We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a room”
Review of Big 7 Motel

Big 7 Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big 7 Motel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewed December 31, 2012

These are just rooms for the night, You get your room fast. Security guard. Water is hot
AC/heater works. Price is right. You can check in as early as 6am. Check out at 11am Play it
right you can get 29 hours for the price of $53.00
Nothing more, Want breakfast 7-11 is walking distance, Asian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY FEEL ROOMS WITHOUT LOCKS IS APPROPRIATE AT ALL!!!!!

1) I was travelling with my friend and we requested and paid for a non-smoking 2 bed room, guess what - got a room with one bed that smelled terribly of smoke.
2) They switched us the next day after we argued and we got a room with no lock
3) Continental breakfast on website - I inquired, was told coffee and sometimes donuts
4) Being girls, we did not feel safe staying in a room without a lock so we did not stay the 3rd night
5) Called manager when we returned (which took me 3 days to get a hold of) and requested some sort of refund for the 1 bed smoking room, room without lock, etc. Was told nothing she could do about it and "our safety is not her problem, they have a security guard" (who looked to be in his late 70's - not sure how much help he would have been in an emergency)
6) Pictures of the hotel - How old are these pictures??? I wish it looked this good

These are my main points - need I say more? Learn from my experience!!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I reserved a room for three nights. I checked out after two nights. I've been told that they are going to charge me for three nights anyway. Beware of these people.

Room Tip: Be aware. They will not give credit when credit is due!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This place smelled like an ash-tray, the roaches scatter when you turn the lights on, and the carpet was very dirty. You can find better for less.

The security guard seemed irratable, but he was always present in the parking lot at any time of night. Free donuts and coffee at the check-in desk but after seeing the room I decided to find my sugar and caffene elsewhere. The staff was quick, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjhummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#11 of 22 in Chula Vista
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#12 of 22 in Chula Vista
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big 7 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big 7 Motel

Address: 333 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-3573
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range: $52 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Big 7 Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big 7 Motel is located just south of San Diego. It is just a short drive from Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Old Town, Tijuana, and the majestic California Beaches. This motel is within walking distance of many shops and attractions. There are two adjacent/onsite restaurants; Cali Baguette & Pho and Pho Vinh Vietnamese Noodle House and there are others located nearby. A bar and a lounge is located nearby. Big 7 Motel offers ample free parking, a heated, outdoor pool, room service, business services like copier and fax, and smoke alarm in rooms. The guestrooms are air-conditioned, and feature in-room movies, cable TV with HBO and remote control, telephone, and daily maid service. Microwave and refrigerator are available only in some rooms. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Big 7 Motel also offers an outdoor pool, multilingual staff, and coffee in the lobby. Onsite parking is complimentary. Big 7 Motel offers 45 guestrooms in a 2-story property. Guestrooms feature cable television with premium TV channels and HBO. Other amenities include free local calls and air conditioning. Services include housekeeping and wake-up calls. Guestrooms at Big 7 Motel are accessible via exterior corridors. Rollaway beds are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Big 7 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing