We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent stay and close to restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and close to restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express just off I-5 in Chula Vista, CA. A 1st class hotel. As a priority club member of HI, I was given a goodie bag with cookies, bottle water, and an apple. They honored my request for a upper floor, 4th floor. King-sized bed was very comfortable and the hot breakfast buffet is excellent! Close to Sea World and San Diego zoo. Downsides, their internet speed is really slow as I'm used to high-speed internet at home, no ice machine on every floor and elevator is slow too. Definitely will come back to this HI hotel in the future when in town.

Room Tip: Get the upper floor; ice machines is only on the 1st and 3rd floor only. A huge inconvenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thao N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    67
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
34
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good Holiday Inn express standard, close to Imperial Beach surfing and upscale mall close to Mexican border. Better than average Holiday Inn Express service, with attentive management.
Location is good, and even reachable by tram

Room Tip: Nice pool but and decent fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frafranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick o, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. It was nice to hear that our location to surfing and shopping was a good fit for you. I will share your comments with my staff. Thank you, Rick Orr – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stay at Holiday Inn's when we travel and also on business. This time around was a combination of both. We had 4 children with us, got there at around 9 pm, wanted to put kids to bed, but the couch bed was not made up. Called down to the front desk to have them send someone up, but they said I would have to make it up myself. We've never been told this at any other Holiday Inn. In the morning, they informed us that our card had been declined, called our bank and discovered that they had been entering the wrong expiration date. They insisted it was our card not the expiration date. Luckily we had another card with us. The room was clean, except for the big spider we had to kill in our room our first night there. Be advised, though. There is a liquer store and a strip club next door. Not the best place for a family to stay. They do have a security guard on duty at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Ashley J,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is not glamorous but is conveniently located and comfortable. Our room, a suite, was well sized for a family of four, and the fridge and microwave were helpful in heating and storing baby food. It is even possible to have room service food delivered providing the order is over $15. The security guard Franco was very helpful with luggage and also notified me that I had left the light on in the car. The hotel is quiet and clean, and we would stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I take several trips to Tijuana on business and prefer to stay in the US and cross over. I have found this to be a very convieint location. Quick trip to the border with little traffic. Exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. It is not 5 stars but it is clean, the staff is courteous and the rooms are comfortable. The included breakfast are a good start to the day. I have stayed here 4 times now and found it to be consistent every time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
219 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my business need. I stayed there just the 1 night and couldnt have been more impressed. The hotel was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very courteous when I checked in. As a Platinum member I stay at Holiday Inn's alot and this was a good one. If you are in Chula Vista and need a nice little hotel then this one will fit the bill.

Room Tip: Stay in a room facing the back of the hotel. Not that it makes much of a difference here, I usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Chula Vista the weekend of 2/22/13-3/24/13. Since I was driving in from Vegas, I arrived very early. The front desk staff was very friendly, and while the room was not available yet, they did put a rush on a room so it would be available ASAP. I arrived at 11am and the room was ready by 11:20am. This hotel is great! It has a minifridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker. I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It has easy access to the freeway and it's about 20 minutes from the beach (as long as you don't get lost like I did! lol) They also have a breakfast every morning from 6-10. Not just pastries and fruit- eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, and a variety of juices.

Room Tip: although it seems like it'll be a nice view, I'd recommend to get a room that does NOT face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelhopper702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Address: 632 E St, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2113 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chula Vista
#1 Business Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Chula Vista
Comfort Inn & Suites Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Comfort Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing