We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the price close to San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Gainesville, United States
1 review
“good value for the price close to San Diego”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was skeptical about the hotel based on the reviews. It appears only some of the rooms are renovated. I opted to pay a little more for the deluxe suite and I was very glad I did. I attended a conference in San Diego for a week and the hotel was conveniently located a block from the blue line, takes about 20 min to get to the convention center. My biggest complaint is the commuters on the blue line train. It almost always smelled of pot and there were always very rude, obnoxious people on the train. Other than that, I had a very nice experience on my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    182
    89
    46
    33
See reviews for
199
91
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is ideally located just half a block from I-5 in Chula Vista, Ca. Some of the features that makes this Best Western move to the top of my list of all the Best Western hotels I've stayed in recently: free parking, parking in front of or near your room (not down 100 yds of hallways), the staff is very, very friendly and it's obvious that they truely "care", newly renovated rooms with granite counter tops and desk top/stainless steel refer and microwave/two tone paint/new contemporary carpeting/newly resurfaced parking lot/a great breakfast and breakfast area/newly resurfaced pool/and........the price is right!

This hotel has the most comfortable beds (I've stayed in three different rooms here) of all the Best Western hotels I've stayed in, in the past year (17 Best Western hotels)....and so it deserved a seperate paragraph just for this.

Within a block you'll find Black Angus, Denny's, IGA market, laundry, touchless car wash, AM/PM and McDonald's.

This hotel is definately the best bang for the buck in this area. You will not find another hotel of this class, in this area, for this price and.......with a truely and genuinely friendly staff!

My photos speak for themselves as I found this hotel to be in mid Nov. 2013.

Room Tip: I've been in double qeen beds and single king bed rooms and they were/are both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCZhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hotel was nice and clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and responded to the one problem we had. It is next to the MTS train station so it's convienent to get everywhere in the San Diego area and would definately recommend it. The price was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Ritz it's ain't but it is not a bad place. Classical motel setup, with good-sized rooms that have a fridge and a microwave. Everything is very clean. And everybody was very friendly. The neighborhood is not exactly scenic (Motel 6 and McDonald's across the street, Denny's and Taco Bell next door, strip mall a bit further etc) but it felt perfectly safe.

A big advantage is that the San Diego Trolley station is right next door, about 2 minutes walking. I used to rent a car in San Diego but the trolley takes out all the hassle and expense out of driving and parking. If where you want to go is near the trolley system, it is so much easier. I was attending a conference at the Conference Center and it worked perfectly.

They have the European-style soap dispensers that some don't seem to like. I think they are fine and save on packaging. Problem was mine was out of shower gel. I told them and even THEN it was not refilled. I used the small facial bar they left in addition so it was not a problem but I wished they had refilled the dispenser at least after it told them it was empty.

On the other hand, when I asked for smaller bills for the trolley (as of now, the trolley ticket machines do not take credit cards, it says they will in the future), the receptionist not only gave me $5.- bills for my $20.- but she also gave me a 'loaner' Compass card (the card you need to use the trolley and buses). Of course you can buy one at the machine for $2.- but I thought it was a nice touch that they provide this service.

Overall, this is not a fancy place but clean, safe, friendly and reasonably priced. Access to the trolley is a big plus

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Again, you get what you paid for. Though you cannot argue with free breakfast and free parking! I didn't really like their doors -- either they need to update it or fix it because my parent's always had trouble getting into their room throughout the entire stay. Other than that, it was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chula vista
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Made reservation direct with hotel, answered all questions I had about location and room amenities. When checking in I was greeted a beautiful smile and very warm greeting. I was upgraded because I was a first time customer which I appreciated. Room was great included a refrigerator and microwave. Nice big fluffy chair to sit and enjoy the LCD TV. Best part in mourning going to the breakfast room again greeted so warm and friendly and fresh waffles, pastries, eggs and so much more

HAVE FOUND MY PERMANENT HOTEL IN THE SAN DIEGO AREA

Room Tip: Trolley right next door so if light sleeper probally room by pool quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwsbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good hotel..nice renovations, nice staff at check in and check out. When I was leaving I thought I had pre-paid my first night, however I did not have a receipt the manager Ross said for me to call him once I get home and look at my bank statement and he would take care of it..However within 24 hours as we were driving back to Colorado it was already credited to our account, he must have found the credit it...MUCH APPRECIATED

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South

Property: Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly South Bay Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Chula Vista San Diego South hotel in Chula Vista lets you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. We're conveniently in San Diego's South Bay off Interstate 5 and E Street Trolley near Living Coast Discovery Center. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our smoke-free hotel in Chula Vista, including: Silver Strand State Beach Las Americas Premium Outlets Tijuana, MX San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park SeaWorld San Diego You can also easily get to the Mattress Firm Amphitheatre, Aquatica San Diego, Chula Vista Elite Athletic Center, Coronado Island, Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, Old Town San Diego and Chula Vista Center for shopping. Several restaurants throughout the area, including Black Angus Steakhouse, La Quinta Grill Mexican Restaurant and Bar, Zorba's Greek Cuisine, Red Lobster, Dragon Express in addition to Wendy’s, Subway and Taco Bell. Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money like bus parking and copy, print and fax machines, plus: Free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast Free WiFi Outdoor pool/sundeck Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Each guest room offers a refreshing shower along with standard amenities and more. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. Hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing