We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family House of Pancakes

Family House of Pancakes
562 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-5308
619-425-5133
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 420 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rincon, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've traveled to Chula Vista many times in the past year and after discoverying this place, I go to breakfast here almost every day of my visits. This place has excellent servce, the breakfasts are great, and the people are friendly. I've never eaten here for lunch, but I can only imagine it is consistently good. Don't miss this family owned excellent eatery!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doubled31326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    37
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be hungry when you get there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Such a huge selection! Hard to choose.The Swedish Pancakes are delicious. The omelets are so big you "should share" :) but if you don't you'll have tomorrows breakfast. Service is always very good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCinCA91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS BREAKFAST! Must eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The pancakes are SO perfect and fluffy! I had some with boysenberry syrup and a side of homestyle potatoes, and my boyfriend had sausage, eggs, pancakes, and potatoes. We licked our plates clean (figuratively of course!)! If we are ever in that area again, we are definitely stopping there for breakfast...they serve lunch too! **Note they do close after lunchtime, but there was a sign on the door that said they have another location that is open for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Time Patron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family and I have been eating at the Family House on and off since 1966. It is a great place for breakfast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank toooquiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We go there for breakfast and are never disappointed. Love their pancakes and omelets. Their service is the best we've ever encountered. You may have to wait awhile to be seated on the weekends, but it's definitely worth the wait. Very large portions, so wife and I always share a plate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank agarcia_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family House of Pancakes also viewed

 

Been to Family House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing