We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a secure place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The worst place ever! It's not safe at night. There was this girl looking inside a car like she was trying to steal something. We stayed in one of the rooms and a couple of hours after we arrived there was domestic violence in the next room, like really bad. It sounded like the girl was slammed into the walls and there was a bunch of yelling. The worst thing was that the guy who had tattoos all over, saw us walking into our room before all of this happened. We felt fearful to report him because the other rooms were empty. This is probably the smallest room I have every stayed in. Not worth the price at all. The staff in the office was very rude. They had to call to get authorization to refund us when we had a genuine safety concern. The security guard was standing in the office rather than walking around premises. In order to get a refund they had to kick out the other guy and bring him to the office where we were, so he saw us and our vehicle which made us feel more unsafe. Overall the worst hotel experience in our lives!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, You pay for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chula v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear chula v,
Thank you for taking time to post your review. Please contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

we have stayed here before and it is a busy place, right behind a mcdonalds.
grab a parking spot quick. motorcycles everywhere for a rally, noisy, and people everywhere, even half the night, but the room was fine, no one bothered us, but i was concerned,
front desk had 4 people in the small office, checking people in, so it was in and out quick.
we would stay there again, for 1 night, as it is near the folks we were visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank othermom375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at this motel 6 many times over the past twenty years. Unfortunately like so many Motel 6 properties it caters for a growing population of families that seem to live there full time. It has become very shabby, noisey and over priced.
However for the traveller it is very easy to find, a very short walk to the San Diego tram/light railway system that quickly whisks you into the centre of town or indeed Mexico (not recommended). Despite the drawbacks, I guess we will continue to use the property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes the area might be a tad scary.....but room big n bright, clean and although beds not exactly firm....had a good nights sleep.
VERY dog friendly with "poop area" out back complete with baggies and disposal.
Vending and laundry facilities.
We found gates locked at night and regular security who were ticketing people not parked correctly etc.
Stayed in 136 on far side with 2 dogs. Train ran close, but finished at midnight.
Seniors discount. WIFI worked well for $2.99 per day.
Girls at front desk were so very helpful with room selection and restaurant choices. (The Pancake House the street is AMAZING.
We were stuck waiting for our Mexican Auto Insurance to come through. Front desk staff VERY diligent in watching and getting faxed information to us.
Many thanks. Geeat Stay

Room Tip: If you have pet....we liked 136
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I wish the front desk women would have patched me through to 9-1-1 as I had asked her to so that I may report two gentlemen drinking, smoking marijuana and crack cocaine while speaking loudly right in front of my room. Upon the first call to desk she sent security whom when the crack heads saw coming ran. Within 30 minutes the people were back in another location I could see them but I did hear them. I tried dialing 911 but instead the phone went to the front desk where the women said if you see them again give us a call. NOT A SAFE PLACE!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tcarterphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I suggest not to go to this motel because despite of the good condition the room was really stinky. I guess the night before we came someone with 1 or more dogs was sleeping in the same room. They didnt allow us to leave the luggages in the lobby even if 1 of the receptionist told us that they normally allow that. Never again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jottano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This waa conveniently located off the interstate 5, minutes drive from most
San Diego attractions. The hotel waa clean and also felt safe since it was partially gated. The staff was super friendly and quick to check in. Theres even a Dennys and local pancake house nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#12 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista

Address: 745 E St, I-5/San Diego Freeway at E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2003
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range: $60 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Motel Six
Chula Vista Motel 6
Motel 6 Chula Vista
Motel Six Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing