We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food and Service”
Review of Talavera Azul

Talavera Azul
Ranked #95 of 432 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend and I decided to have a Mexican breakfast at this restaurant in Chula Vista. The food is very good (I cleaned my plate of chilaquiles in salsa verde), the coffee (cafe de olla) is excellent and not-too-sweet but you can taste (and smell) the cinnamon in it, and the service is excellent. Their organge juice is fresh squeezed. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that there seems to be a major public works project going on just outside the restaurant, making parking very difficult, and walking to the restaurant just as difficult (the sidewalk on one side of the door is completely blocked off). But if you managed to get through the construction maze, you will be rewarded with great food and service. The breakfast menu is extensive and should satisfy anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a usual stop”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

There could be better chilaquiles in the S.D. area, but we have not found it. Chilaquiles sound like a simple thing to produce, but the real thing with great salsa and eggs is rare. This is the place! They cookup plenty of good looking food, but that is for others. We go here for our first breakfast on out trips from Montana. Bravo!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sullivan1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great chuilaquiles”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This pleasant restaurant was featured on the tv show The Best Thing I Ever Ate. Fast friendly service, cherrful interior. Their speciality is chilaquiles a delicious Mexican breakfast iitem. Their Mexican coffee, cafe de la olla, is outstanding.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdctosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“There is nothing better than a Mexican breakfast in the morning!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

There is nothing better than a Mexican breakfast in the morning! Not only is there Mexican breakfast, but other types, such as Crepes, American style breakfast and croissant type breakfast sandwiches. Talavera Azul is open in the morning and afternoon for breakfast and lunch and this place can fill quickly. A good mix of locals visit this spot for a hearty breakfast and a tasty coffee. Come and give this place a visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera Azul also viewed

 
Chula Vista, CA
 

Been to Talavera Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing