We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed two nights for business in the area. The room was clean and functional, though a bit small. The bathroom was upscale. The front desk folks were great. Parking is secure and convenient. The only negative is noise. You definitely want an upper floor room away from the main street, but there is still noise from other rooms. Despite that quibble, I recommend it and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    65
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
80
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cute and charming hotel with a modernist influence (small, clean, and to the point). New, clean, inexpensive room with all the right amenities. The bathroom only has a shower and the doors, well wall, is glass but there is a curtain. Down side...thin walls as you can hear everything going on. Might annoy some people, just don't be loud unless you like to be heard.

The continental breakfast is wonderful! Don't forget your key, otherwise the door will not open. You can grab a quick bite or grab something to go. Hash-browns, breads, eggs, bacon, cereals, yogurt, meats, and cheese, sandwiches.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles/ USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for only 2 nights, but if we could stay more we would be even more happy. Almost everything is perfect in this hotel. It is brand new with all the modern amenities i.e. new carpet, 24" tv, contemporary room and bathroom design, breakfast included in the already very low price as well as apples and cookies during the day, free parking. Add to this very polite, invisible and efficient stuff service, and it is very easy to realize that you are staying in one of the best hotels. There are tons of shops and restaurants in walking distance from the hotel(Macys, Starbucks, 7/11 and everything else you may like). The best deal you can get through their website. It's just $93 per night for three of us including taxes. When we visit San Diego next time we will definitely stay here, and we will recommend this hotel to our friends.
As always there is room for improvement. For the total perfection we would add an iron, a trash basket in the living room, and a mirror at the entrance to the room.
Thank you, Hercor hotel, for the pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UCman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was a pretty nice place to stay although I did run into a couple of issues.
I did a Groupon for my last 2 nights in San Diego/Chula Vista for a single deluxe room. I'm not sure if I overlooked it on the site or other reviews that there is a $100 deposit to stay there but it is removed from your credit card around a day after you check out. I received my card keys which did not immediately work and had to be switched out. A couple that came in a little before me had issues with theirs too.
The single room main area is a little more compact and I probably hit my lower leg about 2 or 3 times on the bed corner going to the bathroom. The bathroom was a very nice size and very up to date. The only real drawback there is it's not that bright even if you turn all of the bathroom lights on. It makes it a little harder to put make up on if you need to see how much is actually on your face.
The first night for me was a little miserable due to the smoke alarm battery decided it was time to sure. I called down to the front desk to let her know and she came up to change the battery but only had AA batteries and no 9 volt batteries. Apparently they don't have anyone at night that can fix that so I literally spent the whole night listening to that beep when all I wanted to do was sleep. The maintenance guy was able to fix it the next morning do I didn't have to go through it another night.
The breakfast was nice although I wish there would have been a microwave because I would have loved to have melted cheese on my eggs. Since there is limited seating at tables there is seating at the wall bar but be mindful if they have the windows open where the screens are exposed you will probably be sharing your breakfast time with some small flying bugs.There is a nice little selection of eggs, bacon, hash brown patties, lunch meat, cheeses, cereal, juice and milk.
I stopped in that night to see what they offered for the guest but I must have arrived later in the evening when there was only fruit and a little bit of water left. The next night I was lucky enough to get the last package of cookies. I'm not sure if they restocked later on.
I did like that they had covered parking in the front and the back.
I also agree with other reviews that the rooms are not very soundproof as I could here the person above me singing in the bathroom/shower.
Overall, it wasn't to bad of a room based on the value and wouldn't mind giving it a try again if I get to come back.
Lastly, if you love street tacos, this is right across from Tacos El Gordo! A must do if you want to eat on a budget just be prepared for it being busy.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room since they apparently are the ones with a small table and chairs outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinyStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very helpful staff. NIce, clean rooms with a large King bed and a walk in shower that I already miss. We woke up to a very nice breakfast in the lounge. Had parking in the front and the back as well as covered parking in the front in case of rain. All in all a great place and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed a couple of nights...LOVED the water pressure from the shower, great bed to sleep on, adequate channels on TV...hotel was more of an "inn" located on a main road right next to the freeway, between residential & commercial buildings...free parking, free internet, free breakfast (yogurt, small cereal boxes, cheeses, hams, scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, bread - white & wheat, orange juice)...was modern...the room key is required to be placed into a slot in order to turn on the lights...the walls are kinda thin & we heard one of our neighbors snore during an afternoon nap but other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent bond
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stopped here on our way south and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, well appointed, quiet and modern. The breakfast was great. The employees were very hospitable and efficient. There is a 7-11, gas station, and fast food nearby. As a traveler with gear I appreciated the well lit and secure parking lot. As a road weary traveler I appreciated all this place had to offer.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are the quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elcardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
0.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#8 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique

Property: Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Address: 692 H St, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hercor is a entirely new class of hotel: "Urban Boutique". Its main attributes are innovative, sophisticated, highly stylish; a blend of magnificence design, lasting comfort and complete functionality. The limited-service concept allows to offer tremendous value at incredible prices. The top small luxury hotel experience is now made available to everyone and anyone who wants it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Chula Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing