We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Geranium reminder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chula Vista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Geranium reminder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was reminded that I owe this boutique hotel a long pastdue review every time I saw the beautiful Geraniums in my garden, in red, pink and white single petal. They were cut by the owner from the hotel garden and traveled and planted in my yard more than a year ago, when I had chance to stay in this small hotel twice. The experience still gives me lasting warm and homelike feeling. I missed the room, the patio, the variety of homemad breakfast and fresh fruits, and the hospitality of the owners.
If you even want to go to San Diego, avoid the cooperate hotel chains, try this one, if they have a room available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    38
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
93
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at El Primero when in town for a wedding recently and were very satisfied with the level of comfort and service. The building is old but well maintained and very charming, especially the sheltered patio at the side. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. There's a good breakfast buffet in the morning. The best part, however, is the owners, Pie and Sol Roque, who are on site, attentive to all guests' needs, and warm and congenial. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you're looking for a great home away from home experience, this is the place for you. I received the best customer service at a hotel that I can ever remember. The breakfast was phenomenal (especially the banana bread!) and the local area was filled with plenty of food choices. The rooms are cozy, the beds are comfortable and the hotel has tons of character. The owners are the friendliest people and you really feel like your staying at an old friends place instead of a hotel. I will be staying here again when I return in the summer to visit SeaWorld.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My company is based in Chula Vista and while recently visiting I had a pleasure of staying at El Primero for four nights. I travel almost every week and the hotel was a breath of fresh air. Great room and a breakfast that made you feel like you were sitting in your own kitchen. The staff, Pie and Sol were excellent and caring hosts. I am staying there again next week and have also booked new company associates to stay there too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank van1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took a family trip to the San Diego area to visit a relative for his 60th birthday. We chose El Primero because of its proximity to their home and free breakfast. It was a great experience. The owners could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was very secure and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msstp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for Comic Con. Whilst it was a little out of the way the value and excellent service made up for the trip into the city daily. The breakfast was superb and the owners were friendly and welcoming hosts. I've recommended this hotel to various friends who have also stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnoamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the El Primero B&B to celebrate my birthday in the San Diego area. The location was perfect for visiting Tijuana and San Diego. From check-in until check-out the owners made us feel welcome and special. They are very knowledgable about the area and what to see/do. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. We enjoyed the historic photos, both in the room and throughout the hotel. The breakfast was outstanding including a variety of fresh fruit, homemade banana bread, and frittata! It was nice to eat outside in the courtyard as well. We would definitely stay here again - thanks for the legendary weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
1.0 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#10 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: 416 3rd Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-4603
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belonging to the heart of downtown Chula Vista, this historic landmark was brought back to its 1930's glory in 2005. Each of El Primero Hotel's 20 guest rooms provides a cozy king or queen bed for travelers to relax in, after a a day of work or play around beautiful San Diego. Located minutes from the Sleep Train Wireless Amphitheatre, Olympic Training Center, Gaslamp Quarter & other city destinations, this inn gives visitors modern touches with down home comforts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Primero Boutique Bed And Breakfast Hotel
El Primero Boutique Hotel Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing