We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back there”
Review of Palomar Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chula Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palomar Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would go back there”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very clean, warmly welcomed at reception, good location: close to shopping center, trolley and restaurants including a "all you can eat", also close to Highway 5 and Arco, one of the gas stations with the most reasonable prices. Spacious suite, quiet (except at night, dog barking) and comfortable. No breakfast room, coffee and pastry available at the reception as well as comfortable sofas. Receptionist goes the extra mile to locate and print a map of the places you want to go and visit. The only desagreement was the neighbor's dog barking at night.

Room Tip: chose a room to the front and maybe the dog won't keep you from sleeping OR pack earplugs in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights. Location was convenient to Seaworld and has a train station/MTR with walking distance in case you would like to use the public transport across San Diego. Breakfast was also provided at the main lobby and room was well maintained. The manager, Mr Yogesh Joshi was also friendly and ensured we had a good stay there and readily provided directions to local MTR station. Room was nice with a king size bed, sofa and cable tv.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am an I.T. professional and I understand Internet security.

I called to book this hotel and the clerk told me that I could only book online or walk-in. He said walking-in likely wouldn't work as they are booking fully these days.

The online reservations form is not a secure one. They are not using a reservations system. Rather they are using a homemade form that is a low cost solution to them yet is completely risky for guests.

This is unethical and disrespectful. There are certain costs to doing business that you just don't cut, yet this East Indian owned hotel is not getting the obligation that they have when doing business in this country.

So, BEWARE. If you book online your credit card information is as at-risk as if you sent it in an email.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank User_Account_4592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMJ123, Manager at Palomar Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks for you comment. We appreciate all the comments from all the customers.

If you are an I.T. professional then how come you did not see on our reservation page at the bottom on the right cornor, that it is ----------

----------'Norton Secured' power by Verisign---the SSL certificate.

I am really happly to improve your knowledge that 95% of hotels and motels in U.S. is owned and operated by what you called 'East Indian'.

We consider security of our customer's information as main priority and we have served thousands of reservations without a single problem at Palomar Inn. In July and Auguest we always tell our customers to book online and there is a valid reason for that.
We do not want to overbook our rooms and do not waant to disappoint our customers because of overbooking.

I believe since you are an I.T. professional you are paranoid towards internet security too much.

Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff were very professional and courteous. You can't beat the location for a vacationer visiting the San Diego area. The price can't be beat compared to other establishments nearby. I am active duty military and they gave me a discount. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here four nights with family of mom, dad and two teenager sons. Very spacious two room family suite with one king size bed in one room and two king size beds in other room. Two microwaves, two refrigerators, two coffee makers and two wide screen TV's made our visit nice and easy.

Nice customer service and good location 10 minutes from beach and 15 minutes from downtown San Diego. And very good price for such nice suite. We'll definitely come here again during our next visit.

Room Tip: Asking for rooms opposite of freeway and Palomar street can help to have more quiet environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

TripAdvisor reviews for this Inn must have been written by someone who has not stayed there. It is old, dirty, right on the freeway,noisy...Not a boutique Inn.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HpyTrvlrFresno_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Service was VERY friendly! I love their customer service. They made me feel important. We stayed here one night to get away from room mates. The room was very spacious. I loved the desk I had in the mini-suite for my laptop, also had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bed was VERY comfortable, huge, and made falling asleep at ease. Even had a nice sofa there. It was a very convenient location, just about 10min away from the beach. Will stay there again, especially for a great affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
0.9 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 21 in Chula Vista
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 21 in Chula Vista
576 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 21 in Chula Vista
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Inn

Property: Palomar Inn
Address: 801 Palomar St, Chula Vista, CA 91911-2615
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest Room Amenities in All Rooms/Suites:: * 32" High Definition flat panel Samsung T.V. in every room. Work Desk with Lamp & Desk Level Electrical Outlets. * Refrigerator/Microwave/Steam Iron/ironing board/Hairdryer * Free super high speed wireless Internet access Coffee/tea maker with Premium Classic Coffee & Condiments. * Spare Electrical Outlet at Desk in all the rooms and suites. Premium High Definition cable channels with three movies. * Guaranteed Non-Smoking Spacious Rooms/Suites * Air-Conditioning with Heating and Cooling * Lord & Mayfair Premium Bath Amenities * Curved Shower Rod Bathtubs with Extra Space for Big & Tall * Automatic Door Closer * Electronic Locks and Secondary locking Device * Wide Angle Door Viewer * Dataports and speaker phone * AM/FM radio and alarm clock Free local calls under 30 minutes Free Wall Street Journal-San Diego Union Tribune available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing