We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Enjoyed the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Santaquin, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value. Enjoyed the stay.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms with my wife and kids and everyone enjoyed it. Free continental breakfast, location, and wi-fi were the main reasons for picking this hotel. The pool was small but quiet and relaxing. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable. The only complaint was when using the shower, the water was still pouring out of the faucet and I had to remove the drain to keep the water from filling up the tub. It was a minor inconvenience. We stayed 4 nights and the service was great. Never had an issue with cleaning the room or getting extra towels. We stayed in room 220 which was in the upper corner and out of the way. It is located right off the freeway and is less than 10 minutes from downtown San Diego and only about 15 minutes from the Imperial Beach Pier.

The continental breakfast offered a good variety but the room was really small and crowded. It looks like they are renovating to make that room larger which will be nice when completed.

We would stay here again if we are ever back in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the newer renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    181
    89
    46
    33
See reviews for
197
90
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had always heard how good these hotel were so I decided to give it a try. Save your money people and just go to the Motel 6 across from this hotel. The a/c in my room didn't work, the sensor light in the bathroom kept turning on and off, the fridge was leaking water so the carpet was all wet, and the hand soap and lotion dispensers were leaking all over the counter making a mess. Definitely not what I was expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I chose this motel because of the free continental breakfast, free wifi, kids stay free & the price. They recently renovated the rooms in June 2013, & they are currently renovating the breakfast room to make it bigger. We stayed in room 226 & it was clean & adequate for our 2 night stay. The only issues I had with the room was that sometimes the a/c didn't always blow cold air; it would sometimes blow warm/humid air, so it didn't always feel cool in the room. Also, my family & I had an issue with the position of the shower curtain & rod; the rod was too far into the shower & the curtain was too short, that when I finished taking a shower, the floor was covered with water. Also, the breakfast room was so small & crowded, that I was only able to get a few items for my family & myself. :( Hopefully, their expansion of the breakfast room will be finished if we decide to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

While not a top tier hotel It was a "good" hotel with clean rooms, good beds and a good location with freeway access to all attractions and next to train station. For the room cost it was the best value anywhere around. Was there on family vacation, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This does not live up to previous Best Western hotels I have stayed in, it was so bad. Carpeting was so filthy that I was afraid to take my shoes off. Ants in the shower. No wash cloths, until a housekeeper came around and let me have two. One of the pillow cases was soiled. When I first checked in there wasn't any water to wash my hands or take a shower! Electrical outlets were so old and worn out that when I plugged my phone charger in, the plug just fell right out. I won't be coming back here! You shouldn't either!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorMom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although the room was comfortable and near my business destination, there were problems with the "business center" - the computer/printer didn't work. The salt water pool was great but we couldn't access the gym unless we went to find the desk clerk; why couldn't we just use the room key? But then the room keys didn't even work in the room doors. We were told it was due to a black out that originated in TX - who cares where it happened? I was tired and couldn't get into my room. The staff response to all this? Didn't know, didn't care. Obviously no customer service training here...not important?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felipe, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this Best Western property has been renovated recently and has lovely rooms, great beds and lots of pillows. they include high speed internet, free parking, a swimming pool and breakfast. It is a good location and great value

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank oldbajalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 22 in Chula Vista
592 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.7 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South

Property: Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly South Bay Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Chula Vista San Diego South hotel in Chula Vista lets you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. We're conveniently in San Diego's South Bay off Interstate 5 and E Street Trolley near Living Coast Discovery Center. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our smoke-free hotel in Chula Vista, including: Silver Strand State Beach Las Americas Premium Outlets Tijuana, MX San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park SeaWorld San Diego You can also easily get to the Mattress Firm Amphitheatre, Aquatica San Diego, Chula Vista Elite Athletic Center, Coronado Island, Seaport Village, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, Old Town San Diego and Chula Vista Center for shopping. Several restaurants throughout the area, including Black Angus Steakhouse, La Quinta Grill Mexican Restaurant and Bar, Zorba's Greek Cuisine, Red Lobster, Dragon Express in addition to Wendy’s, Subway and Taco Bell. Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money like bus parking and copy, print and fax machines, plus: Free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast Free WiFi Outdoor pool/sundeck Fitness center Free weekday newspaper Each guest room offers a refreshing shower along with standard amenities and more. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. Hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing