highlight. The cleaning staff did an excellent job at cleaning are room and restocking our toiletries everyday without interfering with our schedules. Overall, as students visiting San Diego for Spring Break, we were quite impressed with the services offered by this hotel at such a low cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was happy I was able to get a room during one of the most crowded events for San Diego (ComicCon) but was truly apprehensive to stay based on the previous reviews here. But, I decided to chance it and be objective based on my own experience. Having said that, I have to say that it's not really worth the savings or the peace of mind for me as a lone business traveler. Ideally, I would not like to see part of the door lock cover on the ground before I even try to step into the room. I also don't expect cigarette burns on the carpet and floor even though it was a smoking room. Then there shouldn't be rust spots in the bathroom or the possibility of me falling through the floor of the bathtub while I'm taking a shower. I could mention that the towels were so old they felt like sandpaper on my skin and the bedcover was just as crispy old as the towels. Although the bed was soft but firm, the sheets were noticeably old with holes. The overall decor is dated probably can say from the late 70's-early 80's. The neighborhood was kinda iffy in that is it right next to the trolley station. It is a major convenience for someone who needs to be in the downtown area easily, so that would be the only plus-side to this hotel. My overall recommendation would be to avoid this hotel if possible. The savings was not worth the amenities provided in the condition it was in. Unfortunately I did not take photos for fear of breaking my lens from bad images.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, pick a room upstairs if you don't mind climbing stairs or atleast insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iNDY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

dont do it- partyheads at 2am, plastic on windows, roaches keep you company... all this to save a few bucks- Not even! this is a bad place you will regret. stinks. dirty showers nasty floor makes the hotel 8 look like the conrad hilton!

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsteiner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We decided on a whim to stay another night in San Diego so we looked up the closest place; we found this one & since we were getting low on cash booked here. First, the pool has a sign that says anyone who's had diarrhea in the last 14 hrs can't be in the pool. We got into our room and it was just nasty. I'm not sure where the pictures they have posted are coming from, but they look like a totally different hotel. Cigarette burns everywhere, even on the tub; the wall behind the toilet was horribly patched, nothing looked like it had been washed except for the towels. We didn't see any roaches so we just dropped our stuff & left. When we came back at midnight, we checked out the mattress & found evidence of bed bugs. Not wanting to bring them home with us, we left & were told that we'd have to call the manager Cheryl in the AM to see about getting a refund. The clerk didn't deny the bedbugs or even ask what we had found that would make us think that. Of course, Cheryl completely refused to give us a refund and denied they had a problem. When we told her we had pictures she screamed at us telling us "No refund!" and hung up on us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sublme437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Horrible accommodations! Infested with bed bugs and cockroaches! Owner and management staff were less than accommodating! Will NEVER return or recommend to anyone!!! Worst stay ever! This place is dirty and we would have been better and cleaner staying in our car, or even in an alley! brings a ahole new meanig to a run down roach motel! The traveler inn & suites in san diego makes Motel 6 look like the Ritz! The owner and management were very rude and less than accommodating. The would not even let us have 2 additional pillows!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellylynn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

There isn't any spa and the pool isn't heated. The place is so nasty nothing like the website indicates. I went into rm 219 where the sheets were dirty and all wrinkled like they didn't even change them. 1st thing I noticed was the moldy musty odor and nickel size cigarette burn in the ugly bedspread. Then it was the mismatch paint on the walls with sloppy caulking/patches from fights or something. The tv sat on a night stand much lower than the tall bed. The place just was real lowlife trash. Office comment about sheets "we don't do plancha", she is Oriental and I am as white as my Irish ancesters, so why is she talking to me in Spanglish? Plancha = Iron very poor attitude/customer service. I told my BF who was out working at the time & had not seen what he paid for to do something about it, because I'm out of here. No trash for me I deserve far better than the slums.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthBeTold2uNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Address: 235 Woodlawn Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2114 (Formerly Travelers Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non-Smoking Hotel Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista is conveniently located off I-5 and I 805 Freeway only minutes from San Diego & Chula Vista local Regional Points of Interest & Attractions Include San Diego Zoo, Sea world, San Diego Airport, San Diego Convention Center, Chula Vista Nature Center, , Petco Park, San Diego Downtown, The Marine Corps, Naval Base, Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre, Knott’s Soak City Water Park, the U.S Olympic Training Center ,Chula Vista Marina, Southwestern College, Sharp Hospital, Qualcomm Stadium, SDSU College, Coronado Island and Coronado Beach, Balboa Park Museums, San Diego Beaches, San Diego Old Town, Tijuana Mexico,, Seaport village, US/ Mexico International Border. Shopping Mall & las Americas premium outlets short Driving Distance a way. San Diego Bus & trolley system Walking Distance. Nearby Restaurants: Taco Bell (walk), McDonalds (walk), Black Angus (walk), Deny's (walk), Wendy's (walk), La Quinta Mexican Grill (walk), Sushi Loco (Walk), Pho. Guestrooms. Whether on business or pleasure you will enjoy such amenities as a comfortable 100% Non Smoking suite Room with a Kitchenette or With Out Kitchenette, refrigerator, microwave, stove and Coffee Makers. Our property features our complimentary wireless high speed internet(Wi-Fi), outdoor swimming pool, 2 Flat Screen LCD TV 40"/32" With Premium Tv Channels In Room, Air-Conditioned, a Seating area with Sofa, private Bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron and Iron Board, Closet, Alarm Clock and free Toiletries, free parking and guest laundry, Copy/fax services, AM/FM clock radio, hairdryer, Premium cable including HBO,ESPN,CNN and more Sports channel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Inn And Suites
Travelers Hotel Chula Vista
Travelodge Chula Vista
Travel Lodge Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing