We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego vacation ”
Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“San Diego vacation ”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel
Through hotwire was a little worried at 1st as far a location and cleanliness but as soon as we arrived I was fine rooms were clean with mini fridge and microwave plus this hotel is about a more or less 20 min drive to San Diego zoo pretty much the same for seaworld breakfast was fine with me the usual waffle maker coffee bagels cereal etc... Room did only have 2 towels in the room when I arrived for a hotel room I booked for 4 people?? But asked for more towels nd got them no problem I will definitely return whenever I'm in San Diego good price clean room nd free wifi what more can I ask for ?

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid experience. My team and I are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. We hope you and your family enjoyed the many great attractions San Diego has to offer and of course the weather. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
92
45
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great stay without a hitch, check inn was a breeze. With so much to see and do in San Diego, we were only there to sleep and this hotel served this purpose. Clean room, fridge and coffeemaker, breakfast, and good location. Not always enough seating so be early or take it to your room. Great value especially as you can earn AA miles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yollob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your trip to San Diego, CA. We hope you enjoyed all the wonderful attractions and great weather. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel staff was very friendly, noise wasn't an issue. Wifi was a bit spotty but the hotel was packed. Breakfast wasn't a huge selection but all of it was yummy. Didn't get in the pool but the hot tub was nice! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the cooler weather among other things in beautiful San Diego. We hope that you keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time to the San Diego area and was on a tight budget. Best Western Chula Vista is at most 20 minutes from downtown and reasonable prices. My room had a comfy king bed and was clean. Hotel had offered plenty at their breakfast. With microwave and fridge in room you could bring back some items for later. Main downtown attractions are a short drive away. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mldejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. My team and I are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in offering great value to our guests. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to San Diego. We hope to have another opportunity to accommodate you if you make another trip down to beautiful San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile


Same friendly and professional staff that we dealt with previous trip, Anderson/Erika/housekeepers, remembered us! It was nice to be welcomed by familiar faces. We were flattered and impressed! The TV was bigger this time (unless my Lasik has something to do with perception), breakfast had couple new items, and rate still reflected top value. Everyone enjoyed 4th of July weekend at Best Western Chula Vista Inn and we will book here again next year or the one after. Don't forget us and please keep your rates amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happypilgrim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will definitely thank our team members that took care of you during your visit. We're glad to see that you recognize the changes and improvements we've made and continue to make. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel looks okay from the outside. But the rooms are in disrepair and uncomfortable. The staff is creepy and they take way too long to clean the rooms. When you try and say something about the maintenance issues they tell you that they will have the manager call you. A week later I still have not heard from the manager. I will never stay at this hotel again. My family and I were there for a family reunion after 15 years and while it did not ruin the entire trip, it did affect it negatively.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr. Jason P.,

Thank you for your feedback. My team and I remember you and your family very well and we appreciate the opportunity we had to accommodate you guys during your family reunion as we know how special it was. As a courtesy, we gave you an upgrade to a room with two beds at no additional charge at your request after you checked into your one bed room. We also had positive feedback on your first night with us from a nice young lady from your party regarding our service. It was not until check-out that we were made aware of the maintenance issues in your room. We wish we had a fair opportunity to resolve them during your stay since they were simple fixes, but we were not notified until check-out. This is the reason why we stated that we will contact you regarding the issues. We are also a bit confused by this review since we have already compensated you for the minor maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. Regardless, we apologize for affecting your reunion, but hope you enjoyed the rest of it in beautiful San Diego.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chula Vista hotels

Maui
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The family chose this hotel due to its proximity to the amphitheater and downtown. We checked into a room with 2 beds and were pleasantly surprised with the amenities offered for the price. The two front desk workers were full of smiles which was a definite plus. We purposely hid a chip underneath the bed skirt and the next day it wasn't there. Housekeeping passed our test.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Octavio T.,

My team and I are elated after reading your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our housekeeping team met your expectations. We strive each and every day at the never-ending task of delivering superior customer service and very much appreciate and value your feedback as hearing directly from our guests is one of the best ways for us to continue improving.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you keep us in mind if you are ever in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#5 of 22 in Chula Vista
602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 22 in Chula Vista
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing