We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We recently made reservation at this Best Western while exploring the city of San Diego. We are arrived about 10:30 p.m. on a Saturday night and the pool with full of people. No problem, we just went to our room, but soon notices there was cigarette smoke entering from under the door. The very nice lady at the front counter told us their policy was to allow people to smoke anywhere except in the rooms. Ugh! We couldn't deal with that! Too stinky! Because we made our reservations through Price line, we had to contact them, but after PL confirmed that this was their policy, our money was refunded, we packed up, and headed to a better hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmjnmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    51
    24
    25
See reviews for
90
44
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The first thing you notice after the clean outside appearance, when you enter the office, is the staff is very friendly and helpful. I mean awesome staff. What you would expect of a major resort kind of professional. The rooms are clean, functional and for the price, way above the bar. We found just about everything there is to do in San Diego, of which there is tons, is within a quick I-5 hop from the hotel. 10 Mins to the Zoo, Old Town or Balboa Park. 15 to Sea World. 45 mins to the Safari, but its a ways out there anyway.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask the staff for guidance. They know the area well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this location is super friendly. We had an issue when we checked in with the toilet but maintenance came in and fixed the next day. Room was nice. Management might need to start buying new linen for the rooms. Ours were rather dingy. All in all great stay for the price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ashare79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel was great. I had no issues or problems, we went bar hopping and came back. The front desk clerk was wonderful he really seemed to care. The room itself was nice and the beds were soooo comfy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Nina S,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. We strive each and every day at the never-ending task of improving and delivering superior customer service to our guests and very much value and appreciate your feedback. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while ringing in the New Year and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Worst motel experience ever. Found an old rotten sandwich in the bathroom after check in. The carpet is absolutely atrocious, like other reviewers mentioned, it will turn your feet black, or in my case, the bottom of my flip flops that I had brought to wear around the room since it was filthy. Bring your own towels! There was no hot water in the showers. Very loud. There is also a strong chemical smell that I do not believe is safe and I plan to investigate this chemical smell issue further once I retrieve the necessary tools from my work that will indicate the level of fumes being inhaled.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, General Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear ChloeS67,

Thank you for your review as we encourage feedback from our guests which helps us in our every day goal of delivering superior customer service. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. I would like find out more information about your stay and would appreciate if you could contact me directly at the hotel or via message/e-mail. Our priorities are service, cleanliness, and guests' safety, among other things so we take these issues seriously. If these things did indeed occur at our property, we will take the proper steps to resolve these issues to make sure our future guests to not experience this.

We look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This motel is convenient to the Border as well as sights in San Diego. Very convenient to Shopping Mall and all kinds of restaurants in the area. Folks were very friendly and attended to our every need. I would stay here again if I return to this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean, three pillows to a bed. My kind of place. Too cold for the pool but a good plus in summer. The breakfast room had a good variety of food. The night clerk. ( Anderson) was a great help with all my questions for directions and getting a good room. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing