We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Slum Lords in the Slums” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slum Lords in the Slums”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

There isn't any spa and the pool isn't heated. The place is so nasty nothing like the website indicates. I went into rm 219 where the sheets were dirty and all wrinkled like they didn't even change them. 1st thing I noticed was the moldy musty odor and nickel size cigarette burn in the ugly bedspread. Then it was the mismatch paint on the walls with sloppy caulking/patches from fights or something. The tv sat on a night stand much lower than the tall bed. The place just was real lowlife trash. Office comment about sheets "we don't do plancha", she is Oriental and I am as white as my Irish ancesters, so why is she talking to me in Spanglish? Plancha = Iron very poor attitude/customer service. I told my BF who was out working at the time & had not seen what he paid for to do something about it, because I'm out of here. No trash for me I deserve far better than the slums.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthBeTold2uNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    30
    25
    65
See reviews for
74
30
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sann diego
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stay in this hotel and really want to stay more days but cheryl the manager wants us to leave.there's no reason for her to get us out for we pay first hand before we stay. me and my boyfriend both work so we don't stay in the hotel until were off from work.we are quite hotel guest so we can't understand why she did this.i wish the owner of this hotel make some investigation for if not they will lost guest and income as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I made a reservation online saw pictures and though not the best but thought ok would try it out. 1st location did not make me feel safe, room was dirty and had a bad dirty smell. The room did not look nothing like the pictures online. Luckily it was just one night but definetly will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were just there for 5 nights. When we arrived we had to have housekeeping come and change the sheets on one of the beds because there were hairs on the sheets. The carpet was so dirty your feet got dirty from it, sofa was dirty, and it needed alot of upkeep. I am a travel agent and will NEVER recommend this hotel to a client!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wadudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For starters i reserved a room online. Got a confirmation drove there to check in.then was told by Cheryl i had to cancel my online transaction and pay again. Ok no problem... after a while all this is taken care of and finally i am given keys. As i park in the smallest parking space ever and walk up the dirtiest stairs i see a woman carrying a baby with another woman yelling behind her and chasing her. At this point im starting to regret this.... i stay positive and continue to walk to my room 224. As i do i walk by a room with an open door and shirtless nasty men everywhere.... ugh!!!! Then i go to swipe my room key and the door is stuck. I had to seriously break the door down. After a struggle i finally am inside to realize i made a mistake. The couch is gross the kitchen is disgusting missing appliances, no locks on the doors. Phone is old and dirty ur afraid to use it. Ughhh!!!! The people next door super noisy.... this hotel has potential, but needs serious work and cleanliness. I would not recommend nor will i ever stay here again....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drodrigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place was a great find. I was travelling on a budget and this hotel was a great fit. The hotel was all renovated, and the room was still clean and well kept. The hotel has a lot of amenities, a kitchen, new carpet, and new countertops as well! The location was great. Easy check in, and great customer service. I was very happy with my stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnyD717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

To sum it up in one word: DANGER!

Do NOT stay here. Avoid like the plague.
This is the single worst place I have ever been to.
It was HORRIBLE!

We booked this place last-minute out of desperation on priceline.com, and when we arrived we seriously considered taking the kids and sleeping on the beach (which in retrospect would have been a much more pleasant experience).

The rooms are FILTHY! There was some strange white powder all over the carpet, which had a large area that was SOAKING WET in one of the rooms. The bedsheets had some caked-on stains that looked strangely like they kind that glow when an ultraviolet light is shined on them on tv shows. There was a pair of old used nail-clippers left over from a previous guest. The trash had not been cleaned out (and there was something that looked like a feminine sanitary pad in the bathroom). The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty, crumbling, and some of them had fallen completely off. The tubs were painted over instead of repaired.

The entire place felt gross and filthy. I've stayed at cheap motels plenty of times when traveling on a budget, and this ranks by far the lowest, way way waaay off the scale.

The positive reviews on this website are obviously rigged, all by accounts that have not made any other reviews. While the photos on review sites, and on priceline.com, booking.com, expeida and all the other travel sites are of the actual place (or another place with the same floorplan), they look nothing like it. They were either taken many many years ago just after the place had been renovated, or entirely fake.

Room Tip: All the rooms a horrible. Don't choose ANY room. This place is a health hazard. You're bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#12 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Property: Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
Address: 235 Woodlawn Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2114 (Formerly Travelers Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy Access Off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center, Downtown San Diego, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo,Knott's Soak City Water Park,Sleep Train Amphitheater U S Olympic Training Center and San Diego Beaches. 100% Non Smoking Hotel The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Offer Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking Car or Bus ,Pool & Spa And on Side Guest Laundry. Offer include a LCD 39" TV With Primer Channel, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee & Tea Maker ,Iron, Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Soap, Shampoo ,And Lotion, Sofa Bed And Kitchenettes Room Also Available. The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Within Walking Distance To Restaurant And Public Transportation, Such As San Diego Trolley And Bus Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel Chula Vista
Travelers Inn And Suites
Travelodge Chula Vista
Travel Lodge Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing