We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big 7 Motel(Chula Vista)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Chula Vista)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
116
188
94
46
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
188
94
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay innwafflesbreakfast roomcompass cardbest westernstrolley stationsan diegocomfortable bedsblack anguswalking distancenice breakfastflat screen tvwould stay here againlocated closetaco bellcoronado islandimperial beach
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 483 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Least expensive BW we have stayed at recently. Nice, clean, quiet. I prefer BW places when I can afford them. Overall they have gotten really expensive... not this one. Lots of food choices close by. Close to Sea World. Nice Breakfast.. Nice staff. Has a small poolwhich was well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not horrible, but there is a great need for some maintenance on a number of rooms. The first room had a trail of ants, staff was not concerned and had no bug spray. They said they would need to leave a line item for maintenance. The second room needed to have the door pulled shut just to get the latch to release. You guessed it, the maintenance request. the next evening we checked and the day shift girl could not find either of those reports on the maintenance log.
The third room was ok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been having many hospital stays recently for my spouse and I like to be nearby- this Best Western property is moderately priced and in a wonderful location. It is one block east of hwy 5 in Chula Vista at E Street. The location makes it very easy to get onto the freeway to get to Balboa Naval Hospital or Balboa Park. The rooms have been recently renovated and are attractive and comfortable. It is close to the Trolley station, however the trolley didn't bother us and the rooms are quiet. They include breakfast- waffles while you wait, four types of cereal, four types of juices, sweet rolls and bagels. They also had bananas, oranges and apples....hot coffee and tea as well. I was impressed.

Room Tip: there is a Denny's next door and across the street a MacDonald's as well as a Black Angus Restaurant. I am partial to ground floor rooms as the stairs are sometimes hard after the hospital visit for my spouse. they have three buildings with two floors each. Free WiFi and free parking.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbajalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBI_Manager, General Manager at Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us and other travelers about your experience at the Best Western South Bay Inn. Our property provides one of the best-situated locations in Chula Vista as we have quick access to all the main areas: the freeway, the bay, downtown SD, local dining and shops. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that your overall stay was a comfortable experience. Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast as well. We continue to put effort into making our breakfast a valuable amenity for all our guests.
We are pleased to be convenient place for your hospital visits in San Diego and we hope we will be seeing you again soon!

Kindly,
Best Western South Bay Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is pretty dated, things are worn, but it is clean. The price is very reasonable and the location is convenient by the blue line trolley is only 30 sec walk. There are many restaurant choices within walking distance too. If you are really fussy about have only the best this place will disappoint you. I look for value and location. This place is really great if you don't want to rent a car.

Room Tip: I like to be in the main building because I don't usually have a car and it is closer. The back building is probably quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business in and around the San Diego area. Clean rooms and staff was great. Close to HWY and places to eat. Breakfast was also, done well, clean area and wide variety of food and drink. The WiFi is disappointing at times when everyone is on early in the evening, but overall stay was very good. I wiould go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews