We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Trolley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Providence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close to Trolley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I like this Hotel because it offers very close proximity to the San Diego Trolley, and from here you can get to almost anywhere in San Diego. I have stayed here in the past, however, all of the rooms have undergone an upgrade! The carpet and drapes were much improved and of much better quality than my previous stay. It doesn't look all that fantastic on the outside, however, with the upgrades to the room, I found it much better than before and a good option for me. There are lots of dining options close by also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottBrigham_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    160
    71
    39
    26
See reviews for
167
74
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Least expensive BW we have stayed at recently. Nice, clean, quiet. I prefer BW places when I can afford them. Overall they have gotten really expensive... not this one. Lots of food choices close by. Close to Sea World. Nice Breakfast.. Nice staff. Has a small poolwhich was well kept.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not horrible, but there is a great need for some maintenance on a number of rooms. The first room had a trail of ants, staff was not concerned and had no bug spray. They said they would need to leave a line item for maintenance. The second room needed to have the door pulled shut just to get the latch to release. You guessed it, the maintenance request. the next evening we checked and the day shift girl could not find either of those reports on the maintenance log.
The third room was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felipe, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been having many hospital stays recently for my spouse and I like to be nearby- this Best Western property is moderately priced and in a wonderful location. It is one block east of hwy 5 in Chula Vista at E Street. The location makes it very easy to get onto the freeway to get to Balboa Naval Hospital or Balboa Park. The rooms have been recently renovated and are attractive and comfortable. It is close to the Trolley station, however the trolley didn't bother us and the rooms are quiet. They include breakfast- waffles while you wait, four types of cereal, four types of juices, sweet rolls and bagels. They also had bananas, oranges and apples....hot coffee and tea as well. I was impressed.

Room Tip: there is a Denny's next door and across the street a MacDonald's as well as a Black Angus Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbajalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBI_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us and other travelers about your experience at the Best Western South Bay Inn. Our property provides one of the best-situated locations in Chula Vista as we have quick access to all the main areas: the freeway, the bay, downtown SD, local dining and shops. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that your overall stay was a comfortable experience. Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast as well. We continue to put effort into making our breakfast a valuable amenity for all our guests.
We are pleased to be convenient place for your hospital visits in San Diego and we hope we will be seeing you again soon!

Kindly,
Best Western South Bay Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is pretty dated, things are worn, but it is clean. The price is very reasonable and the location is convenient by the blue line trolley is only 30 sec walk. There are many restaurant choices within walking distance too. If you are really fussy about have only the best this place will disappoint you. I look for value and location. This place is really great if you don't want to rent a car.

Room Tip: I like to be in the main building because I don't usually have a car and it is closer. The back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business in and around the San Diego area. Clean rooms and staff was great. Close to HWY and places to eat. Breakfast was also, done well, clean area and wide variety of food and drink. The WiFi is disappointing at times when everyone is on early in the evening, but overall stay was very good. I wiould go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
Address: 710 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing