We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a valueable jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This was a valueable jewel!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This waa conveniently located off the interstate 5, minutes drive from most
San Diego attractions. The hotel waa clean and also felt safe since it was partially gated. The staff was super friendly and quick to check in. Theres even a Dennys and local pancake house nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
17
14
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Motel 6 property was a great stay for a recent trip to San Diego. With great proximity to redline (train) and the 5 freeway it was an affordable option within 15 minutes of downtown. Our room was very clean and quiet. Not too sure what some folks were complaining about. We felt safe in this neighborhood and even walked across the street to Emma's Pancake house for some great breakfast food. We'd stay here again for an affordable option when you knew you wouldn't be in the room very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Every hotel was booked this weekend, except the Motel 6 on E Street. It is 3AM; and my husband is sleeping in our van right now, because it is quieter than in our room. I can't sleep; so, I am doing something constructive...warning other folks about this horrible excuse for a hotel.

When I called about the dog barking in the room next door, I was informed that the hotel is 'pet friendly' which means dogs can bark all night? No smoking rooms means that you can sit on the steps outside your room...smoking, drinking and talking as loudly as you want...all night long. If you're awake, why should anyone else be trying to sleep. Toot your horn, laugh and shout. Nobody came here to sleep anyway.

As for the rooms...your closet is a small, metal rack next to the toilet. While you shower, your clothes will get steamed...if you can even keep the water warm. The shower will become cooler; and the water pressure will fade away, as you take a shower of more than a couple of minutes. By the way, the tub is slippery with no matt. Step carefully in and out. Don't ask for more than one towel per person, you will be given hand towels and told that they are out of bath towels.

The sink is just that...a basin barely hanging on the wall. There is no counter or shelf for any hygiene items. Of course, you can always put your personal items on the back of the toilet. Isn't that a lovely and clean idea?

There are NO drawers anywhere in the room...not even for the phone book or the Gideon Bible. There is no clock on what passes for a nightstand; so, why should you expect a hair dryer, coffee pot or any other conveniences. If you ask about coffee, they refer you to the MacDonald's out by the street.

The rate of $53 per night does not include WiFi; you will pay for that. Of course, the rate does not include a courteous staff or a full night of sleep either. These people don't care what happens to you in their hotel. "Just give us your money and don't complain about anything." seems to be their policy. Call the front desk, and they will send the security man for your noise problem. Then, he can join the loud people outside your door and tell the manager in the morning that YOU complained too much.

The security man lied and said that no one was even outside of our room, during the night. When I repeated word for word what he had said to one of the young women, he had to admit that he lied...but added, "I didn't hear any dog." Strange, since the dog was in the woman's room and kept barking, while they talked.

When my husband spoke to the manager after our first horrible night, he was actually said, "If you call with a complaint again tonight, you will be asked to leave. So, what sounds like a basketball game in the room upstairs, the barking dogs, and the social gathering on the steps in the middle of the night are perfectly acceptable with the management...but asking for some peace and quiet at 2 or 3 or 4AM is unacceptable behavior that can get us ejected.

We were booked for 3 nights, but we will not be here tomorrow. All the other hotels remain booked up for the weekend. Believe me, I have been trying to find another hotel since that first night. I just can't take anymore of this horrible place.

Hopefully, my husband will be able to get enough sleep in our van to drive us home in the morning. I will have to make up for lost sleep tomorrow on that ride home, unless our hotel neighbors finally go to bed. It is getting a bit quieter, maybe because it is 4AM.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here! Even your car would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just to sleep over night. No breakfast, no any usual amenities: safe, coffeemaker, iron, ect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shishkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My stay at the Motel 6 Chula Vista location wasn't a pleasant one. The term "You get what you pay for." truly applied to the motel. To begin with, there's no shampoo or clock although there's a small TV and a chair. The room was suppose to be non-smoking and it wreaked of smoke. They do provide an iron and ironing board but upon request. Internet wi-fi is not free unlike other motels. Also, there were a couple of bums walking around the premises which left me a little uneasy. During my stay, I kept hearing a loud voice speaking thru a microphone. It was loud enough that it woke me up a couple of times. According to another reviewer, it was the police giving out warnings. Ok, good to know. If you're looking for a roof over your head and a bed, this place is for you. However, if you're looking for a place with better amenities and safer atmosphere for you and your family, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view of the parking lot where you parked your car, so you can keep an eye on i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My family stayed at this motel 6 for the BMX race at the Olympic training center. This hotel is dangerous. I was concerned for the safety of my family. I was very surprised my truck wasn't stolen. There was multiple times when the cops came. When they came on the PA on the exterior of the building warning that people should leave the premises or be subject to arrest at 11pm at night we became very concerned. The rooms on the second floor around room 240 smell strongly of marijuana. This review is not to bash motel 6. This review is to warn family's of the danger's

Room Tip: Choose a different motel 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RBMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This motel 6 has the standard spartan but ultra clean rooms expected from the chain. The housekeeping staff is good. The location provides easy access via the blue line trolley to Mexico and downtown San diego.

The price is steady at around $45/night.
You can reduce price by using the motel 6 corporate code by 10percent.

Try to get a room above the main office . There is no elevator on that side but it is quieter as you are further from the freeway.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopacabanaGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista

Property: Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Address: 745 E St, I-5/San Diego Freeway at E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2003
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Motel 6
Chula Vista Motel Six
Motel 6 Chula Vista
Motel Six Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing