We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Palomar Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chula Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palomar Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 5 nights here. Yogesh, the manager, was very accommodating and the cleaning staff was friendly and thorough.
The location is perfect with many storefronts and restaurants within walking distance, and for those using public transit, the trolley stop is 1 block away.
For $49 a night, Palomar Inn cannot be beat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclov1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
18
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stay in this hotel for 2 nights, It was very pleasant stay, just to go to sleep. I thinks the bed are not so comfortable but it was ok. We would defenietly stay here again.
Average price.
Insuficient parking lot (but you can park in the street beside)
Wifi works ok.
You don't even notice the freeway noise.
If you want to breakfast or dinner outside in 5 minutes through Palomar ave. you can found a Mc Donalds, Jack in the box, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

It was a horrible stay. I am not exaggerating you can check the pictures that I have added. I don't know how they got so many positive reviews!! The room and the bathroom were dirty and stinky. Water in washbasin was pouring to the carpet..It was unbelievable..There was a sunflower seed in the towel!!! If you check the negative reviews you can see how polite the management is!!! I definitely won't stay there and I don't recommend it..It is not expensive, i have paid 66 dollars per night but it doesn't even worth for 20 dollars

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minikcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMJ123, Manager at Palomar Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for getting our attention. Yes the room you stayed needed a little maintenance. It was overlooked due to the motel sold out every single day. Our maintenance department has aknowledge all of these and repaired and resolved all of these issues.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was a very pleasant stay. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The manager Yogi was very helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We would definitely stay there again. Book your reservation online and you get a lower price. We paid 49.95 per night for a mini suite with 1 king bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tucsontommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Reserve it on their website, and you can't touch $49 per night for a very decent place anywhere else the San Diego area. Very convenient right off I-5, yet you don't notice the freeway noise at all. Very nice and accommodating manager, clean, fresh, and generous room furnishings. A very enjoyable 3-night stay, with easy access to friends and major San Diego attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pomona, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here last year and i liked it! Yea its not the fanciest hotel in the world but its a nice place to just stay a few nights. I didn't have a problem with the room (although the bathroom door didn't lock lol) but i liked it. It was super affordable and i would definitely stay again and would recommend it if you are gonna be out all day and just sleep there. Its close to the freeway but from the busy days i had i didn't even notice the noise or people outside. The people at the main office were nice and had our rooms clean and ready for us when we got there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant_rhcpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If fancy is what you want, this isn't your spot. Its a decent little place to stay when you just need a place to lay your head Its close to the freeway (although we took the train everywhere we went al weekend as it is literally 200 yards from the hotel). close to the beaches and really close to some decent food. Tons of basic shopping (Wal-Mart, grocery store, etc) within a 10 minute walk. We'll probably be back.

Room Tip: There's no pool!!! But the beach is 10 minutes away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Inn

Property: Palomar Inn
Address: 801 Palomar St, Chula Vista, CA 91911-2615
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest Room Amenities in All Rooms/Suites:: * 32" High Definition flat panel Samsung T.V. in every room. Work Desk with Lamp & Desk Level Electrical Outlets. * Refrigerator/Microwave/Steam Iron/ironing board/Hairdryer * Free super high speed wireless Internet access Coffee/tea maker with Premium Classic Coffee & Condiments. * Spare Electrical Outlet at Desk in all the rooms and suites. Premium High Definition cable channels with three movies. * Guaranteed Non-Smoking Spacious Rooms/Suites * Air-Conditioning with Heating and Cooling * Lord & Mayfair Premium Bath Amenities * Curved Shower Rod Bathtubs with Extra Space for Big & Tall * Automatic Door Closer * Electronic Locks and Secondary locking Device * Wide Angle Door Viewer * Dataports and speaker phone * AM/FM radio and alarm clock Free local calls under 30 minutes Free Wall Street Journal-San Diego Union Tribune available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing