We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My family stayed at this motel 6 for the BMX race at the Olympic training center. This hotel is dangerous. I was concerned for the safety of my family. I was very surprised my truck wasn't stolen. There was multiple times when the cops came. When they came on the PA on the exterior of the building warning that people should leave the premises or be subject to arrest at 11pm at night we became very concerned. The rooms on the second floor around room 240 smell strongly of marijuana. This review is not to bash motel 6. This review is to warn family's of the danger's

Room Tip: Choose a different motel 6
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RBMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 74 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

This motel 6 has the standard spartan but ultra clean rooms expected from the chain. The housekeeping staff is good. The location provides easy access via the blue line trolley to Mexico and downtown San diego.

The price is steady at around $45/night.
You can reduce price by using the motel 6 corporate code by 10percent.

Try to get a room above the main office . There is no elevator on that side but it is quieter as you are further from the freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopacabanaGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I understand the area is not the nice-est but the staff here can be a little hard to deal with. They slow down the check in process with lots of warnings about not bringing guests and their restrictive parking policies. Basically after dark they close all of the way's into the parking lot and it becomes very hard to get in and out with your car until next morning. There are also several security guards watching your every move as you walk around.

My motto is that if you treat people like criminals, then the only customers you will get are criminals. This is one of the few Motel6's I might not come back to.

There was some partying noise on a Saturday night but otherwise it was ok; Parking was overly difficult as I already mentioned.

This place is somewhat run down and not maintained as well as it should be. They of course do not have the newer flat screen tv's.

Room Tip: They do have an elevator so second or third level rooms do not require you to lug everything up the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Chula Vista is south of downtown San Diego. This hotel is located a few feet from the bay and the San Diego trolley line (the mass transit blue line). You will have no problem getting around with or without a car. The freeway is right next to the motel, too.

There are lots of restaurants within the three block area of the hotel. There is also a grocery store and a liquor store.

The rooms are clean but spartan. The TV has about 20 cable channels (ESPN 1,2, and classic; HBO 1,2).

Free local calls.

Wireless costs 2.99 ($3) per day if you want it. You can also go over to the McDonalds to use the free wireless there from time-to-time.

If you want to visit Tijuana, Mexico, this hotel provides quick access. Just jump on the trolley going south and you will be there in less than 15 minutes.

The area is fairly safe. Lots of people (workers, families, etc.) walking back and forth from the trolley late into the night.

The hotel tends to keep its prices around $45/night, with some variation on weekends (but not always).

Go online and get the Motel 6 corporate discount code to save an extra 10% or so. Just google the term. All Motel 6s take the code when booking online.

Staff is fairly friendly. They do make a photo copy of your ID as required by Chula Vista law (Many hotels in CA do this).

No fridges or microwaves in single rooms. Perhaps the larger rooms have them. This hotel has some larger suite type rooms but I have never been in one.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor. Also you can ask to be placed on the side close to the office. This is th...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopacabanaGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

As mentioned with others, security is present and obvious - extra paperwork must be provided at check-in, room ok nothing special but simple & clean - Motel is a good distance from downtown SD but close to freeway - but many local eateries around even a McD on
the forecourt,a Dennys across the street MUCH better than the next door eatery - they were FRIENDLY!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This motel is on E Street, directly across the street from the E Street trolley station. Extremely convenient for getting on the trolley to get around. The area of town is not the best. I walked around and did not feel unsafe, but the motel has 2 full time night security guards outside and they lock one of the gates to the parking lot, so I assume it was not the best area. I felt very safe about my car and room knowing the guards were there. Complaint: the shower was made for a person 4' 6" tall and I don't know too many of them. I am short, 5' 7" and the shower pointed at my collar bone! Are you kidding me??? I don't like having to duck to shampoo my hair. The room was tinier than most Motel 6 single rooms. But it was clean, the people nice, loads of tourist info in the lobby, etc. Way cheaper than downtown SD.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I actually stayed here several times, and the price is right, for sure, but the staff is for the most part, not very friendly, or even what you could call nice. But at about $45 a night before taxes, (special internet rate for 2 people) I suppose I shouldn't complain. One of the women that works there in the evening was more pleasant than the others, but for the most part the other women at the desk didn't seem to care very much, and one even left us waiting for a little while while she chatted on the phone with someone. Also, they must have issues with some of the people that come onto the property at night, because they make a copy of your ID, and the ID of any other guests in the room, and they make you sign this little sheet of paper saying that if you have any visitors, you'll have them sign in.

The place is really not bad, and they have a pretty decent pool, but everything (if they even offer it) is extra. I think they do have coffee in the reception area in the morning, but that's about it. I guess they also allow pets, because one time we stayed there, there was a cat in the window of the room next door. I did appreciate that they actually had a drain stopper for the tub though, so I didn't have to try and improvise with a washcloth or shower cap. I found that I could stay at the Best Western across the street for only $5 more per night (another special internet rate), so they probably won't have my business again unless the Best Western stops offering nearly the same price for much friendlier service, decor, and rooms with fridges and microwaves.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenThumb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#12 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista

Address: 745 E St, I-5/San Diego Freeway at E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2003
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range: $60 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Chula Vista Motel 6
Chula Vista Motel Six
Motel 6 Chula Vista
Motel Six Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing