We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“this is a busy motel 6, lucky if you get a room.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Corning, Calif.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“this is a busy motel 6, lucky if you get a room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we have stayed here before and it is a busy place, right behind a mcdonalds.
grab a parking spot quick. motorcycles everywhere for a rally, noisy, and people everywhere, even half the night, but the room was fine, no one bothered us, but i was concerned,
front desk had 4 people in the small office, checking people in, so it was in and out quick.
we would stay there again, for 1 night, as it is near the folks we were visiting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank othermom375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    16
    14
    20
See reviews for
16
14
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
803 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at this motel 6 many times over the past twenty years. Unfortunately like so many Motel 6 properties it caters for a growing population of families that seem to live there full time. It has become very shabby, noisey and over priced.
However for the traveller it is very easy to find, a very short walk to the San Diego tram/light railway system that quickly whisks you into the centre of town or indeed Mexico (not recommended). Despite the drawbacks, I guess we will continue to use the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes the area might be a tad scary.....but room big n bright, clean and although beds not exactly firm....had a good nights sleep.
VERY dog friendly with "poop area" out back complete with baggies and disposal.
Vending and laundry facilities.
We found gates locked at night and regular security who were ticketing people not parked correctly etc.
Stayed in 136 on far side with 2 dogs. Train ran close, but finished at midnight.
Seniors discount. WIFI worked well for $2.99 per day.
Girls at front desk were so very helpful with room selection and restaurant choices. (The Pancake House the street is AMAZING.
We were stuck waiting for our Mexican Auto Insurance to come through. Front desk staff VERY diligent in watching and getting faxed information to us.
Many thanks. Geeat Stay

Room Tip: If you have pet....we liked 136
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I wish the front desk women would have patched me through to 9-1-1 as I had asked her to so that I may report two gentlemen drinking, smoking marijuana and crack cocaine while speaking loudly right in front of my room. Upon the first call to desk she sent security whom when the crack heads saw coming ran. Within 30 minutes the people were back in another location I could see them but I did hear them. I tried dialing 911 but instead the phone went to the front desk where the women said if you see them again give us a call. NOT A SAFE PLACE!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tcarterphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I suggest not to go to this motel because despite of the good condition the room was really stinky. I guess the night before we came someone with 1 or more dogs was sleeping in the same room. They didnt allow us to leave the luggages in the lobby even if 1 of the receptionist told us that they normally allow that. Never again!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jottano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This waa conveniently located off the interstate 5, minutes drive from most
San Diego attractions. The hotel waa clean and also felt safe since it was partially gated. The staff was super friendly and quick to check in. Theres even a Dennys and local pancake house nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Motel 6 property was a great stay for a recent trip to San Diego. With great proximity to redline (train) and the 5 freeway it was an affordable option within 15 minutes of downtown. Our room was very clean and quiet. Not too sure what some folks were complaining about. We felt safe in this neighborhood and even walked across the street to Emma's Pancake house for some great breakfast food. We'd stay here again for an affordable option when you knew you wouldn't be in the room very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#12 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista

Property: Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Address: 745 E St, I-5/San Diego Freeway at E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2003
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Motel 6
Chula Vista Motel Six
Motel 6 Chula Vista
Motel Six Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing